Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 2, 2010, 07:08 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
x-voodoo
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 723
x-voodoo is still being judged by the masses


Default Windows 7 crashed for the first time

Not sure why, but I walked away from my PC for about 5 minutes. Came back to insert a USB flash drive and went to move the mouse, only to find out it is completely frozen.

Had to do a hard shutdown, and it asked to boot into safe-mode (which I did not). Seems fine afterwards, did not see anything in the event viewer, and scandisk found no issues from the hard shutdown.

Any ideas? Or could it be just an isolated thing (that every PC user has grown to accept here and there)?
x-voodoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2010, 07:24 PM   #2
SteadVéx
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 3,177
SteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySteadVéx can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

windows 7 crashes at lot for me, at least with gaming, i think its to do with this rapport security stuff my bank nags me to instal for online banking, never crashed before installing that... either that or my video card is on its way out but its out of warranty now
SteadVéx is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 2, 2010, 08:15 PM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Hard locks are 90% hardware related.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 2, 2010, 08:20 PM   #4
Pr3tty F1y
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States fhqwhgads
Posts: 8,362
Pr3tty F1y can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyPr3tty F1y can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyPr3tty F1y can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Hard locks are 90% hardware related.
__________________

You're dead.
Your friends are dead.
Your family's dead.
Your f**king pets are being skinned alive.
Your mom's a f**king whore.
You suck at life.
The whole world hates you.
You're going to hell.
Live with it.

GAME OVER
Pr3tty F1y is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 10:59 AM   #5
jolle
Hipster Dufus
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 7,417
jolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyjolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyjolle can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

did you try to push any buttons or keys?
Just asking in case it just went to sleep, cause it does by default, and Im not used to that, so I thought it had locked up, but pressing the mouse or keyboard woke it up again.
EDIT: I guess in just 5 mins, that´s kinda ruled out though..
__________________
you jump out of that plane and that parachute doesnt open, the helmet is now wearing YOU for protection. -JS
jolle is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 11:47 AM   #6
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,759
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Hard locks are 90% hardware related.
Only 90%? I would guesstimate more really, but perhaps for different reasons. Sometimes hardware configurations just dont work well together.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 3, 2010, 12:09 PM   #7
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

The other 10% is broken down into poor drivers and poor software, and a remainder of stupid user tricks.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2010, 10:19 PM   #8
x-voodoo
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 723
x-voodoo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Might've been due to my recent update to Avast 5 (installed on top of Avast 4.8). I read that some were having freezing issues with Avast 5.

So I uninstalled Avast 5, ran the cleaner for Avast 4.8, reinstalled Avast 5, seems OK so far.
x-voodoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 4, 2010, 10:25 PM   #9
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Great! Hope it keeps working for you.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2010, 01:12 PM   #10
bhanja_Trinanjan
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: India Kolkata, India
Posts: 902
bhanja_Trinanjan is still being judged by the masses


Post

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Hard locks are 90% hardware related.
100%, not 90%
bhanja_Trinanjan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 5, 2010, 01:46 PM   #11
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by bhanja_Trinanjan View Post
100%, not 90%
-

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
The other 10% is broken down into poor drivers and poor software, and a remainder of stupid user tricks.
Quote:
Originally Posted by x-voodoo View Post
Might've been due to my recent update to Avast 5 (installed on top of Avast 4.8). I read that some were having freezing issues with Avast 5.

So I uninstalled Avast 5, ran the cleaner for Avast 4.8, reinstalled Avast 5, seems OK so far.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2010, 08:23 AM   #12
Ego
I can't take this
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Romania Bucharest
Posts: 4,456
Ego can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyEgo can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I just had a blue screen
Haven't seen such a thing in a looooooooooooong time

I war resizing the Winrar window wile archiving something. Bang, blue screen.
Ego is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 9, 2010, 10:39 AM   #13
Android1
Radeon Polaris 20 XL
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Upper Midwest
Posts: 9,654
Android1 once held a door open for a complete strangerAndroid1 once held a door open for a complete strangerAndroid1 once held a door open for a complete strangerAndroid1 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ego View Post
I just had a blue screen
Haven't seen such a thing in a looooooooooooong time

I war resizing the Winrar window wile archiving something. Bang, blue screen.
Just as with the hard locks, it is most likely a hardware issue. Try running memtest86+ (memory) or Prime95's Torture Test (memory and/or CPU, depending on settings) to eliminate that possibility.

Last edited by Android1 : Feb 9, 2010 at 10:49 AM.
Android1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 10, 2010, 01:36 AM   #14
drspangle
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: New Zealand Auckland, New Zealand
Posts: 5,095
drspangle is still being judged by the masses


Default

I had a windows 95-esque bluescreen at random on win32.sys (or whatever it was) a couple of days ago loading lightroom in Windows 7 (32bit)
__________________
Photo Blog
drspangle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 01:50 AM   #15
javiermq
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Peru peru
Posts: 3,570
javiermq is still being judged by the masses


Default

Wow, amazing windows 7 got a blue screen? I am certain you took some , right?
__________________
My 30 level compilation levels for Rise of the Triad!
http://tiny.cc/gTMBf
---
02:55 Mackey-IW
No, PC has custom stuff like mouse control, text chat in game, and graphics settings.

Steam's Logic on currency: $1 =€1
The euro is just a european version of the dollar! ITS TEH SAME THING!!
javiermq is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2010, 08:49 AM   #16
Android1
Radeon Polaris 20 XL
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Upper Midwest
Posts: 9,654
Android1 once held a door open for a complete strangerAndroid1 once held a door open for a complete strangerAndroid1 once held a door open for a complete strangerAndroid1 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by javiermq View Post
Wow, amazing windows 7 got a blue screen? I am certain you took some , right?
Javier, that will do with the trolling.
Android1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2010, 05:35 PM   #17
Reuter
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium Belgium
Posts: 173
Reuter is still being judged by the masses


Default

Windows7 64 started to behave strangely in my case.

It just frooze and the pc started to rebuild my raid+1 array automaticly when restarting.
Found out it was a defective sata drive connected to the same raid controller.
Replacing it solved the problem entirely.
So im one of those 90% mentioned above.
Reuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 09:48 AM   #18
howard stern
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,099
howard stern can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyhoward stern can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

THe best thing to do is download Microsoft's win debug tools and the correct symbols and read the dump files it will most likely tell you what the probable cause is so you can update or remove the problem.
howard stern is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 10:28 AM   #19
BababooeyHTJ
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States Hartford, CT
Posts: 12,104
BababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird sings


Default



Baba Booey to yall
BababooeyHTJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 7, 2010, 11:34 AM   #20
howard stern
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 2,099
howard stern can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyhoward stern can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BababooeyHTJ View Post


Baba Booey to yall
LOL good to see another fan here I thought I was alone. Got to love Sirius radio for bringing him over hope he does not retire in a year.
howard stern is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Top 10 Windows XP tips of all time PreservedSwine Operating Systems 4 Apr 27, 2006 07:26 PM
Dang Windows Crashed 311Sam Operating Systems 1 Jan 28, 2005 11:16 AM
Windows 98 Crashed one me GsR_chronic Operating Systems 2 Sep 3, 2003 09:15 PM
AHHHHH! My XP2000+ just crashed and burned big time! VoodooNinja General Hardware 7 Jul 27, 2002 11:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:26 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink