Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D)
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) Home of the Team Rage3D [email protected] project. Get [email protected] info, download information, and details on how to join the Team. Team Rage3D progress updates posted here daily.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 3, 2016, 07:30 PM   #91
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,060
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sago View Post
Nice OC.

Thanks. It'll do more with more voltage but not really worth the 100-150Mhz.

What all are you folding on?
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 4, 2016, 10:12 PM   #92
Turbo_Rage3d_
Blessed to be here!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Turbo_Rage3d_ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima13 View Post
Looking good!
You're still looking good also!!
__________________
Help the cause and help Team Rage3d,
START FOLDING TODAY!!!
GOD BLESS!!!
Turbo_Rage3d_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 5, 2016, 07:32 AM   #93
sago
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Philippine Manila, Philippines
Posts: 65
sago is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
Thanks. It'll do more with more voltage but not really worth the 100-150Mhz.

What all are you folding on?
currently burning on a MSI GTX 970 @ 1253MHz undervolted to 1.05v
was worried with the heat on default boost which reached 72++ degree Celsius clocking at 13++Mhz on 1.193v.

with the under volt i rarely reach 65++ degree Celsius
__________________
MSI GTX 970 1215MHz @1.093v Win7 64bit - running at night/while at work - 120K PPD
sago is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 6, 2016, 02:45 PM   #94
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo_Rage3d_ View Post
You're still looking good also!!
Would be better if I didn't have 2 1070's sitting idle..
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2016, 03:21 PM   #95
Turbo_Rage3d_
Blessed to be here!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Greenville, SC
Posts: 485
Turbo_Rage3d_ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima13 View Post
Would be better if I didn't have 2 1070's sitting idle..
That has to hurt, why are they sitting idle?
__________________
Help the cause and help Team Rage3d,
START FOLDING TODAY!!!
GOD BLESS!!!
Turbo_Rage3d_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2016, 04:03 PM   #96
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Arrow

Quote:
Originally Posted by Turbo_Rage3d_ View Post
That has to hurt, why are they sitting idle?
Win 10 borked one system and MB won't recognize the cpu, and a power outage spike screwed up the other MB so it won't post up. I plan on moving one 1070 and making another sli system, but I've been busy playing through the Mass Effect trilogy (twice) since MS made ME2 & 3 BC for the xbone
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2016, 05:42 PM   #97
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,060
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima13 View Post
Win 10 borked one system and MB won't recognize the cpu, and a power outage spike screwed up the other MB so it won't post up. I plan on moving one 1070 and making another sli system, but I've been busy playing through the Mass Effect trilogy (twice) since MS made ME2 & 3 BC for the xbone
lol. I have a second PCIe slot sitting idle right below the 780Ti. :-p

But srsly.. I've been considering getting an R9 Fury. $259 shipped for 400-420k PPD.. :-p
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2016, 05:47 PM   #98
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Folding@home

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
lol. I have a second PCIe slot sitting idle right below the 780Ti. :-p

But srsly.. I've been considering getting an R9 Fury. $259 shipped for 400-420k PPD.. :-p
Well, I do have 2 780's sitting in their boxes on my work table. Turbo has shown interest in them, but if he only needs 1
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 6, 2016, 11:11 PM   #99
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by sago View Post
currently burning on a MSI GTX 970 @ 1253MHz undervolted to 1.05v
was worried with the heat on default boost which reached 72++ degree Celsius clocking at 13++Mhz on 1.193v.

with the under volt i rarely reach 65++ degree Celsius
Still putting up good PPD with the undervolt. Every little bit helps

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima13 View Post
Win 10 borked one system and MB won't recognize the cpu, and a power outage spike screwed up the other MB so it won't post up. I plan on moving one 1070 and making another sli system, but I've been busy playing through the Mass Effect trilogy (twice) since MS made ME2 & 3 BC for the xbone
I thought your PPD was with those two cards back in the mix... Oh man, you'd have like 2.4-2.6MPPD I think with those running.

Could you put a 1070 into another system as a stop gap until you build the new one?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
lol. I have a second PCIe slot sitting idle right below the 780Ti. :-p

But srsly.. I've been considering getting an R9 Fury. $259 shipped for 400-420k PPD.. :-p
That would give me some nice competition Haha, in fact that should give you like exactly my current PPD in total
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2016, 12:50 AM   #100
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Folding@home

Quote:
Originally Posted by absolutefunk View Post
Still putting up good PPD with the undervolt. Every little bit helps



I thought your PPD was with those two cards back in the mix... Oh man, you'd have like 2.4-2.6MPPD I think with those running.

Could you put a 1070 into another system as a stop gap until you build the new one?



That would give me some nice competition Haha, in fact that should give you like exactly my current PPD in total
I have 2 systems online running. 2 980ti's in my main and another 1070 in the second..so I have 3 1070's altogether
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2016, 03:10 AM   #101
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima13 View Post
I have 2 systems online running. 2 980ti's in my main and another 1070 in the second..so I have 3 1070's altogether
If you wanna 'outsource' those 2 1070s, I have some free PCIe slots available in my servers
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 22, 2016, 11:02 PM   #102
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Question PPD

My PPD have been taking a big hit the last week or so. I'm guessing it's the WU's 13xxx and 11xxx that have pretty slow TPF...almost 3min on my 980ti's
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2016, 12:17 AM   #103
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by jima13 View Post
My PPD have been taking a big hit the last week or so. I'm guessing it's the WU's 13xxx and 11xxx that have pretty slow TPF...almost 3min on my 980ti's
Do you think it's an issue with those WUs being talored more for different hardware, or that the point values for those WUs are too low (or others are too high)?

I'm having similar issues with my CPU folders. The newer projects tend to be worth more (I think to encourage more CPU based folding), so when I get a good mix of those projects, my PPD tends to be in the 600-700s. The past week I was only getting older projects, which cut my PPD in half (running my R9 Nano made up most of the difference). granted over the next couple of weeks my PPD will take a hit due to most of my hardware being offline for the holidays.
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2016, 02:29 AM   #104
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Folding@home

Not sure, but stats servers are down for the last 3 updates.
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2017, 03:40 PM   #105
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,527
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

How do you maximize your points? Started a new semester today and the teacher is giving extra credit for doing 15 units. Every time I hear of [email protected] it reminds me of rage since I did some a loooong time ago all cpu so I figured once I'm done with that I can run some more for rage during winter. I'm still only on my first units, but I have a 1070, 770, 760, 660Ti, and 460 all running for the hell of it, but all those total is only showing ~144k ppd.
I was reading on some differing unit types, but not really understanding what to choose/set based on what.
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me

Last edited by night : Jan 18, 2017 at 03:46 PM.
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2017, 08:10 PM   #106
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,486
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Did you get a passkey...helps with bonus points, also iirc it takes some time before you will see those points...
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 18, 2017, 11:08 PM   #107
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think it takes 10 WUs completion on the passkey for the bonus to start showing up, but with those specs, man you'll be giving us all a run for our money

__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2017, 12:04 AM   #108
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,527
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

holy hell.. big difference.. with my 1070 off atm, the other 4 are up to ~305k per day.

Also have a 5830 in my wife's comp that isn't absolutely terrible I could try to sneak this onto . She nevers turns her comp off anyway.
And a linux server with a shite GT520. If we lived in a colder area I'd put a better card in their to run. ...and wasn't terrified of screwing with the drivers.
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me

Last edited by night : Jan 19, 2017 at 12:25 AM.
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2017, 06:43 AM   #109
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by night View Post
holy hell.. big difference.. with my 1070 off atm, the other 4 are up to ~305k per day.

Also have a 5830 in my wife's comp that isn't absolutely terrible I could try to sneak this onto . She nevers turns her comp off anyway.
And a linux server with a shite GT520. If we lived in a colder area I'd put a better card in their to run. ...and wasn't terrified of screwing with the drivers.
With that 1070 your PPD would at least double

You aren't showing up in the stats, is the extra credit assignment under a specific team?
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2017, 07:43 AM   #110
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,060
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

If I wasn't playing BF1 so much... my PPD would be higher. lol.

Had an odd issue with the 780Ti that I have NEVER had happen though...

That poor card seen 100C for about 3-4 minutes. The PWM IC on the card stopped talking to the driver. Fan snapped to idle, and core temp/fan speed data stopped reporting. I now have it set to shut the system down if that data stops reporting for more than 5 seconds.

Its an Nvidia driver issue.
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2017, 01:35 PM   #111
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,527
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by absolutefunk View Post
With that 1070 your PPD would at least double

You aren't showing up in the stats, is the extra credit assignment under a specific team?

Doing school extra credit first.

The 1070 shows 650k ppd on it's own.... .
Is there anyway to see your passkey stats? I'm thinking I might have messed up some cpu units when I forgot to disable that slot before starting and had some crashes one of my kids comps til I tweaked on it some. Just want see when the bonus will actually kick in. And assuming you get no bonus credit for the previous units once you hit the 10 + 80%? No retroactive?
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2017, 05:07 PM   #112
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,060
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by night View Post
Doing school extra credit first.

The 1070 shows 650k ppd on it's own.... .
Is there anyway to see your passkey stats? I'm thinking I might have messed up some cpu units when I forgot to disable that slot before starting and had some crashes one of my kids comps til I tweaked on it some. Just want see when the bonus will actually kick in. And assuming you get no bonus credit for the previous units once you hit the 10 + 80%? No retroactive?

1070 should get around 650-720K ppd.

I know the fully unlocked Pascal gets 1.4-1.5mil ppd.
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2017, 06:34 PM   #113
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by night View Post
Doing school extra credit first.

The 1070 shows 650k ppd on it's own.... .
Is there anyway to see your passkey stats? I'm thinking I might have messed up some cpu units when I forgot to disable that slot before starting and had some crashes one of my kids comps til I tweaked on it some. Just want see when the bonus will actually kick in. And assuming you get no bonus credit for the previous units once you hit the 10 + 80%? No retroactive?
Hehe, sorry, my wording was bad, the 1070 will at least double your PPD (on its own).

Just check your stats the old way at folding.extremeoverclocking.com (you'll need to lookup the team and username you are folding under for the assignment). The passkey doesn't change your account. Stanford introduced passkeys as a way to separate users who fold under the same username/team, and the bonus points was a way to entice us to sign up for passkeys.

The main purpose of passkeys was to make cases of cheating more fair for folders who share usernames under the same team. For example, if your extra credit assignment requires everyone in the class to fold under the same username and team, then Stanford can still separate the individual folders by their passkeys. That way if say you decide to cheat and get caught, Stanford would only erase all the points under your specific passkey, instead of erase all the points under the username/team, which would now affect everyone folding in your class.
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2017, 07:39 PM   #114
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,527
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

No the extra credit is just 15wu with our own unique id for the teacher to find. I am only intending to get my 15 then switch back to rage. And I'd like to meet the 10wu, 80% completion before I switch, but there is no way to track it.
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2017, 12:43 AM   #115
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by night View Post
No the extra credit is just 15wu with our own unique id for the teacher to find. I am only intending to get my 15 then switch back to rage. And I'd like to meet the 10wu, 80% completion before I switch, but there is no way to track it.
Ahh, so there isn't really a standard way to know when you have the 10 WUs in. Basically just look at your stats and when when you see a jump in points, then you are there (or just count the WUs you've completed).
Note that when you switch back to Rage, you'll have to get another passkey, and then fold 10 more WUs). The 80% completion percentage you'll get with 15 WUs, that rule is mostly to prevent people from dumping WUs they didn't want (low point value or something).
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!

Last edited by absolutefunk : Jan 20, 2017 at 12:48 AM. Reason: Too awesome to post correctly the first time
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2017, 08:54 AM   #116
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,527
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

That wouldn't make sense cuz the key is generated from an entered name/email... but then it also wouldn't make sense to have to redo the 10 because the key is supposed to be a completely unique identifier you keep forever. But, I can't google up any info on it.
Guess I'll see next week. Almost done with this, but kids will want their comps back for the weekend....
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2017, 04:32 AM   #117
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by night View Post
That wouldn't make sense cuz the key is generated from an entered name/email... but then it also wouldn't make sense to have to redo the 10 because the key is supposed to be a completely unique identifier you keep forever. But, I can't google up any info on it.
Guess I'll see next week. Almost done with this, but kids will want their comps back for the weekend....
Yep that's correct, it's generated from your username/email. You can always use the same passkey for your Rage username, but since you are only folding 15 WUs under the other username (and since those points won't follow you to your Rage username even under the same passkey - at least not under the current stats system), it may be beneficial to get a new identity that is generated from your Rage username, as who knows what Stanford may do with the stats in the future. This way if the stats move to a passkey-based lookup, you'll have your identities nice and organized. ... Of course if you are folding under the same username for both teams, then you'd have to use a new email address.... actually ignore my advice, just stick with the same passkey
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 21, 2017, 05:29 PM   #118
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,527
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

oohhhhh, that is what you are thinking.. I'm was sure the username you enter for the passkey is more registration-like. I put my usual 'night' in there but am using a different name/ID for within the team.

If not, then their crap is completely unclear.
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 22, 2017, 04:46 AM   #119
absolutefunk
Insert witty remark here
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Mars Colony #14
Posts: 1,429
absolutefunk is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by night View Post
oohhhhh, that is what you are thinking.. I'm was sure the username you enter for the passkey is more registration-like. I put my usual 'night' in there but am using a different name/ID for within the team.

If not, then their crap is completely unclear.
It's the latter

What I know is that Stanford uses the term 'username' for the passkey registration, and that you can use your passkey to fold under any username/team that you want. This makes sense as the only original purpose for it was to separate cheaters.. but Stanford has also brought up that they may use the passkey in the 'future' for changes to the stats system. In this regard, they have username/email combos (of which the username doesn't have to be unique, and the email I'm not sure), and mappings of which passkeys fold under which usernames/teams. This starts to gets sorta messy though because the team is never considered during passkey registration, which means that tying passkey username to the username you fold under would not be feasible.... so my guess is that Stanford is never going to mess with the stats in that way, which makes the entered info for the passkey nothing more than a string to generate the passkey itself, with no other meaning... which is I think what you said originally.

To be honest I havn't really thought about it this deeply because I've only ever folded for Rage, but I'd just say to keep the same passkey, unless you plan to cheat in the future, then create a new passkey for those systems in case you get caught
__________________

AXP-M 2400+ AQYHA; [email protected]
Asus A7N8X-E 1012 trats cpc=on
Crucial 1024mb PC3200; [email protected] (3-3-3-8)
Thermalright SP97 /w Delta 80mm
1X WD 2500JD
1X WD 600BB
Antec P160 /w TruePower 430w
ATi Radeon AIW 9800pro
Adaptec 2490uw SCSI /w 2x Plextor CD/CD-R

Folding @ Home: the only useful way to use that extra CPU... and possible GPU... time!!
absolutefunk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 25, 2017, 05:51 PM   #120
night
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: houston
Posts: 10,527
night can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultynight can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

anyway... I am now putting out for you guys ....
__________________
However, I am in the extreme minority, and I understand that there is something fundamentally wrong with me
night is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
jima13 hotwired Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 6 Jul 24, 2008 12:11 PM
Happy Birthday Jima13!!! Lupine Off Topic Lounge 11 Mar 12, 2008 05:05 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:38 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink