Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and technical support forum for legacy ATI technology such as Rage, Rage Fury and Rage MAXX.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 1, 2001, 08:58 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Pepsin
bananed
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sweden Sweden, Europe
Posts: 2,357
Pepsin is still being judged by the masses


Question Rage LT Pro Mobility and blurry 2D on CRT?

I've had this "problem" ever since I got my laptop and I've just thought it's a problem that can't be fixed.

2D is very sharp on the LCD, but when I connect the computer to a CRT (I've tried my 19" Trinitron at home as well as another 19" and a 17" with the same results), the display on the CRT is blurry. At 640x480, it's OK. At 800x600 it's also OK, but a little blurry. At 1024x768 it's horrible, unless I use 75hz or lower refreshrate. 1024x768 at 85hz is useless because it's blurry. It's not the scaling option, because I've tried disabling it, and I have set it to turn the LCD off when a CRT is connected. Is it a hardware issue, with bad filters or something, like with certain Geforce2 cards, or is it possible to solve the problem?

The system:
P3 500 MHz Mobile processor
256MB RAM (I think it's PC100, because the FSB is 100 MHz)
ATI Rage LT Pro mobility
14" LCD screen
Windows98SE
Pepsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2001, 04:35 PM   #2
masta g
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 225
masta g is still being judged by the masses


Default

Which drivers are you using?
__________________
- masta g

dell inspiron 7500
p3 500 mhz; 160 mb ram
8x dvd
ati rage mobility-p
win2k sp3; dx8.1b; 5058/5064 drivers
masta g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2001, 04:39 PM   #3
Pepsin
bananed
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sweden Sweden, Europe
Posts: 2,357
Pepsin is still being judged by the masses


Default

4.10.2456
Pepsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 1, 2001, 04:49 PM   #4
masta g
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 225
masta g is still being judged by the masses


Default

That sounds like a very old DirectX 6 driver.

You should really read the information on Big_Z's website:

http://www.geocities.com/ziyadhosein/home.htm

He has done an excellent job sorting all of the drivers and explaining the details. I think he is working on a new driver (Big Z modified J5.12.0). He states that 3D speed is better than RLTM's FDv3.

I'm not sure if it has multi-monitor support, but I think it does.

Also, the M-Series drivers have good image quality as well. But I'm not too familiar with them.
__________________
- masta g

dell inspiron 7500
p3 500 mhz; 160 mb ram
8x dvd
ati rage mobility-p
win2k sp3; dx8.1b; 5058/5064 drivers
masta g is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2001, 05:59 PM   #5
Pepsin
bananed
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sweden Sweden, Europe
Posts: 2,357
Pepsin is still being judged by the masses


Default

The driver I'm currently using is indeed very old. In fact, it's the driver that came on the CD for the laptop. I never bothered updating it because I don't use the laptop for games, and for 2D, any driver will do.

Geez, after reading all the info on that page I'm really confused. It seems the whole Rage Pro drivers deal is a mess. That really shows how much better the Radeon drivers are (I own one of those as well) compared to older ones.

I'm downloading a driver now that I will try.
Pepsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2001, 06:23 PM   #6
Big Z
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Trinidad and Tobago Princes Town
Posts: 1,159
Big Z is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have to differ with you on this one.
Its not that complicated.
Being an older card, it will have a number of drivers that have run through various revisions.
dx5>dx6>dx7>dx8
Having a couple revisions of the chipset doesnt help much either.
What is amazing is that ATI still indirectly supports this card, both for Windows 9x and 2k
__________________
They shut down Geocities, so my website went bye bye...
Big Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2001, 06:30 PM   #7
Pepsin
bananed
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Sweden Sweden, Europe
Posts: 2,357
Pepsin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Cool, I installed the modified drivers and now I have a Direct3D and an OpenGL tab in the display properties. I even installed Quake3 and it's playable at 640x480x16 hehe

I won't be able to try it out with a CRT until on monday. If the new drivers don't improve 2D quality, I guess I can assume it's a hardware issue and be happy with 75hz or less?
Pepsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 1, 2001, 06:41 PM   #8
Big Z
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Trinidad and Tobago Princes Town
Posts: 1,159
Big Z is still being judged by the masses


Default

Dont expect miracles. The LT Pro has terrible 2d.
__________________
They shut down Geocities, so my website went bye bye...
Big Z is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 2, 2001, 02:57 PM   #9
ET
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Israel Outer space
Posts: 433
ET is still being judged by the masses


Default

I beg to differ. I've used it ([email protected] 98) for a long time at [email protected], and while the image quality wasn't great, it was definitely usable for me. I don't think that it should be blurry at 1024x768. However, I remember seeing problems with ATI and some specific monitors, in particular (but not only) MAG.
ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
why is this not working (MW2 rage edition on rage mobility chip) rexluporum Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 1 Dec 31, 2006 10:49 AM
ATI Rage LT Pro/Rage Pro/Mobility Windows 2000/Whistler/XP Beta 1 Gaming Driver MrB Front Page News 0 Mar 28, 2001 01:55 AM
ATI Rage LT Pro/Rage Pro/Mobility Windows 2000/Whistler/XP Beta 1 Gaming Driver MrB Front Page News 0 Mar 28, 2001 01:55 AM
ati rage mobility? bongod Radeon Technical Support 0 Dec 6, 2000 02:17 PM
ati rage mobility-p amoeba2000 Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 1 Sep 4, 2000 09:40 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:46 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink