Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 25, 2004, 03:00 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
blackphoenix
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 890
blackphoenix is still being judged by the masses


Default More than a gig these days?

With all of the doom3 benchmarks I've seen running more than a 1gig of memory, do you think it might be future smart to consider another 512mb?

I've seen that my MSI K8N Neo with the nvidia 250 chipset can run 3 sticks of DDR400 memory perfectly stable (anandtech's review). So I'm curious if the extra 512mb might be useful.

Thoughts?
blackphoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2004, 03:14 PM   #2
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

It's doubtful that it would help you enough to warrant the cost. Even if it helps a little in Doom III, would it be worth the cost for only one game to benefit only slightly?
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2004, 03:51 PM   #3
blackphoenix
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Posts: 890
blackphoenix is still being judged by the masses


Default

I was simply using doom3 as an example, but more curious if games in the next year or so would benefit from more than a gig of memory.
blackphoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 25, 2004, 04:08 PM   #4
kakarot
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: United States Boston
Posts: 4,041
kakarot is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have heard you will need over 1GB to run at very high IQ settings with D3. HL2 I'm sure will benefit from it too. Is it really worth it? Probably not.
kakarot is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
7 days Hyrax Off Topic Lounge 10 Jul 11, 2006 09:27 AM
Two days until Cat 3.5 :) Guspaz AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 3 Jun 13, 2003 12:39 PM
28 Days Later..... Oxy_Gen_8500 Off Topic Lounge 19 Jun 3, 2003 01:22 AM
28 days Later GravY Off Topic Lounge 3 May 31, 2003 04:01 PM
30 Days? ATI's Days are 1 day= 3 Real World days RottenPeanuts Radeon Technical Support 9 Aug 6, 2002 07:51 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:26 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink