Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 1, 2003, 11:42 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Snipester
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 156
Snipester is still being judged by the masses


Default Slowdowns in Freelancer

I get slow downs in the buy weapons screen at any location anywhere. It gets so slow it looks like its going 1-2 fps and the mouse lags like crazy. It doesn't happen in the buy commodoties screen. What could be the problem??

Gameplay is stuttery when the cruise engines are activation..

the engine emits a bright white/yellow light with gas like stuff comming out the back... Could it be the "smoke" slowing it down??

And when your going through the portals it can get slow a bit..


Anyone else get these problems?
I think I have 2xAA and 16X ansio on
__________________
Pentium-M Dothan [email protected]
ASUS P4P800SE w/ CT-479
Hynix 1gig [email protected]
ATI 9600 64mb
Samsung SyncMaster 955DF
LG 4040B
Lite-On 24x10x40x
Logitech Z5200
Snipester is offline  
Old Mar 1, 2003, 12:57 PM   #2
Reaper 69
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 20
Reaper 69 is still being judged by the masses


Default

try turning down your hardware accel 1 notch. it solved a stuttering prob i had. everything running smooth after i did that
__________________
biostar m7ncd pro
[email protected](12.5x177)
1gb crucial 2700 duel channel
hercules 9800 pro,stock
watercooled by innvaotek
Reaper 69 is offline  
Old Mar 1, 2003, 01:31 PM   #3
Dumbo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: UK
Posts: 13
Dumbo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Change your display settings to performance and see if that makes any difference.

Dumbo
Dumbo is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 1, 2003, 02:37 PM   #4
drinkingsilk
Newbie
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: VA, USA
Posts: 19
drinkingsilk is still being judged by the masses


Default

The problem you're having is listed under known issues in the readme file for the game:

Performance Issue with ATI Radeon text display
Freelancer Trial Version can experience performance slow downs when a large amount of text is printed or updated on screen. The work around for this issue is to back off your Windows hardware acceleration settings by one notch in Settings\Control Panel\Display\Settings\Advanced. Once in this menu, you will either see Performance tab or Troubleshoot tab. Future ATI drivers may fix this problem, as they are aware of this issue.
drinkingsilk is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GTA 3 Slowdowns bOb32 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 6 Aug 11, 2003 06:40 AM
slowdowns bounty_hunter General Hardware 2 Mar 15, 2003 04:00 AM
Woohooo no more UT slowdowns ! PiT AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 5 Feb 3, 2002 05:37 PM
Slowdowns in UT 1madman1 Radeon Technical Support 10 Aug 29, 2001 08:46 AM
FF7 PC Fmv Slowdowns..... Super Mario Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 6 Jul 19, 2000 07:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:22 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink