Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Old Jul 26, 2004, 01:08 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
subferno
Radeon R100

subferno is still being judged by the masses

Default Pick a Graphics Card for a Console Gamer

Between an Nvidia 6800 Ultra and ATI X800 XT Platinum, which would you pick for a person who came from a console gaming background?

I currently have an ATI 9700 Pro but I dont really know that much about computer graphics technology.

I understand that both cards are a definite jump from a console, but which card would provide the most obvious and visually noticeable eye candy for graphics. I am not a graphics pro so I wouldnt be able to notice the subtle frame rate differences, filtering, etc.

I am building a system to prepare for D3 and HL2 just like most people. I understand that neither brand completly dominates the other, according to the various bench marks. But is there a card that is more balanced? I basically need a "Jack of all trades" type card or at least a card that doesnt really suffer tremendously under certain testing benchmarks.

Many Thanks,
Sub
subferno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 26, 2004, 01:13 AM   #2
phial
no things

phial is still being judged by the masses

not quite sure, last gen ATi cards have always had higher minimum frame rates (which is what really matters)

the 6800GT is a damn good card tho, and at a good price. better than the x800pro, which is priced comparably. if i was you, id wait a while once we get more info on how these new cards perform in games, becasuse we dont actually know which is better overall (we have mostly benchmarks that dont reflect real life gamig situations)