Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 30, 2012, 12:31 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
PharZyde
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 122
PharZyde is still being judged by the masses


Default 2nd gpu 2 hot at idle

Hello, here are my pc spec's :

Asus Maximus Extreme-z [Bios 1004]
Intel I7 2700k 3,5 Ghz [Kølet af Arctic Cooling Freezer XTREME Rev. 2]
16 Gb Ddr 3 Ram
2 Stk Xfx 6990 4gb [8Gb Total]
Silverstone St 1500W Psu
2x WD raptor 600gb [Raid 0](Windows 7 Ultimate 64 Bit]
3x 1500 Gb [Storage]
1 x Dvd nec Drænder 16x

Everything is running at stock speed.

I reinstalled windows 7 ultimate 64 bit the same day that catalyst 12.3 came out... and now today i just noticed that on my fist card of the 2x 6990 cards the second gpu is running hot even at idle...

1 card :
1 gpu = 40-43 idle
2 gpu = 70-75 idle

2 card :
1 gpu = 40-43 idle
2 gpu = 40-43 idle

this was after the reinstallation of windows 7, with the previus installation i ran with the cat 12.4 beta...and even had 12.2 before the 12.4 beta and everything was ok there.

anyone else have that problem and have an ansver?
__________________
DNA
PharZyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 01:30 PM   #2
Burn
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Canada in my house
Posts: 876
Burn is still being judged by the masses


Default

typical problem with X2 type cards and drivers .... check the clock of the GPU .. probably stuck in 3D clock all the time and don't clock down to 2D speed

use a known driver set that work or a reinstall of the driver is the answer.

when i had my 4870X2 , I remember waiting 3 or 4 months for a working driver set ... was AMD fault.
__________________
-Burn
see button on the left for system specs.


There's a fine line between fishing and just standing on the shore like an idiot.
Burn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2012, 01:41 PM   #3
PharZyde
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 122
PharZyde is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just tried the catalyst 12.2 and there was no problem with those.

the wierd thing is that when enable tthe crosfire, then in tha ccc under at overdrive i can only see the fist gpu tems, then rest 3 gpu's just says 0 at eveything, only when i have run a benchmark or a game then i can see temps under ccc or in OpenHardwareMonitor. the thing is i havent had any game problems just a certain error that stopped responding when i installed the driver, but a restart fixed that. i do think they are scewed somehow, but anyone else hahinv the same problem?
__________________
DNA
PharZyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 30, 2012, 01:55 PM   #4
PharZyde
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 122
PharZyde is still being judged by the masses


Default

Look's like you are right m8, the second gpu is stuck in 3d mode and dossent gear down too 2d mode, i checked 1 and 2 gpu, and while the 1 gpu said 2d mode 250 / 150 the 2 gpu said 3d mode 830 / 1250 :/

i wonder if this is fixed in some upcomming beta's

but anyone with this problem too?
__________________
DNA
PharZyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 02:32 AM   #5
PharZyde
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 122
PharZyde is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just installed the cata 12.3 and cf app profile 12.3 cap 1 well i want to use the lates because of the fixes.

i notices that all the gpu are now is running hot, but only the 2 nd gpu is not thothling down too 2d when the pc is not doing anythin...1-3-4 are going down to 2d 250 / 150 and at idle they are 40-43 still the 2nd gpu is 70-75 still, i ran the avptool benchmark and it seems that i saw 1 card going to 103 degrees..and i got ok airflow....i will tho be getting a nzxt phantom fulltower soon so i can use my Alpenföhn K2 CPU-Kühler - 120/140mm køler in it, the antec 1200 i have now is not wide enough

Hopefully the nzxt pahantom full tower will give me more airflow and everything will not be so crowded it in like it is in my antec 1200.

and the Alpenföhn K2 CPU-Kühler - 120/140mm køler will also provide better cpu cooling and better oc potencial.

i do hope amd / ati will come with a hotfix soon or a beta, that fixes the gpu problem and runs cooler one the gpu's.
__________________
DNA
PharZyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 04:33 AM   #6
LastManStanding
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: United Kingdom N. Ireland
Posts: 106
LastManStanding is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by PharZyde View Post
Look's like you are right m8, the second gpu is stuck in 3d mode and dossent gear down too 2d mode, i checked 1 and 2 gpu, and while the 1 gpu said 2d mode 250 / 150 the 2 gpu said 3d mode 830 / 1250 :/

i wonder if this is fixed in some upcomming beta's

but anyone with this problem too?
it shows 850/1250 for the second GPU because of ULPS, which "disables" the second gpu when not in use ie 2D mode in crossfire ergo it reads default speeds

i can't see why it's recording a higher temp, you reading the temps for the right gpu's?

Run GPUZ (open up 2 instances for each GPU) and run a fullscreen 3D app (windowed doesn't work with cfx) (one comes with GPUZ) you can see exactly what the clock speeds/temps are doing
__________________
TheVideoGameIsYourFriend
TheVideoGameIsYourFriend
TheVideoGameIsYourFriend
TheVideoGameIsYourFriend
TheVideoGameIsYourFriend
TheVideoGameIsYourENEMY
LOL
LastManStanding is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:32 AM   #7
PharZyde
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 122
PharZyde is still being judged by the masses


Default

yes im sure, it is the second gpu that dossent gear down to 250/150.
__________________
DNA
PharZyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 08:44 AM   #8
Greasy
Raiding Curio's Stable
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 12,387
Greasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin Diesel


Default

The latest 12.3 drivers caused me to have that issue with my second card. I went back to the 12.4 betas, and it went away. I should say that I did a clean driver install (remove/driver sweeper in safemode) when going back to the 12.4 betas though.
Greasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 09:20 AM   #9
PharZyde
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 122
PharZyde is still being judged by the masses


Default

well my problem seems to with the Catalyst 12.3 Official Whql and the Catalyst 12.4 Beta V.8.960.0, it happends in both of those driverøs...but now in the drivers before that catalyst 12.2 / 12.1 an so on.

im now usingt he catalyst 12.2 and app profile 12.3 cap 1, and it its working correct there so far that i can tell.
__________________
DNA
PharZyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 10:11 AM   #10
Greasy
Raiding Curio's Stable
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 12,387
Greasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin DieselGreasy exchanges holiday cards with Vin Diesel


Default

I'm running these.

Driver Packaging Version 8.95.5-120224a-134185E-ATI

Not sure if they would be considered 12.4 betas after all.
Greasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 31, 2012, 01:59 PM   #11
PharZyde
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 122
PharZyde is still being judged by the masses


Default

the ones i heard was cat 12.4 beta was the ones called V.8.960.0, not those you refer to, i believe those are catalyst 12.2 beta's that came after the 12.2 whql driver, i havent tried those tho..i think im sticking too these until amd fixed their future drivers from this issue.
__________________
DNA
PharZyde is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Idle problem Scott Motoring 9 Jul 12, 2010 02:29 PM
48C At Idle? ScottDoom General Hardware 4 Nov 2, 2004 12:45 AM
ATI Idle Gollum AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 May 13, 2004 11:12 PM
P4-2.8C 53C Idle? Dino General Hardware 12 Aug 31, 2003 06:42 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink