Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 11, 2003, 10:26 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
bushwacker
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 135
bushwacker is still being judged by the masses


Default AGP voltmods through MSI BIOSes?

The latest AthlonXP board from MSI suposedly provides among other great features the ability to change the voltage of AGP cards. The exact text from the PDF user manual is this:

"AGP Voltage (V)
AGP voltage is adjustable in the field, allowing you to increase the performance
of your AGP display card when overclocking, but the stability may be
affected."

My question is, how does this work (if it does), and would it only apply to certain cards? Mine is a Radeon 9000 Pro 64mb btw...
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.4GHz
Video: ATI Radeon 9k Pro @ 310/310
RAM: Kingston DDR400 CL2 512Mb
Mobo: Epox 8RDA+ (Rev. 1.1)
HDs: 1 40GB, 2MB cache Seagate, 1 120GB WD (ATA/100, 8MB cache)
Sound: SB Audigy2 Platinum w/ 4.1 surround sound
OSes: Win2k ProSP4 & Linux
Cooling: AquariusII Water Cooling
bushwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2003, 04:38 PM   #2
gtrz
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 1,048
gtrz is still being judged by the masses


Default

I might be wrong but I thought that's what agp driving force
or strength was in a bios.Bios' have had that option for quite
a while now.I remember my last card was a Geforce 2 MX
and there was a specific driving setting that was well known for helping these cards stay stable for an overclock.I have an
MSI K7T Turbo-R.
gtrz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2003, 07:13 PM   #3
bushwacker
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: San Diego, CA
Posts: 135
bushwacker is still being judged by the masses


Default

no, the driving force thing is basically just a hardware address space for the AGP bus. It doesnt change performance at all, just enables you to change the value if stuff screws up as far as i know.
__________________
CPU: AMD Athlon XP 2100+ @ 2.4GHz
Video: ATI Radeon 9k Pro @ 310/310
RAM: Kingston DDR400 CL2 512Mb
Mobo: Epox 8RDA+ (Rev. 1.1)
HDs: 1 40GB, 2MB cache Seagate, 1 120GB WD (ATA/100, 8MB cache)
Sound: SB Audigy2 Platinum w/ 4.1 surround sound
OSes: Win2k ProSP4 & Linux
Cooling: AquariusII Water Cooling
bushwacker is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 12, 2003, 08:46 PM   #4
KJ
Classic Gamer
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Tacoma, WA
Posts: 6,164
KJ is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

I can change the AGP voltage on my KT3 Ultra2-R, so it's been around a little while.
__________________
ASRock P67 Pro3 | Core i5-2500K | 4GB G.Skill Ripjaws DDR3-1600 | 120GB OCZ Vertex 2 |
Radeon HD 3850 | Lite-On 20x DVD-RW | Earthwatts 500w PSU | Windows 7 Ultimate x64

AND IT'S FOLDING FOR RAGE3D!
KJ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2003, 11:34 PM   #5
kbleft
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: ATi bandwagon
Posts: 1,873
kbleft is still being judged by the masses


Default

It changes the voltage supplied to the agp slot. I think that each vid card has its own voltage regulators to maintain the operating voltage of the gpu, so this won't necessarily affect the voltage your vid chip operates at (and likewise affect overclockability). Nevertheless, this AGP voltage adjustment has other benefits. For example, it might decrease instabilities by ensuring more adequate power supply to the vid card. In turn, this might allow you to overclock higher. Likewise, volt-modded vid cards will benefit from having a higher supplied voltage.
kbleft is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Radeon BIOS Editor 1.19 Released - Allows New Software Voltmods HonestJohn Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 13 Mar 5, 2009 06:53 AM
9600XT voltmods Apocalypsee Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Apr 30, 2004 01:30 AM
bioses matjazd Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Feb 25, 2004 03:28 AM
Voltmods For 9800SE ?????? Flymo Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 13 Nov 2, 2003 04:17 PM
9500NP/9700 voltmods, where? Neon_Explosion Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 0 Mar 18, 2003 10:05 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:25 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink