Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2010, 09:41 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Djinn
Rage3D Fixture
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Warminster, PA USA
Posts: 31,707
Djinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default USB Mouse problems - Win7-64bit

So here's what's going on... I have a Microsoft Intellimouse Optical. Nothing fancy. It's a nice USB mouse, and I've gotten used to the size and shape.

When using my computer, the mouse will frequently freeze for roughly one second, then return to normal. If I moved the mouse during that second, the command is related to the application (or game) afterwards, so I'm suddenly facing the wrong way in FEAR or something. These freezes never last more than one second. This is independent of applications... it happens during games, and while browsing files in the OS.

And perhaps once or twice a day, the mouse shuts down completely. The optical light underneath the mouse turns off, and the only way to fix it is to unplug the mouse from the USB socket, and plug it back in again.

I've researched the problem at length with little success. Here's what I've learned/tried:

1) I installed the latest drivers from Microsoft.

2) I tried plugging the mouse into a different USB port.

3) I ruled out the possibility of a loose connection.

4) I went into the Device Manager, and configured the Power Management for each USB Root Hub to NOT allow the computer to turn off the device to save power. Surprisingly, these settings were automatically negated until...

5) I went into Power Options, and specified High Performance. I then went into the plan settings, then Advanced Power Settings, and under USB settings, I disabled "USB selective suspend settings." This didn't fix the problem, but it allowed my changes from #2 to stick.

6) I'm not using an external USB hub for my mouse, or for anything else. I have many USB devices plugged into my computer, but none of them are plugged into an external hub.

Any ideas? Is it likely that replacing the mouse (and driver) with a non-Microsoft brand will fix the problem? Or is it something that's probably going to affect any USB mouse I plug into my system?
__________________
"The history of intellectual progress is written in the lives of infidels."

- Robert Ingersoll (1833 - 1899)

Last edited by Djinn : Jun 1, 2010 at 01:41 PM.
Djinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 10:30 AM   #2
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djinn View Post
So here's what's going on... I have a Microsoft Intellimous Optical. Nothing fancy. It's a nice USB mouse, and I've gotten used to the size and shape.

When using my computer, the mouse will frequently freeze for roughly one second, then return to normal. If I moved the mouse during that second, the command is related to the application (or game) afterwards, so I'm suddenly facing the wrong way in FEAR or something. These freezes never last more than one second. This is independent of applications... it happens during games, and while browsing files in the OS.

And perhaps once or twice a day, the mouse shuts down completely. The optical light underneath the mouse turns off, and the only way to fix it is to unplug the mouse from the USB socket, and plug it back in again.

I've researched the problem at length with little success. Here's what I've learned/tried:

1) I installed the latest drivers from Microsoft.

2) I tried plugging the mouse into a different USB port.

3) I ruled out the possibility of a loose connection.

4) I went into the Device Manager, and configured the Power Management for each USB Root Hub to NOT allow the computer to turn off the device to save power. Surprisingly, these settings were automatically negated until...

5) I went into Power Options, and specified High Performance. I then went into the plan settings, then Advanced Power Settings, and under USB settings, I disabled "USB selective suspend settings." This didn't fix the problem, but it allowed my changes from #2 to stick.

6) I'm not using an external USB hub for my mouse, or for anything else. I have many USB devices plugged into my computer, but none of them are plugged into an external hub.

Any ideas? Is it likely that replacing the mouse (and driver) with a non-Microsoft brand will fix the problem? Or is it something that's probably going to affect any USB mouse I plug into my system?
My original Intellimouse optical that was about a decade old just kicked the bucket last month. I have never had any brand of mouse last that long. It started dying with many of the same symptoms you are experiencing.

Try a different brand if you like but if you got a new MS mouse it should be fine as well. I'm brutal with my mice so the fact it lasted so long means something. the second longest lasting was a logitech MX500 at 3 years.

I also never load the software as it's just extra bloat that is not needed and in the day and age of realtime DPI control on the hardware itself, I see no point.
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 10:30 AM   #3
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Options 4 & 5 were the ones that helped when I had similar issues. If you set PowerPlan to High Performance does it still do it? It does sound like dying hardware, though.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 1, 2010, 10:34 AM   #4
Djinn
Rage3D Fixture
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Warminster, PA USA
Posts: 31,707
Djinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Ok... I'll dig up a replacement Intellimouse then. I seriously hope it's just dying hardware.
__________________
"The history of intellectual progress is written in the lives of infidels."

- Robert Ingersoll (1833 - 1899)
Djinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 11:50 AM   #5
nycdarkness
ಠ_ಠ
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: China NYC
Posts: 8,341
nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

1st thing I would of tried is another mouse to the same usb port.
__________________
Under construction


nycdarkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 01:20 PM   #6
FrancoisC
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada Montréal
Posts: 255
FrancoisC is still being judged by the masses


Default

My girlfriend has the exact same mouse and the same problem... maybe it's related to a windows update driver or something...?

Her PC is on Windows 7 x64 too.

Edit: same freeze, but no turning off
FrancoisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 01:41 PM   #7
Djinn
Rage3D Fixture
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Warminster, PA USA
Posts: 31,707
Djinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

From Amazon reviews for the Intellimouse Optical:

Quote:
I have had this mouse for four years, and only now I am seeing small issues occur. Ever since I bought it, this mouse has had skip-free performance and is very usefull in games. My only problem now, however, is that my mouse is starting to die on me. Every once and a while the mouse freezes up on me when I then unplug it from the back of my PC and plug it back in. This is annoying because I have to reach pretty far back there and I can't see back there. That is why I am now buying a new Logitech Chordless Optical mouse.
Quote:
There is also at least one "known issue" with this mouse--sometimes the mouse will freeze for no reason. After a few weeks of rebooting my computer to get the mouse working again, I finally found the solution--stop using the mouse with the USB connection, and use the little green adapter that came with it instead.
__________________
"The history of intellectual progress is written in the lives of infidels."

- Robert Ingersoll (1833 - 1899)
Djinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 03:09 PM   #8
Windows7Guy
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 2
Windows7Guy is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djinn View Post
So here's what's going on... I have a Microsoft Intellimouse Optical. Nothing fancy. It's a nice USB mouse, and I've gotten used to the size and shape.

When using my computer, the mouse will frequently freeze for roughly one second, then return to normal. If I moved the mouse during that second, the command is related to the application (or game) afterwards, so I'm suddenly facing the wrong way in FEAR or something. These freezes never last more than one second. This is independent of applications... it happens during games, and while browsing files in the OS.

And perhaps once or twice a day, the mouse shuts down completely. The optical light underneath the mouse turns off, and the only way to fix it is to unplug the mouse from the USB socket, and plug it back in again.

I've researched the problem at length with little success. Here's what I've learned/tried:

1) I installed the latest drivers from Microsoft.

2) I tried plugging the mouse into a different USB port.

3) I ruled out the possibility of a loose connection.

4) I went into the Device Manager, and configured the Power Management for each USB Root Hub to NOT allow the computer to turn off the device to save power. Surprisingly, these settings were automatically negated until...

5) I went into Power Options, and specified High Performance. I then went into the plan settings, then Advanced Power Settings, and under USB settings, I disabled "USB selective suspend settings." This didn't fix the problem, but it allowed my changes from #2 to stick.

6) I'm not using an external USB hub for my mouse, or for anything else. I have many USB devices plugged into my computer, but none of them are plugged into an external hub.

Any ideas? Is it likely that replacing the mouse (and driver) with a non-Microsoft brand will fix the problem? Or is it something that's probably going to affect any USB mouse I plug into my system?
Hello there,
Have you checked compatibility?
Just an FYI for you.
It is always best to check with the software manufacturer FIRST. They will tell you if they have tested the product and the version, as well as whether or not it will work with Windows 7.
Check out the Windows 7 Compatibility site: (There you will find out about hardware and software compatibilty.)
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/en-us/default.aspx
There is a pulldown from which you can choose "hardware" and "software".
There are also some great articles, instructional videos and such to help with your Windows 7 at our Springboard site:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/default.aspx
In any event a lot of the times, Vista drivers will work in lieu of Windows 7 drivers, however, it's not 100%!
As stated previously, it's best to have the Windows 7 certified drivers installed.
Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5 . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to check the threads available there for additional assitance and support.
Thanks again,
John M.
Microsoft Windows Client Support
Windows7Guy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 04:33 PM   #9
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Djinn View Post
From Amazon reviews for the Intellimouse Optical:
If you switch the mouse to PS2, do you lose anything by doing that? Like for installing higher polling rates or the like?
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 05:15 PM   #10
Djinn
Rage3D Fixture
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Warminster, PA USA
Posts: 31,707
Djinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows7Guy View Post
Hello there,
Have you checked compatibility?...
Thanks for the link - yes, the Microsoft Intellimouse Optical is compatible with Windows 7, as one might hope, considering they're both from Microsoft.

Ristogod: I saw the suggestion of plugging it into the PS/2 port, but my computer lacks such a port.

I've found a brand-new Intellimouse Optical and I've started using it. I'll report back in a day or two.
__________________
"The history of intellectual progress is written in the lives of infidels."

- Robert Ingersoll (1833 - 1899)
Djinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 05:28 PM   #11
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Windows7Guy View Post
Hello there,
Have you checked compatibility?
Just an FYI for you.
It is always best to check with the software manufacturer FIRST. They will tell you if they have tested the product and the version, as well as whether or not it will work with Windows 7.
Check out the Windows 7 Compatibility site: (There you will find out about hardware and software compatibilty.)
http://www.microsoft.com/windows/compatibility/en-us/default.aspx
There is a pulldown from which you can choose "hardware" and "software".
There are also some great articles, instructional videos and such to help with your Windows 7 at our Springboard site:
http://technet.microsoft.com/en-us/windows/default.aspx
In any event a lot of the times, Vista drivers will work in lieu of Windows 7 drivers, however, it's not 100%!
As stated previously, it's best to have the Windows 7 certified drivers installed.
Microsoft does have an official Windows 7 Support Forum located here http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5 . It is supported by product specialists as well as engineers and support teams. You may want to check the threads available there for additional assitance and support.
Thanks again,
John M.
Microsoft Windows Client Support
You sure copy paste that response a lot.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2010, 09:26 PM   #12
Djinn
Rage3D Fixture
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Warminster, PA USA
Posts: 31,707
Djinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

After several hours using the new MS Intellipoint Optical mouse, I haven't experienced the problem. I'm withholding celebrations for a day or two of further testing though.

Since I'm anal about keeping old e-mails, I searched my entire archive for references to "Intellimouse." Sure enough, I found an order shipment confirmation for my old MS-IO mouse from Cyberguys, dated 12/12/2006, so we're looking at about 3.5 years of regular use.
__________________
"The history of intellectual progress is written in the lives of infidels."

- Robert Ingersoll (1833 - 1899)
Djinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2010, 09:45 PM   #13
xNaquada
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 2,271
xNaquada is still being judged by the masses


Default

Did someone just spell cordless with an H??.....

god.....

ON TOPIC:

Sounds like its dying.
Plug in another mouse and see if the conditions are replicated first though.
xNaquada is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 08:21 AM   #14
Djinn
Rage3D Fixture
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States Warminster, PA USA
Posts: 31,707
Djinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete strangerDjinn once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Ok... I'm convinced. Replacing my 3.5 year-old Intellimouse Optical with a new Intellimouse Optical completely resolved the problem. It was not due to USB conflicts, power settings, or anything like that. Hope this thread helps someone in the future.
__________________
"The history of intellectual progress is written in the lives of infidels."

- Robert Ingersoll (1833 - 1899)
Djinn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2010, 01:59 PM   #15
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,940
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by xNaquada View Post
Did someone just spell cordless with an H??.....

god......
Amazon review. What did you expect?
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Cannot set 1680x1050 res on HD4350 with Win7 64bit! Shlomir Radeon Technical Support 9 May 1, 2011 11:24 PM
RTTP: Dungeon Siege - On Win7 64bit zizbuka PC Gaming 10 Apr 23, 2011 02:32 AM
Can't install CCC succesfully in win7 64bit titan_gx AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 2 Sep 3, 2010 05:46 PM
cheapest legal way to get Win7 HP 64bit? aviphysics General Software 9 Jun 26, 2010 02:39 PM
Link to DL 64bit Win7? Bires Operating Systems 6 Sep 24, 2009 09:52 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:23 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink