Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 12, 2002, 05:40 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Duffman
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 140
Duffman is still being judged by the masses


Default What could be possible reasons for slow loading time?

Before, i was using integrated video which uses system's memory through it's shared memory architecture. that was about 1GB/s.
Now, i got Radeon card with DDR(230MHz x 2)but i say loading time in games is about the same. In RTCW multi-player, games finishes as soon as loading is finished for me. often. LOL.

Is higher speed memory supposed to reduce loading time or not?

I use 1024 x 768, 32bit, high on most options and I don't use anisio or FSAA. Something is fishy here.
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2002, 06:13 PM   #2
Pufferfish
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: United States Seattle
Posts: 549
Pufferfish is still being judged by the masses


Default

load time = system RAM + hard drive speed
not video card
Pufferfish is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2002, 08:29 PM   #3
Duffman
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 140
Duffman is still being judged by the masses


Default

wow, really?
Guess that means my system is pretty crap, eh?
hmm... I have Maxtor 20G 5400RPM but I don't think this drive is too slow. I got DMA enabled and so on. I only 256MB PC133 SDRAM. My mainboard don't support DDR. I read my mobo's memory controller is pretty crap. Guess that's one of the reason.
Duffman is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 13, 2002, 06:16 AM   #4
BrainPiercing
Tseng Labs ET500
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Germany
Posts: 1,720
BrainPiercing is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Duffman
wow, really?
20G 5400RPM
Slow harddisks will slow down your everyday WINDOZE experience, will make your programs, like Word, etc, run slower, and make your games load slower.
People think a slow harddisk doesn't matter, but if you've once compared a Win2K or XP comp with a fast HD, and one with a slow HD, you'll find how big the difference is.
__________________
My OLD System, now Mediastation:
Asus A7N8X Deluxe with Barton 2.5 @ 200*11
2x512MB Corsair CL2 PC400
IBM Deskstar 307030 30GB HD, Ultra ATA 100, 7200 RPM + WD something
60GB HD, Ultra ATA100, 7200 RPM + WD Caviar 120GB SATA133 7200RPM + Samsung 200GB Sata150 7200
Powercolor Radeon 9800pro STILL running 4.3 cats, and Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer
Onboard network cards; !!!Win98SE!!! (yes 200GB HDD on Win98 works fine :))
NEW: HP nx9420, T2400, x1600 256M, 1440x900, 1GB, 100GB HDD, XPPro.
BrainPiercing is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2002, 02:18 PM   #5
Joshua17
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 870
Joshua17 is still being judged by the masses


Default

its probably not your ram its your 5400rpm for some reason rtcw doent load fast on a 5400rpm drive
__________________
Athlon XP 2800+,dx 9.0c
Shuttle Nforce 2 Ultra 400 mobo
Radeon 9800XT Retail cat 6.2
Turtle Beach Santa Cruz
16x MSI DVDrom
1gb DDR Corsair XMS 400mhz
WD ATA100 7200rpm HD
Win 2000
Thermaltake 350watt Ps
this sig was automatically shortened to meet the 10-lines max rule
Joshua17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2002, 08:03 PM   #6
magicknight0233
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 6,523
magicknight0233 is still being judged by the masses


Default

5400RPM drives really can hurt performance big time. The actual data transfer rate may not suffer much since the data density on drives is so high now but the access time sucks big time. Not just does the drive not spin that fast, but there is a lot more data to search through so the access time can be pretty slow.
magicknight0233 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2002, 04:31 AM   #7
ErrorS
gfdsa
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United States IN
Posts: 10,973
ErrorS is still being judged by the masses


Default

hey, just my addition(no real help)..

a while back.. i tweaked my radeon, and messed with some new options.. somehow I got quake3 to load slow as hell .. the game ran fine, "loading" the game at start, whatever.. but once it came time to load levels, it would just stall ... and i know for a fact my radeon playd a part in it..

/me dunno why, but I wanna blame z-compression being too high... (no proof)

hmm.. most likely you can "feel" wether or not it is your HD+CPU+RAM, or something completely out of place ...

you could always defragment... nothing helps more then defragmenting when it comes to slow loading times, or when opening shiit just feels sluggish..

and i dunno if it being a 5400RPM drive could be the problem.. i mean, my old 7200RPM maxtor was only 1ms faster(overall access time) then a newer 5400RPM HD... however, my 5GB WD from a few years ago is a good 4MS slower then my 7200RPM maxtor..

also, again I say.. defragmenting will probably help you out quite a bit(unless your drive is a old slow SOB) ..

AND! what could be more damaging then a 5400 RPM drive, dealing with a 35% fragmented file that weighs in at over 200MB?

oh and duff.. the game RTCW is stored on your HD ... even if you had hella fast RAM, that data has to move from your HD, across the ATA cables, through your southbridge into PCI/AGP/Northbridge .. and of course, memory is the last stop (not counting what your vid card does) ... so...

photoshop/windows/word/desktop shiit.. and actual in-game playing at very very high res with an agp card is the only place you will seriously notice any difference when using DDR memory, or anything faster then PC-133... loading levels will still be slow.. but uh, look at it this way.. with faster memory, reloading levels will be nice and fast

EDIT: I wanted you to all know! I hate vB code, it wont work for me...

Last edited by ErrorS : Feb 16, 2002 at 04:33 AM.
ErrorS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 16, 2002, 06:56 AM   #8
stargate
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Bucharest, Romania
Posts: 415
stargate is still being judged by the masses


Default

first of all... if you are using a win9x based OS that wasn't reinstalled for more then two months then this is your answer. win9x tends to run slow and slower in time. just regestry aglomeration i guess. you may want to try and defrag your drive. also don't keep so-called memory managers and generaly don't keep many programs running in systray - especially antivirus programs.
hope this helps
__________________
Barton 2600+, Hercules Radeon [email protected], ECS nForce2, 2x256 Samsung 1x1024 Kingmax, Eizo 21'', Targa 17'', ExcelStor 60 GB, Seagate 160 GB, Teac [email protected] 832S dvdrw, Teac 8/8/32 cdrw, SBLive 5.1, WayJet bt878, Logitech Optical White USB, Chicony cordless kit, Firestorm Dual Power 3 with force feedback gamepad, Mustek 600 UPS.

Lead developer of Star Media Center.
stargate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2002, 12:30 PM   #9
ZaijiaN
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Dayton, Oh
Posts: 20
ZaijiaN is still being judged by the masses


Default

Case in point:

I moved my half-life/counterstrike install from my IDE maxtor 20g 5400 drive to my quantum 9g u2w scsi drive... and load times went from minutes to seconds. The difference was night and day. The maxtor was fully defragged too, didn't make a difference. And I know for a fact that my quantum is fragged up the wazoo w/ win2k & all my apps on there, yet it still loaded HL in seconds.
__________________
-=ZaijiaN=-
ZaijiaN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 21, 2002, 02:52 PM   #10
Type-G
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Toronto
Posts: 198
Type-G is still being judged by the masses


Cool

A single 5400rpm drive is pretty old-fashioned by today's standards.

Try 2 ata-100/133 7200rpm drives in RAID-0 formation...
That will get you about 2.5x your old speed.

A *very* noticeable all-around improvemnet, specifically a major improvement in game load times, all for a modest upgrade price.
__________________
AMD Tbred-B @ 2.1Ghz/400Mhz FSB // ASUS A7N8X Deluxe 2.0 // 512Mb DDR400 SDRAM // ATI Radeon 9700 // WinXP Pro SP2
Type-G is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 8, 2002, 04:26 PM   #11
Flapjack
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Tampere, Finland
Posts: 8
Flapjack is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up Try this...

Before runnig to hard drive shop, check this out...

Have you updated your chip set drivers?

Check: My computer - properties, select 2nd sheet - find your hard drive - properties - 2nd sheet and look if there is mark on DMA. Take it off if so.

It helped with me when I had updated my VIA 4-in-1 drivers. Loading times were really slow, sound was crappy and so on...

I hop this help you...

- Flap -
Flapjack is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
COD4 and MW2 slow map loading with RAID0 D0T-C0M PC Gaming Support 22 Dec 5, 2009 03:34 PM
firefox loading webpages slow biscuitownz [GenHardware] Networking [Archived] 2 Apr 8, 2009 08:35 PM
Bioshock, slow as f*** loading times javiermq PC Gaming 29 Jan 4, 2009 05:56 PM
Slow loading in SOF2??? ekin Radeon Technical Support 9 Jun 6, 2002 04:26 PM
Loading some apps are VERY slow and SLUGGISH(WINXP) Irreligious Operating Systems 5 Jan 29, 2002 11:15 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:22 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink