Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 6, 2002, 04:27 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Viro
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4
Viro is still being judged by the masses


Default ATI Driver Problems

Hi,

I've been trying to install the new ATI Driver (6.13.10.6094) on my Radeon 64 MB DDR VIVO (though my device manager says it's a 7200 - don't know about that...). My problem is that after I install this driver (after uninstalling the old one of course) I have to restart the computer, and when it starts up, it completely locks up (after the windows loading screen). I've tried to uninstall and reinstall several times, but nothing helps. This actually happened to me about 4 months ago when I last tried installing an ATI driver (and now I'm still forced to use the old 6.13.10.6015), so it's looking like a trend that I won't be able to update my drivers...

I was actually able to get the driver to work once by disabling the display adapter in the Device Manager and then turning it back on when the computer started up with generic drivers (and in this process the ATI Control Panel did not start up because it could not detect an active ATI driver). But as soon as I restarted my computer, it locked up again...

Can anyone help?

My specs are:
Athlon 1GHz
256 MB DDR Ram
Radeon 64 MB DDR VIVO (though the device manager says it's a 7200)
20 GB HD (7200 RPM)
Sound Blaster Live XGamer
DVD and CDRW drives
Windows XP Pro (build 2600)
Viro is offline  
Old Jul 6, 2002, 04:58 AM   #2
Risto
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Finland
Posts: 74
Risto is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've had same kind of problems with my Epox 8kha+ mb.

I think one of these helped:

- reset to mb bios defaults.
- mb memory speed settings "BY SPD" (I think this was important not to be 133 even I have ddr266 memory. Radeon did not like this setting when using ATI drivers)
- Update bios
- disable all extra settings for your agp/pci
- BE SURE to delete the old Radeon draivers before updating.
- Updating my onbord VIA soundcard driver.

Can't say which one it was. But no more problems nowadays

PS. Radeon 64=Radeon 7500
Risto is offline  
Old Jul 6, 2002, 05:35 AM   #3
seduck
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
seduck is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: ATI Driver Problems

Quote:
Originally posted by Viro

(and now I'm still forced to use the old 6.13.10.6015), so it's looking like a trend that I won't be able to update my drivers...
I had same problem that only those 6015 drivers worked fine. Then I searched and searched through posts and found a solution.

You should edit drivers .inf file and find spot:

[ati2mtag_RV100_SoftwareDeviceSettings]

(I think that RV100 is right for your card?)

and beneath that you'll find:

HKR,, DisableFullAdapterInit, %REG_DWORD%, 0

Now heres what you do

change that %REG_DWORD%, ---> 0 <--- zero to one
so that it will look like
HKR,, DisableFullAdapterInit, %REG_DWORD%, 1

There you go.
At least it worked for me.
And if you update your drivers, just remember always edit the .inf file
__________________
system:
AMD TB 1.4Ghz (200)
A7V
Club3D Radeon 7500
256ram
SB live! Platinum
Windows XP Pro
seduck is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 7, 2002, 08:45 PM   #4
Viro
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4
Viro is still being judged by the masses


Default

I just tried your suggestion Seduck, but unfortunately it did not fix it

And I really don't know how to do many of the things Risto suggested. But Windows XP does install the built in drivers before I can stop it... Does that interfere?
Viro is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2002, 01:42 AM   #5
AnavelGato
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Iowa
Posts: 96
AnavelGato is still being judged by the masses


Default

That's a weird problem my best guess is it's a AGP Bus conflict.
What Motherboard do you have?
__________________
AMD Athlon XP 1700+ w/ThermalTake Volcano 7+
Gigabyte GA-7VT600-L w/512mb PC2700 DDR
ATI Radeon 9600 Pro 128mb Retail w/Catalyst 3.9
Maxtor DiamondMax Plus 160.0GB ATA/133 8mb Cache 7200RPM
Quantum Fireball AS Plus 40.0GB ATA/100
Windows XP Professional SP1
3Dmark 2001SE Score: 9664
AnavelGato is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2002, 04:12 AM   #6
seduck
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
seduck is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Viro
I just tried your suggestion Seduck, but unfortunately it did not fix it
Hmmn..I checked that 6015-drivers .inf-file and you might try those instructions in
[ati2mtag_DEFAULT_SoftwareDeviceSettings]

Dunno if that works either...anyway
__________________
system:
AMD TB 1.4Ghz (200)
A7V
Club3D Radeon 7500
256ram
SB live! Platinum
Windows XP Pro
seduck is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2002, 10:03 AM   #7
Viro
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4
Viro is still being judged by the masses


Default

OK, seduck, I'll try that later today (I have to leave for work right now, so i don't have time).

All I know is that my motherboard is made by ASUS. I can find out the exact model for you if you want.

BTW, last night I saw that windows update had a new ATI driver (6071) so I tried updating that. But it didn't work either. But now that I think about it, I didn't uninstall the 6015 drivers before I did the windows update. So I'll try that later today.
Viro is offline  
Old Jul 8, 2002, 11:11 AM   #8
seduck
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
seduck is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Viro

BTW, last night I saw that windows update had a new ATI driver (6071) so I tried updating that. But it didn't work either. But now that I think about it, I didn't uninstall the 6015 drivers before I did the windows update. So I'll try that later today.
My experience about that Windows update was disapointment. It scrampled whole system (love to microsoft) and I had to reinstall windows (maybe there had been easier way, though).

I think this "only 6015 drivers work" problem is about radeons bios.
At least in my card. I've flashed bios to new one (from Club3D they offered same bios as for PowerColors card) and every driver-version I tried worked fine, although that bios were not exactly suitable for my card (much artifacts even when downclocked a LOT). Now I'm just waiting for bios update from Club3D that would be The One and REALLY Working.

Maybe flashing your cards bios would solve that problem or not.

PS. you should add your system specs to your signature
__________________
system:
AMD TB 1.4Ghz (200)
A7V
Club3D Radeon 7500
256ram
SB live! Platinum
Windows XP Pro
seduck is offline  
Old Jul 9, 2002, 02:35 AM   #9
Viro
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 4
Viro is still being judged by the masses


Default

OK, changing the inf file didn't work again.

How exactly do you go about flashing a bios?
Viro is offline  
Old Jul 9, 2002, 04:58 AM   #10
seduck
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 16
seduck is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Viro
How exactly do you go about flashing a bios?
You should search through posts. Theres a lot info about flashing bios.

And it's very important get RIGHT BIOS FOR YOUR CARD.
__________________
system:
AMD TB 1.4Ghz (200)
A7V
Club3D Radeon 7500
256ram
SB live! Platinum
Windows XP Pro
seduck is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
SiS AGP Driver Problems Raynor Radeon Technical Support 10 Dec 22, 2002 09:53 PM
Driver Problems, need help Darkwolf Radeon Technical Support 1 Jan 23, 2002 02:32 AM
VIA driver+Radeon driver = Problems domino888 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Mar 27, 2001 03:11 PM
More Driver Problems SlipperyPenguin Radeon Technical Support 1 Mar 21, 2001 07:38 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:24 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink