Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Other Discussions » [GenHardware] Networking [Archived]
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

[GenHardware] Networking [Archived] NICs, routers, switches, hubs, software and hardware firewalls, servers, server Operating Systems, wired or wireless LANs WANs and WiFi. If it's used to communicate between multiple computers or devices, it goes in here.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 8, 2009, 12:40 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
biscuitownz
R.I.P 9600GT 2008-2009
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States sacramento
Posts: 1,797
biscuitownz is still being judged by the masses


Default firefox loading webpages slow

ive checked the network utilization on task manager and shows 0.00% unless im streaming video\webpages but if im on idle it says 0 so i would think pages would load decently fast but it doesnt on firefox when im on rage3d homepage and i click on forums it takes like 5 seconds to load the page but on ie7 its decently fast ill try clearing cache and history and see if it makes a difference
biscuitownz is offline  
Old Apr 8, 2009, 02:12 PM   #2
biscuitownz
R.I.P 9600GT 2008-2009
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: United States sacramento
Posts: 1,797
biscuitownz is still being judged by the masses


Default

damn......nobody?
biscuitownz is offline  
Old Apr 8, 2009, 09:35 PM   #3
Soong
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 4,952
Soong is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just because the network utilization on your PC is 0 doesn't mean that some other device on your network isn't using your internet connection. It also doesn't mean that some outside source is saturating your connection with a DOS attack of some kind. Hell it could even be your computer. If you run something like VirtualPC or VMware, the virtual machine can be pushing 50 megabits a second through your NIC and the real task manager (as opposed to the one on the virtal PC) will show 0% utilization.

I would suggest checking your public IP, power cycling your modem (leave it off for 5 minutes) and try to get a new IP. See if that resolves it. Try a different browser too. It could be that some plugin is screwing with firefox.
Soong is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Bioshock, slow as f*** loading times javiermq PC Gaming 29 Jan 4, 2009 06:56 PM
Firefox/IE7 slow to load webpages when uTorrent running gramboh General Software 18 May 12, 2008 11:59 AM
firefox wont finish loading some pages... rowbear62468 General Software 0 Nov 6, 2004 05:40 AM
Ati's site is loading webpages continuesly wth? friskyolive Off Topic Lounge 4 Jun 30, 2002 02:18 AM
Slow loading in SOF2??? ekin Radeon Technical Support 9 Jun 6, 2002 05:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:18 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink