Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 21, 2003, 02:25 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 18,918
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default Changing Icons in Win98

I know how to change MyComputer,MyDocuments and those other ones from the effects menu...however how do I change other icons from with in windows?(Like Folders or say the icon for the HD in my computer)

I would rather not use a 3rd party program the runs in the background if I can
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit

Last edited by Trunks0 : Mar 21, 2003 at 02:27 AM.
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 02:54 AM   #2
magicknight0233
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 6,523
magicknight0233 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Folder Options-File Types: you can change the icons for just about everything in Windows. For example, the HD would be under Drive. If you select it and choose properties\advanced (whatever the hell it's called), there should be a button for Change Icon.

Sorry I can't be more specific but my 98 partition is currently focked up so I'm doing this off memory.
magicknight0233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 07:20 AM   #3
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 18,918
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by magicknight0233
Folder Options-File Types: you can change the icons for just about everything in Windows. For example, the HD would be under Drive. If you select it and choose properties\advanced (whatever the hell it's called), there should be a button for Change Icon.

Sorry I can't be more specific but my 98 partition is currently focked up so I'm doing this off memory.
aaahhh thanks. Now I can mod my aging Win98SE to look even nicer
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 21, 2003, 05:23 PM   #4
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 18,918
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

Ok new problem.

I can select a new icon fine and it doesn't seem like there's any problem....but dispite being selected they don't show up
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 08:25 PM   #5
magicknight0233
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 6,523
magicknight0233 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Trunks0
Ok new problem.

I can select a new icon fine and it doesn't seem like there's any problem....but dispite being selected they don't show up
Go here and download TweakUI, extract it, and run the INF file to install it. Then go to the control panel, open Tweak UI, select the tab called "Repair", choose "Rebuild Icons", and click the "Repair Now" button. That should refresh the Icon Cache and your icon changes should take effect.
magicknight0233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 21, 2003, 08:47 PM   #6
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 18,918
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

You know I was expecting that to work to but nope

I'll keep messing with it and report back if I can get it to work some how
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 19, 2003, 07:21 AM   #7
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 18,918
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

Woohoo many many months later I figured it out

I made an autorun file for each drive and had it auto run the icon I wanted .

The resualt is custom HD icons in the "MyComputer" folder woohoo! One step closer to having less ugly icons threw out Windows98SE
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit

Last edited by Trunks0 : Jul 20, 2003 at 01:29 AM.
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
I want new icons... Pr()ZaC Feedback Central 16 May 1, 2008 08:31 PM
Why does IE keep changing my URL Icons? Cally Operating Systems 2 Sep 25, 2004 05:41 AM
To many IDX icons... BennyBoy General Software 1 Nov 13, 2002 12:41 AM
WinXP... Why wont icons stay as icons??? Crawdaddy79 Operating Systems 2 Oct 18, 2002 11:16 AM
Help, need win98 boot disk, but dont have win98 installed!!?? CompuGeek General Software 3 May 18, 2002 03:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:48 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink