Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 5, 2003, 05:00 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
vnet576
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
vnet576 is still being judged by the masses


Default 3d mark score

I think that there is something wrong with my video card. I'm getting a pretty low score compared to other radeon 8500LE video cards. And the main problem is that my video card is 128 mb and other people's video card is only 64mb. My card should kill all the other cards but unfortenalty its not.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=3236170
vnet576 is offline  
Old Jan 5, 2003, 05:29 PM   #2
AMD_Atlon
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 53
AMD_Atlon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Consider yourself lucky, most p-3's are in the 8000 mark range even ones over 1 ghz on 8500le's 128 and 64 mb.

Also futuremark reports your card as a 64 and not a 128.
AMD_Atlon is offline  
Old Jan 5, 2003, 05:43 PM   #3
vnet576
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
vnet576 is still being judged by the masses


Default

My system is the one on the left, the one running directx 9. And my score is 5037, and the other person's score is 5459 for a 64 mb card. It should be the other way around.
vnet576 is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 5, 2003, 05:45 PM   #4
camrymans
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Virginia, USA
Posts: 1,059
camrymans is still being judged by the masses


Default

The ATI Radeon 64MB Retail is clocked at 275/275. That is likely what this person is using. Yours on the other hand is a 128MB clocked at 250/250. The 64MB will be faster because it is clocked faster, regardless of the amount of RAM.
__________________
Pentium IV 1.8A @ 2.9GHz (161FSB)
Gigabyte GA-8SQ800 (SiS655, AGP 8X)
2x Corsair XMS3200C2 DDR400 512MB
Radeon 9700 Pro (Sapphire) 365/340
Philips Acoustic Edge 5.1
camrymans is offline  
Old Jan 5, 2003, 05:59 PM   #5
vnet576
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
vnet576 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Huh, this is so stupid. Why did ati make a card that has more memory and costs more, but scores much lower in benchmarks. If I had known that I wouldn't have gotten the 8500le.
vnet576 is offline  
Old Jan 5, 2003, 06:31 PM   #6
AMD_Atlon
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 53
AMD_Atlon is still being judged by the masses


Default

"Buyer beware", I was a reader of this forum long before I bought my 8500. I knew what speeds I should look for and just how good some "powered by" cards were. My decision on the card I bought related directly to this forum. Good luck in buying your next card, or returning the one you have now.
__________________
Windows XP Professional AMD Athlon XP 1.67ABIT K-G7PowerColor Radeon 8500 Evil Master II 275/275
512 MB Memory
Maxtor 91361U3 FA52 (13.61 GB) Hard drive-1
WDC WD450AA-00BAA0 10.0 (45.02 GB) Hard drive-2
CD-ROM Drive/G6D
HP CD-Writer+ 8200 [CD-ROM drive]
LITEON DVD-ROM LTD-165H [CD-ROM drive]
Sound: Creative SB Live 5.1
AMD_Atlon is offline  
Old Jan 5, 2003, 06:46 PM   #7
vnet576
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
vnet576 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeh, I should have read posts in forum like this one before buying my video card. Oh, well, I'll always do that before buying another piece of hardware.
vnet576 is offline  
Old Jan 5, 2003, 08:07 PM   #8
rayzian
brokestatus
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,599
rayzian is still being judged by the masses


Default

is your 8500LE overclocked? many people on 3dmark overclock their cards.. could be overclocked 64MB variants..
__________________
and we did nothing, absolutely nothing
rayzian is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 02:36 AM   #9
Fah Q
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 2
Fah Q is still being judged by the masses


Default

Fah Q is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 11:30 AM   #10
Avante
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Avante is still being judged by the masses


Default

Don't complain about 400 3dmarks, your 128 mb card is probably clocked the same but there is alot of tweeking that can be done to increase scores in 3d mark.
__________________
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5361007
Avante is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 02:48 PM   #11
vnet576
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
vnet576 is still being judged by the masses


Default

OMG, Fah Q, how did u get your card to run so fast. Did u overclock it, cuz mine's not overclocked. Avante what kind of tweaking could I do to improve the score?
vnet576 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 02:58 PM   #12
AMD_Atlon
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 53
AMD_Atlon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Fah Q, card is running on a P-4 @ 1602 MHz
__________________
Windows XP Professional AMD Athlon XP 1.67ABIT K-G7PowerColor Radeon 8500 Evil Master II 275/275
512 MB Memory
Maxtor 91361U3 FA52 (13.61 GB) Hard drive-1
WDC WD450AA-00BAA0 10.0 (45.02 GB) Hard drive-2
CD-ROM Drive/G6D
HP CD-Writer+ 8200 [CD-ROM drive]
LITEON DVD-ROM LTD-165H [CD-ROM drive]
Sound: Creative SB Live 5.1
AMD_Atlon is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 03:06 PM   #13
vnet576
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
vnet576 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Yeh, but his fsb is lower than mine. Mine is 133 mhz, while his is 100 mhz, so their shouldn't be that much performance increase.
vnet576 is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 04:23 PM   #14
SAKO
Newbie
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Posts: 14
SAKO is still being judged by the masses


Default

"Game 1 Car Chase - Low Detail 349.4 FPS"
lol, ya right... Fah Q nice try ;-)

Last edited by SAKO : Jan 6, 2003 at 04:31 PM.
SAKO is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 06:30 PM   #15
AMD_Atlon
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 53
AMD_Atlon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by vnet576
Yeh, but his fsb is lower than mine. Mine is 133 mhz, while his is 100 mhz, so their shouldn't be that much performance increase.
But, he is still running double your CPU speed, go to futuremarks search and compare page, look at the difference in CPU speed. Use your card and O/S and just look at faster CPU's, you will then see that makes a big difference in scores.
AMD_Atlon is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 07:02 PM   #16
T07N
Long-time Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: America
Posts: 5,070
T07N is still being judged by the masses


Default

rayzian, how did you get that 8500LE 128Mb to be at 300/300?! Wouldn't it set your computer on fire?!
__________________
XP-M 2400+ @ 2.2Ghz | Epox 8RDA3+ | 9800 Pro | 1.5GB DDR400
T07N is offline  
Old Jan 6, 2003, 07:35 PM   #17
vnet576
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 13
vnet576 is still being judged by the masses


Default

yeh, but all of their fsbs are either at mine or higher. An fsb at 100mhz is really low, its all clock multipliers that give him a high cpu speed. And clock multipliers don't give as much performance increase as fsb.
vnet576 is offline  
Old Jan 7, 2003, 12:04 AM   #18
AMD_Atlon
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 53
AMD_Atlon is still being judged by the masses


Default

Have you tried different drivers, to see if that makes a difference? Look at some with the same system as yours and try those drivers.
__________________
Windows XP Professional AMD Athlon XP 1.67ABIT K-G7PowerColor Radeon 8500 Evil Master II 275/275
512 MB Memory
Maxtor 91361U3 FA52 (13.61 GB) Hard drive-1
WDC WD450AA-00BAA0 10.0 (45.02 GB) Hard drive-2
CD-ROM Drive/G6D
HP CD-Writer+ 8200 [CD-ROM drive]
LITEON DVD-ROM LTD-165H [CD-ROM drive]
Sound: Creative SB Live 5.1
AMD_Atlon is offline  
Old Jan 8, 2003, 11:28 AM   #19
Avante
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Canada
Posts: 53
Avante is still being judged by the masses


Default

My card is running stock speed and that is with Omega drivers and dx9 ( notice 32 bit Z buffer ) . Also I'm on a P4 , nothing tweeked, just plain stock. Many people overclock, tweek systems, change options. There is probably nothing wrong with your card, try different bios options, ram timmings etc.
__________________
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5361007
Avante is offline  
Old Jan 8, 2003, 07:22 PM   #20
broberg
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Halifax
Posts: 52
broberg is still being judged by the masses


Default

Your mark seems right to me. I have run my board at 100 and 133 Mhz FSB and the scores seem to make the biggest difference based on raw cpu power.




http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5475008
__________________
Radeon Le 230/[email protected]/275
Win XP
Barton 2500 10X200
Abit nf7-s
512mb OCZ 3200
broberg is offline  
Old Jan 9, 2003, 05:28 AM   #21
Izakaron
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 147
Izakaron is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by camrymans
The ATI Radeon 64MB Retail is clocked at 275/275. That is likely what this person is using. Yours on the other hand is a 128MB clocked at 250/250. The 64MB will be faster because it is clocked faster, regardless of the amount of RAM.
The difference is only on mem, even I thhink only on mem latency or so. It is absolutely wrong that core is 250. maybe MEM is clocked little less something like 270, but not sure.
__________________
ECS k7s5a (SIS735)
XP1800+ (1.53G)
512M DDR266 (pc2100)
Gigabyte Radeon 8500 AP64D-H (275/275)
Codegen 350WPSU
--------------------------
Lord Of Dark Desire
Check my evil Monster:http://www.outwar.com/page.php?x=241959
Izakaron is offline  
Old Jan 9, 2003, 05:31 AM   #22
Izakaron
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 147
Izakaron is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: 3d mark score

Quote:
Originally posted by vnet576
I think that there is something wrong with my video card. I'm getting a pretty low score compared to other radeon 8500LE video cards. And the main problem is that my video card is 128 mb and other people's video card is only 64mb. My card should kill all the other cards but unfortenalty its not.

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=3236170
Your score looks correct. With T-Birth 1G I got 6600 with no-le version. So with le maybe will be 6000, and with P3 866 maybe as your 5500
__________________
ECS k7s5a (SIS735)
XP1800+ (1.53G)
512M DDR266 (pc2100)
Gigabyte Radeon 8500 AP64D-H (275/275)
Codegen 350WPSU
--------------------------
Lord Of Dark Desire
Check my evil Monster:http://www.outwar.com/page.php?x=241959
Izakaron is offline  
Old Jan 9, 2003, 11:09 AM   #23
DEATH-HEAVEN
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CANADA (HOME OF ATI)
Posts: 333
DEATH-HEAVEN is still being judged by the masses


Default

hey guys do you think my scores are normal ? i doubt !
athlon xp 1700+ oc to 1900 + fsb 146mhz
latest bios for my mobo
radeon 8500 le 128 runig at 276/276 (i modded the bios then reflashed)
512 mb ddr 333mhz runing at 266 cas 2
latest agp drivers
latest direct x
look here and tell me whats going wrong guys !
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=3437464
DEATH-HEAVEN is offline  
Old Jan 11, 2003, 05:58 PM   #24
broberg
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Halifax
Posts: 52
broberg is still being judged by the masses


Default

The score looks pretty good to me. Anything thing near 10000 is maxed out for an 8500. Just check out Tomshardware VGA list. They are using a P4 3.06.

http://www6.tomshardware.com/graphic...charts-05.html
__________________
Radeon Le 230/[email protected]/275
Win XP
Barton 2500 10X200
Abit nf7-s
512mb OCZ 3200
broberg is offline  
Old Jan 12, 2003, 12:27 AM   #25
DEATH-HEAVEN
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: CANADA (HOME OF ATI)
Posts: 333
DEATH-HEAVEN is still being judged by the masses


Default

cmon its not possible ,its about 2000 3dmarks less than the other guy !
DEATH-HEAVEN is offline  
Old Jan 12, 2003, 01:28 AM   #26
sMashPiranha
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: New Zealand New Zealand
Posts: 3,607
sMashPiranha is still being judged by the masses


Default

http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=5609521
2765!!
I've been tweaking this baby all weekend to get this score. I reckon with just a little bit more tweaking and maybe o'cing further I can break 2770!!

Or maybe I can try figure out what the hell's going on and get it back up near 8000 where it should be .
http://service.futuremark.com/compare?2k1=3783037
Oh well, my games are all running just as good as they usually do. I guess this just proves that 3dmark score doesn't always have anything to do with actual system performance.
sMashPiranha is offline  
Old Jan 12, 2003, 02:38 AM   #27
rayzian
brokestatus
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Toronto, Canada
Posts: 9,599
rayzian is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by AMD_Atlon
Fah Q, card is running on a P-4 @ 1602 MHz
Fah Q cheated, and a P4 @ 1.6Ghz is slow as hell anyways, probably as fast as a 1.1Ghz Tbird, unless it's a northwood..

Quote:
Originally posted by tonyn
rayzian, how did you get that 8500LE 128Mb to be at 300/300?! Wouldn't it set your computer on fire?!
__________________
and we did nothing, absolutely nothing
rayzian is offline  
Old Jan 12, 2003, 07:07 PM   #28
quickkk
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Canada
Posts: 66
quickkk is still being judged by the masses


Default About the pentium4 100MHz bus thing

All older pentium 4's have a FSB of 100MHz. The difference is that this bus is Quad pumped, which means that the cpu can send information 4 times/cycle. So, in the end, a FSB of 100Mhz for a pentium 4 is like 400MHz. DDR, memory works the same way, except it's just a factor of 2. On pentium 3's, 133MHz bus is just 133MHz - the available bandwith is a lot smaller. All things considered though, a 1600 MHz P3, would trounce a 1600 MHz P4 because it uses it's clock cycles a lot more efficently. However, the P4 is designed in such a way that it can run at insanely fast clock rates, whereas the P3 is not (it maxes out at 1400MHz) so you'll never get to compare a 1600MHz P3 to a 1600MHz P4. In the end, a 1600Mhz P4 is a LOT faster than a 800MHz P3.
quickkk is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 05:49 AM   #29
Izakaron
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Bulgaria
Posts: 147
Izakaron is still being judged by the masses


Talking

Runs like a ferrari...
Flows like a dream...
__________________
ECS k7s5a (SIS735)
XP1800+ (1.53G)
512M DDR266 (pc2100)
Gigabyte Radeon 8500 AP64D-H (275/275)
Codegen 350WPSU
--------------------------
Lord Of Dark Desire
Check my evil Monster:http://www.outwar.com/page.php?x=241959
Izakaron is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2003, 10:46 PM   #30
No_Style
Radeon R600
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Posts: 674
No_Style is still being judged by the masses


Default Dude, Your score is fine.

It's just about right. I have similar set up as yours. My old score was 58XX @ P3 949. My P4 1.99 GHz does a seemingly low 80XX. I think it should be more, but meh. It runs.
__________________
Specifications Here
No_Style is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Low 3d mark score Fiver Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 6 Jul 27, 2003 12:34 PM
3d Mark score, is this bad? KoBeS General Hardware 6 Oct 15, 2002 08:48 PM
3d Mark Score PRUC Radeon Technical Support 10 Jul 29, 2002 09:41 PM
3d Mark Score Kamiclone Off Topic Lounge 6 Jul 14, 2002 05:30 PM
Radeon 64 DDR - Low 3D Mark 2001 score compared to 3D Mark 2000 Paul_Smith AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Jun 11, 2001 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:45 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink