Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D)
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) Home of the Team Rage3D [email protected] project. Get [email protected] info, download information, and details on how to join the Team. Team Rage3D progress updates posted here daily.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 10, 2004, 04:59 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default [email protected] 5.xx Official Thread

Come and get it folks. Here is the new clients. Win98 support may have evaporated for graphical client. And I truly had problems installing it on Win98 machines. No major changes from the RC.
__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 05:02 PM   #2
Pr()ZaC
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Vandelay Industries
Posts: 16,729
Pr()ZaC is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Link!
Pr()ZaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 05:09 PM   #3
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default

__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 10, 2004, 05:11 PM   #4
Greasy
Raiding Curio's Stable
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 13,384
Greasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Thumbs up

Thanks for the heads up.
Greasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 05:41 PM   #5
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default

I really like the new interface. All sorts of cool info on it including which core is being used as well as timers for frames and for entire WU. I really like this.
__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 08:11 PM   #6
carramrod01
Come get a taste
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada a little to the left
Posts: 2,071
carramrod01 is still being judged by the masses


Default

If I install this right now will it erase the WU's I'm currently in the middle of?

Sorry, still newb to this
carramrod01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 08:16 PM   #7
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default

No, you will be fine. I have installed the new client on 7 machines so far and it picks right up where it was left off. That reminds me, I have another machine to go do.
__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 08:19 PM   #8
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

is there any real benefit? like performance wise?
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 09:31 PM   #9
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default

Here are the improvements. I would say that being able to use the new, big 5 meg units would be reason enough. Also, for console users, it now has a service installation option. Good stuff.

5.00:
- Collection server support. If a client finishes a work unit from
a Work server with this feature enabled, then if 2 upload
attempts to that server fail, the client will return to the
work unit to a Collection server. Pending credit will be given
for the unit, becoming final when the Work server comes back up
and verifies what the Collection server has received. All work
servers will eventually be associated with a Collection server,
and many already are.
- Configuration option to allow downloads and uploads greater
than 5 MB in size, which some new projects will require due
to the size of what they are simulating.
- [email protected] configuration option reworded to be "No deadline" option.
- Print executable name and launch directory to log.
- Fix for bug where queue slot could get stuck "Fetching"
- MyFolding links updated.
- Configuration option to pause work when the computer is using
battery power (for laptops).
- Behavior in response to a shutdown or logoff of the system should be
improved (exiting nicely).
- Console: Built in service installation support through Configuration, to
have the program automatically begin at machine startup. If one wishes, the
service can be further configured and interacted with through the Services
tool (GUI) that can be accessed through the Windows Settings (under
Administrative Tools in 2000/NT). The Sc command line tool may also be used.
There are known issues with the Net tool.
- GUI: Larger window size and more informative display.
- GUI: Screensaver configuration option.
- GUI: Print a message to FAHlog.txt when ask to network.
__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 10, 2004, 11:39 PM   #10
carramrod01
Come get a taste
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada a little to the left
Posts: 2,071
carramrod01 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Another quick newb question. How large on average is a WU are we talking a few MB here or just few hundred KB or what?
carramrod01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2004, 12:21 AM   #11
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,365
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Thumbs up

Hey guys!

Yes, v.5.00 official has been released (nice catch TheEmerys!).

Here is the official thread over at Folding-community.org:

http://forum.folding-community.org/viewtopic.php?t=8939

For those too lazy to click a link , here is the initial announcement:

Quote:
Originally Posted by G
Hi,
The v.5.00 client is now on the main download page for Windows and Linux. We'll turn to Macintosh now. Thanks go to all those who helped with testing and giving feedback, which is the main reason it's turned out well. The only changes from the Prerelease are that the release will not expire and that the Windows Console fixes an issue where certain methods of launching the program would result in an improper service install.

The full v.5 change log can be viewed by clicking on the appropriate version number link on the download page ( http://folding.stanford.edu/download.html ).

-Guha
Also, there may be some flag changes. The only one specified in the thread is that -forceSSE is no longer supported because SSE is now the default SIMD instruction set (previously the default for AMD CPUs was 3dNow!).

The official FAQ has not been updated, so stay tuned!

And please post any v.5.00 (and subsequent) issues, comments, etc in this thread so we can keep informed.

Thx!
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2004, 12:35 AM   #12
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carramrod01
Another quick newb question. How large on average is a WU are we talking a few MB here or just few hundred KB or what?
I believe the largest WU will be 5 megs in size. Pretty freaking big, to me. But I'm 100 mbit everywhere, so no biggie.
__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2004, 11:42 AM   #13
Soulkrusha
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United States Suffolk, VA
Posts: 8,265
Soulkrusha is still being judged by the masses


Default

Nice !

Soulkrusha is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2004, 12:21 PM   #14
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,365
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Guys, if you're using Parisioa's service installer for your FAH needs (recommended!), do NOT use the one built-in to the new client. You will end up with multiple services installed.

If you have questions on this topic, please post them in this thread and either I or Parisioa will try to clarify things for you!
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2004, 05:59 PM   #15
Origin
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 595
Origin is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupine
Guys, if you're using Parisioa's service installer for your FAH needs (recommended!), do NOT use the one built-in to the new client. You will end up with multiple services installed.

If you have questions on this topic, please post them in this thread and either I or Parisioa will try to clarify things for you!
Sounds like you're recommending Parisioa's installer over the buil-in one. Care to share more of your experiences and why not to use Stanford's? If there's a lot of machines to take care of, this makes a big difference.
__________________
Intel P4 2.4C | Asus P4P800 | 2x256 Dual Channel PC3200 | Sapphire Radeon 9800np | Seagate 120 GB | LiteOn DVD/CD-RW Combo drive
Win2K / WinXP dual boot


Join Rage3D Folding!
Origin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2004, 10:58 PM   #16
carramrod01
Come get a taste
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Canada a little to the left
Posts: 2,071
carramrod01 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Do I uninstall FAH 4.0 before installing 5 or just install 5 over 4? Thanks.
carramrod01 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 11, 2004, 11:01 PM   #17
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default

I always uninstall. Less chance of something conflicting. You also won't lose any work, so just go right ahead and get it going. You are wasting cycles, man!

Wow, I started a thread that has been stickied. Color me special.
__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2004, 02:41 AM   #18
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,365
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Origin
Sounds like you're recommending Parisioa's installer over the buil-in one. Care to share more of your experiences and why not to use Stanford's? If there's a lot of machines to take care of, this makes a big difference.
No, it's just that Parisioa knows where I live ...

I prefer Parisioa's installer for multi-system deployment at this time because I can tweak it to my specific needs and deploy it more quickly.

Tweaking - I install the client several different ways, depending on the specific situation. For example, I run it in a different directory (d:\fah at home, \win32\fah at lab) with different flags (actually, that will now change due to the elimination of the -forceSSE flag) on my home boxes (AMD) than at the lab (Intel). As such, I have two separate copies of the installer on a USB drive. Play and Play baby!

Quick Deploy - If I tried to use my USB drive with the current version of the Stanford installer, It would install onto my USB drive and the service would point to the USB drive as well. With Parisioa's installer, I don't need to do the initial run from the intended destination. This eliminates having to copy the client onto each computer prior to install.

So, the new Stanford installer is FANTASTIC for what it is, but it simply doesn't work as well as what I'm already using. But that certainly doesn't mean that it won't work perfectly for others with different needs.
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2004, 02:44 AM   #19
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,365
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by carramrod01
Do I uninstall FAH 4.0 before installing 5 or just install 5 over 4? Thanks.
For the console version, I simply stop the service, delete the old core, and copy the new into the FAH directory, making sure the new core has the same name as the old (I always rename the core FAH.exe).
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2004, 11:51 AM   #20
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupine
For the console version, I simply stop the service, delete the old core, and copy the new into the FAH directory, making sure the new core has the same name as the old (I always rename the core FAH.exe).
just make sure you are using the latest version (its not [email protected] 5, still [email protected] 4 but i updated it last week to work a little bit better)
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2004, 12:44 PM   #21
kovenant
Catalyst Forever
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Hellas
Posts: 708
kovenant is still being judged by the masses


ATI Technologies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Parisioa
just make sure you are using the latest version (its not [email protected] 5, still [email protected] 4 but i updated it last week to work a little bit better)
nice, thanx and goodnight

kov
__________________
P4 H/T 3000 @ 3750 MHZ, Thermalright SLK-900U + Thermaltake SmartFan II
ABIT IC7-Max3, KINGSTON DDR-SDRAM PC3200 1024MB (5:4, 1.550v, 2.80v, 1.65v)
ANTEC plusview 1000AMG EU/ATX case 5 fans, PSU 400W
SAPPHIRE 9800XT 128 Hynix 2.8, Arctic Cooling VGA Silencer, 8 ramsinks
398/350 @ 450/396 Mhz Original Gecube.9800XT.128MB.Hynix28 bios
Catalyst CatchX.X, winXP SP2, atitool, systool
kovenant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2004, 03:31 PM   #22
raptora12
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States under the sky
Posts: 862
raptora12 is still being judged by the masses


Default Forcesse Nolonger Works With [email protected] 5

WHAT SHOULD A AMD USER USE?
__________________
AMD PHENOM 2 X4 945 3.0 GHZ

8 GB DDR2-800
640 GB RAID 0 WESTERN DIGITAL 7200rpm SATA/300
SAPPHIRE HD 7770 GHz Edition 1GB GDDR5
BLU-RAY WRITER & LIGHTSCRIBE SUPERMULTI DVD BURNER
BLU-RAY ROM
SOUNDBLASTER X-FI TITANIUM
MEMORYCARDREADER
SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER 2243
raptora12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 12, 2004, 03:38 PM   #23
raptora12
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States under the sky
Posts: 862
raptora12 is still being judged by the masses


Default Sorry Old News

__________________
AMD PHENOM 2 X4 945 3.0 GHZ

8 GB DDR2-800
640 GB RAID 0 WESTERN DIGITAL 7200rpm SATA/300
SAPPHIRE HD 7770 GHz Edition 1GB GDDR5
BLU-RAY WRITER & LIGHTSCRIBE SUPERMULTI DVD BURNER
BLU-RAY ROM
SOUNDBLASTER X-FI TITANIUM
MEMORYCARDREADER
SAMSUNG SYNCMASTER 2243
raptora12 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2004, 02:00 PM   #24
BigDaddyLugNutz
Bolt action rifle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Hollywood, CA
Posts: 668
BigDaddyLugNutz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just switched to 5.0 -forceSSE is not recognised. Will this result in decreased performance? Thanks
__________________
Hokey religions and ancient rituals are no match for a good blaster at your side...
BigDaddyLugNutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2004, 02:08 PM   #25
mad
:mad:
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Austria Austria
Posts: 4,028
mad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled withmad is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BigDaddyLugNutz
Just switched to 5.0 -forceSSE is not recognised. Will this result in decreased performance? Thanks
no, SSE is now default, so there is no need to force it any longer...
__________________

"Programming today is a race between software engineers striving to build bigger and better idiot-proof programs and the universe trying to produce bigger and better idiots. So far, the universe is winning."

Richard Cook
mad is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2004, 05:20 PM   #26
BigDaddyLugNutz
Bolt action rifle
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Hollywood, CA
Posts: 668
BigDaddyLugNutz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thankyou M_A_D for lightning fast response.
__________________
Hokey religions and ancient rituals are no match for a good blaster at your side...
BigDaddyLugNutz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2004, 12:09 AM   #27
TheEmrys
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Canada Northern Colorado
Posts: 206
TheEmrys is still being judged by the masses


Default [email protected] 5.02 is out

Well, in my long and storied history of announcing new clients (this is number 2), I hearby declare that [email protected] version 5.02 has been released. The changes in this release are minimal. This is the only new fix/feature:

5.02:
- Error checking on queue, related to big packet option.


Come and get it here:

http://www.stanford.edu/group/[email protected]
__________________
"The one hope of the doomed is to not to hope for safety."
TheEmrys is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2004, 03:53 PM   #28
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,365
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Thanks for the update! I'll merge this with your original 5.00 thread after a few days.

Sure wish the client could auto-update itself ...
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 23, 2004, 11:19 PM   #29
el barto
Radon HD 8970
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 266
el barto is still being judged by the masses


Default

Anybody else having a problem with versions 5.00 and above crashing when you go to view the graphical agent?

El Barto
el barto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 24, 2004, 12:41 AM   #30
brujeria
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United States naples florida
Posts: 211
brujeria is still being judged by the masses


Default

yep, and it started out of the blue today, i upgraded to 5.02 and its still doing it, so i just leave it minimized to the taskbar and it works fine.

stikes me as odd for sure.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Pr()ZaC
No, your videocard is supposed to be engeneered to take all the stress and shut the hell up.
brujeria is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official HL2 Thread KingRoLo PC Gaming 5 Sep 13, 2003 12:30 PM
The Official "Random Phrase from Off-topic Thread Titles" thread! _leech_ Off Topic Lounge 17 May 22, 2003 08:40 AM
Official ETA thread The Guardian AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 145 Oct 17, 2001 02:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:55 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink