Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 12, 2004, 02:36 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Audi2Honda
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,302
Audi2Honda is still being judged by the masses


Default AA Performance vs. AA Quality? Any performance/visual difference?

I do notice that 8x AA makes everything seem sharper and brighter. It allmost seems like I have all new textures..., but are therre any performance/screenshot comparisons between the performance and quality settings?
__________________
Gigabyte DS3
[email protected]
2x1GB G.Skill HZ
Asus Top HD4850
Corsair 650TX

Team Rage 3D Folding My STATS
Audi2Honda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 02:56 AM   #2
Killua
Hunter X Hunter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greed Island
Posts: 1,544
Killua is still being judged by the masses


Default

There's only performance AF and quality AF.... no??
__________________

| AMD 2600+ | ABIT NF7 | 1GB RAM | GF FX-5700 | Audigy2 NX | WinXP SP2 |


"Three? You're joking, right? All of my moves were traps." -Killua (Hunter X Hunter)
Killua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 03:05 AM   #3
ATMArage
Revulva
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: I went out shopping to get some noise
Posts: 3,620
ATMArage is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Killua
There's only performance AF and quality AF.... no??
Correct.
__________________
|:phr00t&vedjeez:|
-<: . ->Q . ) . `O

"Ergo, buttplug = gay"
~Missus
ATMArage is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 12, 2004, 03:06 AM   #4
david and cindy
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 234
david and cindy is still being judged by the masses


Default

I don't notice any difference either
david and cindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 03:18 AM   #5
Killua
Hunter X Hunter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greed Island
Posts: 1,544
Killua is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried AF performance and quality and took screens there are no difference. Also, check out AF optimisatin from ATI Tray tool
http://www.thefallenangels.info/atit...topic.php?t=29
__________________

| AMD 2600+ | ABIT NF7 | 1GB RAM | GF FX-5700 | Audigy2 NX | WinXP SP2 |


"Three? You're joking, right? All of my moves were traps." -Killua (Hunter X Hunter)
Killua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 03:45 AM   #6
david and cindy
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 234
david and cindy is still being judged by the masses


Default

very interesting, thanks

Last edited by david and cindy : Jun 12, 2004 at 03:47 AM.
david and cindy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 03:50 AM   #7
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by ATMArage
Correct.
On the r200 rv250 line there is a Quality/Performance mode for Anti Aliasing.

also the r300 has 3x/5x AA.


But ya on the r300 its AF..
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 04:00 AM   #8
Audi2Honda
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,302
Audi2Honda is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Killua
I tried AF performance and quality and took screens there are no difference. Also, check out AF optimisatin from ATI Tray tool
http://www.thefallenangels.info/atit...topic.php?t=29
I don't see this optimization setting where is it? Thanks
__________________
Gigabyte DS3
[email protected]
2x1GB G.Skill HZ
Asus Top HD4850
Corsair 650TX

Team Rage 3D Folding My STATS
Audi2Honda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 04:47 AM   #9
Killua
Hunter X Hunter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greed Island
Posts: 1,544
Killua is still being judged by the masses


Default

tweaks-> direct3d optimisation
__________________

| AMD 2600+ | ABIT NF7 | 1GB RAM | GF FX-5700 | Audigy2 NX | WinXP SP2 |


"Three? You're joking, right? All of my moves were traps." -Killua (Hunter X Hunter)
Killua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 07:18 AM   #10
Alkali
Zooey Deschanel
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 1,830
Alkali is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: AA Performance vs. AA Quality? Any performance/visual difference?

Quote:
Originally posted by Audi2Honda
I do notice that 8x AA makes everything seem sharper and brighter. It allmost seems like I have all new textures..., but are therre any performance/screenshot comparisons between the performance and quality settings?
There is no 8xAA mode yet - I think you mean AF...

And personally btw, I dont see much difference when I'm playing between 8xAF/16xAF performance or quality, because I'm too busy shooting something I do definately see the difference with any less than 8xAF...
__________________
Home Theatre & HiFi
Living Room: Sony EX504 LCD, Sony S760B Blu, Yamaha 7.1 Amp, Mission m74/m7c2/m72i/m71i, MJ Acoustics Ref400
PC: Marantz PM6003, Monitor Audio BX1's, Silver Anniversary, QED J2P

Asus ATi 6950HD Asus Crosshair IV Formula AMD PhenomII X6 1100T G.Skill 2x2GB 1.6Ghz (F3-12800CL7D-4GBECO)
Playing: Rift, EVE-Online
Anticipating: Guildwars 2, BF3, BF1943
Alkali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 10:50 AM   #11
BENCHMARKMAN
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 4,059
BENCHMARKMAN is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
also the r300 has 3x/5x AA.
How do you get 3x/5x AA on a Radeon 9700?
__________________
Intel Core i7 920
MSI Twin FROZR 560 TI
Windows 8
BENCHMARKMAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 03:26 PM   #12
Killua
Hunter X Hunter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greed Island
Posts: 1,544
Killua is still being judged by the masses


Default

he must have meant 4x.
__________________

| AMD 2600+ | ABIT NF7 | 1GB RAM | GF FX-5700 | Audigy2 NX | WinXP SP2 |


"Three? You're joking, right? All of my moves were traps." -Killua (Hunter X Hunter)
Killua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 03:28 PM   #13
Audi2Honda
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,302
Audi2Honda is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Re: AA Performance vs. AA Quality? Any performance/visual difference?

Quote:
Originally posted by Alkali
There is no 8xAA mode yet - I think you mean AF...

And personally btw, I dont see much difference when I'm playing between 8xAF/16xAF performance or quality, because I'm too busy shooting something I do definately see the difference with any less than 8xAF...

Yea sorry this thread was supposed to say AF not AA
__________________
Gigabyte DS3
[email protected]
2x1GB G.Skill HZ
Asus Top HD4850
Corsair 650TX

Team Rage 3D Folding My STATS
Audi2Honda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 04:24 PM   #14
ChrisRay
1983 - 2010
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 3,641
ChrisRay is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by BENCHMARKMAN
How do you get 3x/5x AA on a Radeon 9700?
Actually I meant the r200. I was tired last night, Sorry
__________________
Chris 'ChrisRay' Arthington
1983 - 2010
May you rest in peace

--

|CPU: Intel I7 Lynnfield @ 3.2 Ghz|Mobo:Asus P7P55 WS Supercomputer |Memory:8 Gigs DDR3 1333|Video:Geforce GTX 295 Quad SLI|Monitor:Samsung Syncmaster 1680x1080 3D Vision\/Olevia 27 Inch Widescreen HDTV 1920x1080

|CPU: AMD Phenom 9600 Black Edition @ 2.5 Ghz|Mobo:Asus M3n HT Deluxe Nforce 780A|Memory: 4 gigs DDR2 800| Video: Geforce GTX 280x2 SLI

Nzone
SLI Forum Administrator

NVIDIA User Group Members receive free software and/or hardware from NVIDIA from time to time to facilitate the evaluation of NVIDIA products. However, the opinions expressed are solely those of the members
ChrisRay is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 06:13 PM   #15
Killua
Hunter X Hunter
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Greed Island
Posts: 1,544
Killua is still being judged by the masses


Default

i just did a google search and found that 8500 supports 2x 3x 4x 5x 6x with quality/performance AA

http://www.gameclubcentral.com/reviews/radrev.asp

cool!

why can't i use 3x and 5x with my 9800se?
__________________

| AMD 2600+ | ABIT NF7 | 1GB RAM | GF FX-5700 | Audigy2 NX | WinXP SP2 |


"Three? You're joking, right? All of my moves were traps." -Killua (Hunter X Hunter)
Killua is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 07:16 PM   #16
Blacklash
Che cazzo stai dicendo?
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Old Vizima
Posts: 1,992
Blacklash is still being judged by the masses


Default

The good thing about Ati tray tools,

is that you can also set trilinear for all texture stages in AF. This takes care of banding in games like Halo. In addition, as I understand it, it will reduce moire and dithering.

Honestly though, most of the time, I do not bother with it and just keep things set at 'quality'.
Blacklash is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 08:42 PM   #17
black hole sun
Hey guys!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: California
Posts: 5,233
black hole sun is still being judged by the masses


Default

From the sticky noone ever reads ( )

16XAF Performance:


16xAF Quality:
__________________
The inhabitants of the earth are of two sorts:
Those with brains, but no religion,
And those with religion, but no brains.

-- Abul Ala al-Ma`arri, 1057 A.D.
black hole sun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 09:10 PM   #18
Alkali
Zooey Deschanel
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 1,830
Alkali is still being judged by the masses


Default

Well, I think I can detect a difference... but its so close, I dont see any reason to stick with Quality over Performance...
__________________
Home Theatre & HiFi
Living Room: Sony EX504 LCD, Sony S760B Blu, Yamaha 7.1 Amp, Mission m74/m7c2/m72i/m71i, MJ Acoustics Ref400
PC: Marantz PM6003, Monitor Audio BX1's, Silver Anniversary, QED J2P

Asus ATi 6950HD Asus Crosshair IV Formula AMD PhenomII X6 1100T G.Skill 2x2GB 1.6Ghz (F3-12800CL7D-4GBECO)
Playing: Rift, EVE-Online
Anticipating: Guildwars 2, BF3, BF1943
Alkali is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 09:46 PM   #19
Crawdaddy79
Radeon 8500
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Virginia
Posts: 18,073
Crawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

There is no difference in static screenshots between Quality and Performance Anisotropic Filtering..


There is in motion however, in very rare cases where you are moving along a very busy texture you'll see horizontal lines (or 'Banding') in Performance mode, but wont in Quality.

The only place I remember where this happened was in Postal 2, in one of the stores in the Mall with red carpeting. I've seen it a couple of other times, but nothing drastic.


In the Pre-9500 series of cards, there is no performance/quality AF... Just one setting (and in the IGP 340M it is only 16x or application preferrence..just a checkbox.. no slider.).

However, there IS a Performance/Quality Anti Aliasing settings...

Here is my comparison of the 340M's AA modes (Return to Castle Wolfenstein, 16-bit color).

2x Performance AA

2x Quality AA

4x Performance AA

4x Quality AA

Last edited by Crawdaddy79 : Jun 12, 2004 at 09:56 PM.
Crawdaddy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 12, 2004, 11:41 PM   #20
Audi2Honda
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Posts: 1,302
Audi2Honda is still being judged by the masses


Default

In all of these screenshots the performance looks sharper and better to my eye.
__________________
Gigabyte DS3
[email protected]
2x1GB G.Skill HZ
Asus Top HD4850
Corsair 650TX

Team Rage 3D Folding My STATS
Audi2Honda is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 02:36 PM   #21
minaelromany
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Egypt Egypt.
Posts: 4,655
minaelromany can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyminaelromany can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Crawdaddy79
There is no difference in static screenshots between Quality and Performance Anisotropic Filtering..


There is in motion however, in very rare cases where you are moving along a very busy texture you'll see horizontal lines (or 'Banding') in Performance mode, but wont in Quality.

The only place I remember where this happened was in Postal 2, in one of the stores in the Mall with red carpeting. I've seen it a couple of other times, but nothing drastic.


In the Pre-9500 series of cards, there is no performance/quality AF... Just one setting (and in the IGP 340M it is only 16x or application preferrence..just a checkbox.. no slider.).

However, there IS a Performance/Quality Anti Aliasing settings...

Here is my comparison of the 340M's AA modes (Return to Castle Wolfenstein, 16-bit color).

2x Performance AA

2x Quality AA

4x Performance AA

4x Quality AA

Exactly ,

There is big difference between Quality and Performance in motion , It is very clear in Fifa 2004 for example .
__________________
Xeon W3680 @4.62GHz with Noctua NH-D14
Asus Rampage III Extreme
12GB Triple Channel G.SKILL RipjawsZ DDR3 2400MHz 10-12-11-30-2T
SAPPHIRE Radeon R9 290 4GB Vapor-X OC 1.1GHz/5.2GHz GDDR5
3 BenQ 2420HD 1080p 24" Widescreen LCD in Eyefinity
Samsung 840 EVO 250GB SSD + 30.0TB of HDDs
Sound Blaster Z -Cambridge SoundWorks DTT 3500 Digital
Seasonic X-850
2xBenq 1640 - LiteOn iHAS120-Pioneer 111L - Samsung 203B - NEC Optiarc AD-7200S DVD+/-RW burners
NZXT Phantom Red Edition
minaelromany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 13, 2004, 04:28 PM   #22
TimothyB
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: California
Posts: 3,200
TimothyB is still being judged by the masses


Default

Performance is Bilinear and Quality is Trilinear. Triinear blends the mipmap changes togethor, removing the horizontal lines you see with bilinear. So other than that there is no quality difference. And in most cases you won't see those lines in bilinear. But in something like a racing game, because you got the long flat road textures, the lines become more obviouse and quality helps remove that.

Also, yeah, once you hit 8X AF, it's really hard to tell a difference with 16x, unless you take a screenshot into photoshop, have a specific game that has sharp patterns on a long flat surface, and then magnify the image 400% to see anything.
__________________
Barton 2500+ (185*11.5) 2127mhz
Asus A7N8X Rev 2.0 1005bios
2x512mb Geil DDR3200 6-3-3-2 Dual
Thermalright slk-800-u heatsink
Antec True 430watt
Leadtek 6800 128mb at 400/850
Compro Videomate TV/FM Gold Plus
Maxtor IDE pci card, Audigy 1
HDs WD, 3x80gig, 60gig, 30gig
http://www.toonguru.com/
TimothyB is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Difference between Quality and Performance? logical AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 Nov 4, 2004 08:28 AM
For those who can't see a difference between 8x Performance AF and 16x Quality AF... Crawdaddy79 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 31 Jun 18, 2003 05:57 PM
What is the difference between Performance & Quality? Cavicchi AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 4 Aug 11, 2002 10:15 PM
fsaa, quality and performance...what's the difference in the 2? easyrider Radeon Technical Support 2 Apr 30, 2002 01:07 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:38 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink