Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 3, 2009, 01:28 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
alioth
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
alioth is still being judged by the masses


Default Problem with my new 4850.

Hello everyone, I recently made the switch from nvidia to ATI. I purchased a Diamond 4850. I removed all traces of the nvidia drivers and downloaded and installed the most recently released catalyst package.

When playing games, I encounter some serious graphical issues. Shortly after starting, my frame rate drops drastically and a few seconds later things start to go invisible. Depending on the game (I've tested it on Fallout 3 and Darkfall Online, I have little reason to doubt its occurance in other games) the problem manifests itself slightly differently, but the end result is the same - fps drops and the ground, walls, and background scenery disappear. Alt+tab fixes the issue until it randomly happens again, which is shortly after the alt+tab fix.

I have tried tinkering with many in-game settings as well as the catalyst control center settings. I have updated my bios, reseated the video card, tried a few different catalyst drivers, made sure the card isn't overheating, installed the march 09 directX, and checked numerous forums for fixes. I have come accross a few other forum posts complaining about the same or very similar issue; none of them had any suggestions that worked to fix the problem.

I read that alt+tabbing resets the graphics memory buffer. I'm not sure if this is a hardware or software issue, but I've read that the recent catalyst drivers have been causing some major issues. I'm getting a bit discouraged and would love to find a fix. I don't really want to return the card and switch back to nvidia. I'm running XP 32-bit. Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks, guys.

Last edited by alioth : May 3, 2009 at 02:02 PM.
alioth is offline  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:11 PM   #2
The PIT
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 714
The PIT is still being judged by the masses


Default

Two things spring to mind duff video card or duff memory.
Are you sure you've got rid of all nvidea stuff because what you describe is rather bizarre.
Too be honest if was duff memory i would be expecting other problems. Bad mem on the video card card I'd expect blocks and other artefacts to be displayed in 2d.
__________________
win 8 Asus p79x-pro 16gig Ram Intel I7 3930K Radeon 6970 Dell U311 Monitor Auzentech Forte
Sheffield Weather Page
Link For Pda's only
The PIT is offline  
Old May 3, 2009, 02:30 PM   #3
alioth
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 2
alioth is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by The PIT View Post
Two things spring to mind duff video card or duff memory.
Are you sure you've got rid of all nvidea stuff because what you describe is rather bizarre.
Too be honest if was duff memory i would be expecting other problems. Bad mem on the video card card I'd expect blocks and other artefacts to be displayed in 2d.
According to driver cleaner all traces of nvidia have been deleted. It's possible I nudged one of my RAM sticks by accident when I installed the card. I'll try reseating them. I don't get any blocks or artifacts, just the invisible ground/wall thing. Thanks for the reply, mate.
alioth is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 3, 2009, 07:24 PM   #4
kn00tcn
zero-zero
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 4,643
kn00tcn is still being judged by the masses


Default

that is indeed strange, what happens if a game is windowed?

there is someone/people in another thread in xp & a 4850 where fallout3 is flawless

oh & how did you remove nvidia traces, uninstall via nvidia's own uninstaller, restart into safe mode & use cleaner, shut down, put ati card in, boot?
__________________
AMD/ATI Catalyst Driver Profiles
OpenGL startup crash fix #1 / fix #2 (for < radeon 6000 cards?)
better crossfire for Section8 Prejudice, Hydrophobia, UDK
kn00tcn is offline  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:16 PM   #5
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,237
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hmmm.. what sort of psu are you using? Might as well go ahead and list all your specs while we're at it.

Also what was your old videocard?
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline  
Old May 3, 2009, 10:20 PM   #6
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,237
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Also I moved this to tech support because it's not related to the drivers. I have a feeling it's either a bum card or your psu isn't liking the increased power draw of the new card.
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline  
Old May 4, 2009, 11:02 AM   #7
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

your kung-fu is becoming stronger, jokerz-wan! airflow should be the next consideration.
caveman-jim is offline  
Old May 4, 2009, 11:23 AM   #8
darren007
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 9
darren007 is still being judged by the masses


Angry

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
your kung-fu is becoming stronger, jokerz-wan! airflow should be the next consideration.

mmmm Strange you should say frame rate drops drastically .

i got 2 ati 4850s crossfire , when i start F.E.A.R first encounter
on the menu after 40 secs or so my framrate drops from 480 /500fps
on menu to 6 or sometimes 28fps

& if i start a saved game right after loading the game up - its around 85 to 140fps ...then after a min or so get the same 6fps to 28fps around gets choppy ..
darren007 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
XFX 4850 1 gig problem NissanNazi Radeon Technical Support 1 Mar 16, 2010 09:43 PM
4850 x2 Very odd Problem andrewshenk Radeon Technical Support 1 Jun 14, 2009 02:58 PM
hd 4850 problem jonnyjai AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Aug 13, 2008 09:45 AM
4850 CF Problem cowboysrgr8 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Jul 27, 2008 04:22 PM
ATI 4850 problem DingDing Radeon Technical Support 1 Jul 19, 2008 01:12 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:32 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink