Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 1, 2004, 07:35 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ScottDoom
It's Okay
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States Edmond, Oklahoma
Posts: 13,584
ScottDoom can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyScottDoom can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default 48C At Idle?

I never really cared, but recently there has been a few threads comparing system tems and stuff and I've noticed most of systems on this board run at about 30C according to the users, and 55C when playing games. My PC in the sig, according to the info in the BIOS, is running at 48C after only using Opera, Trillian, and WinAmp. Is this an error, does the Pentium 4 2.4Ghz 400Mhz FSB just run hot due to bad architecture, or am I somehow not getting enough cooling?

My system is stock, and I have one front Antec fan blowing in, one Antec fan on the side blowing in, and two Antec fans in the back blowing out (the intake fans are positioned lower than the exhaust fans, the side one is facing right at the ATI 9800 Pro, the front intake is right underneath my hard drives, and the exhaust fans are above my ATI 9800 Pro and next to my CPU). I also have the Antec TrueBlue 480W's special fan connections (that limit the fan RPM depending on temp) hooked up to the two intake fans... And the back fan on the powersupply doesn't seem to be blowing out much air compared to my CompUSA powersupply I used to have, even though there's a lot of heat coming from it.
__________________
Maybe when I die
I get to be a car
driving in the night
lighting up the dark.
ScottDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2004, 08:05 PM   #2
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Don't trust temp readings.

That temp is wel within range. What is it going to hurt if it's running a little hot anyways. The worst that can happen is that instead of your CPU dying in 5-6 years from, it may die in 4-5 years.
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2004, 08:37 PM   #3
ScottDoom
It's Okay
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: United States Edmond, Oklahoma
Posts: 13,584
ScottDoom can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyScottDoom can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Alright then. I'm getting an AMD Athlon 64 3500+ soon too, and I was wondering if that would run cooler or warmer...

And the reason why I really brought this up was because out of nowhere I started getting random artifacts on The Sims 2 (with just an invidual character here or there, and not the whole game). Couldn't figure out if my card was somehow overheating or if it was just some random bug (hadn't seen anything like it on the technical forum).
__________________
Maybe when I die
I get to be a car
driving in the night
lighting up the dark.
ScottDoom is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 1, 2004, 11:43 PM   #4
squid
Cute
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Australia 127.0.0.1
Posts: 14,429
squid knows why the caged bird singssquid knows why the caged bird singssquid knows why the caged bird singssquid knows why the caged bird singssquid knows why the caged bird sings


Default

you also have to consider the ambient temperature. my chip can idle up to 50 degrees on really hot days (ie 40+ degrees), but when it is cool it is below 40. there isn't a lot you can do about this except for turning the air conditioning on.
you should also check for dust in your heatsink, and make sure that the airflow in your case isn't blocked by cables.
squid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 1, 2004, 11:45 PM   #5
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,700
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

Some mobos as well, have BIOS updates, which will adjust (flawed) readings on the sensors.. Check for some BIOS updates and read the fixes.. You might find that a BIOS update was for flawed readings on the sensors.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
6970, what do you idle at? Gerard AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 11 Jan 2, 2011 11:41 AM
Idle CPU temps at 53C and OC ok? Destroy General Hardware 5 May 18, 2008 08:40 PM
ATI Idle Gollum AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 May 13, 2004 10:12 PM
P4-2.8C 53C Idle? Dino General Hardware 12 Aug 31, 2003 05:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:44 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink