Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Software
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Software Anything software that is not operating system related goes here. Talk about the latest applications or discuss betas of upcoming products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 12, 2019, 08:16 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default BSOD Help. hal.dll + ntoskrnl.exe

I'm remotely troubleshooting my dads new laptop, an Alienware 17 R5.
I set it up for him at Christmas for VR gaming, and had no issues. As soon as he got it home and hooked it up, he got a very consistent "DRIVER_VERIFIER_DMA_VIOLATION" BSOD after about 15 minutes gaming. Seems stable otherwise.

I have updated the Nvidia drivers, along with the audio, chipset, wireless, bluetooth, and everything else I could think of. I also updated BIOS to the latest update, and ran the funky "full dell system scan" which is how I identified the BIOS update previously mentioned. No change in the BSOD.

Blue Screen View identified hal.dll and ntoskrnl.exe as the causes.
==================================================
Dump File : 013119-12312-01.dmp
Crash Time : 1/31/2019 12:59:29 PM
Bug Check String : DRIVER_VERIFIER_DMA_VIOLATION
Bug Check Code : 0x000000e6
Parameter 1 : 00000000`00000026
Parameter 2 : ffff800f`0e5ba060
Parameter 3 : 00000000`00000200
Parameter 4 : 00000000`00000006
Caused By Driver : hal.dll
Caused By Address : hal.dll+3c4bb
File Description :
Product Name :
Company :
File Version :
Processor : x64
Crash Address : ntoskrnl.exe+1aa0c0
Stack Address 1 :
Stack Address 2 :
Stack Address 3 :
Computer Name :
Full Path : C:\Windows\Minidump\013119-12312-01.dmp
Processors Count : 12
Major Version : 15
Minor Version : 17134
Dump File Size : 2,901,876
Dump File Time : 1/31/2019 1:00:35 PM
==================================================

And here is a link to a zip with the dmp files. (I included the last five, but they are all very similar).
https://www.dropbox.com/s/7ucgi8x6tx...idump.zip?dl=0

All help is greatly appreciated. This is about the time I would usually wipe and reinstall, but I'm about 500 miles away right now. Thanks guys!
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2019, 08:32 AM   #2
Munkus
Hugged your dog lately?
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Big Sky Country
Posts: 23,547
Munkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

Have you tried a Windows startup repair?
https://www.lifewire.com/advanced-st...ptions-2625805

What about Memtest?
Scan the hard drive for errors?
Are you OCing? If so, reset to standard.

Next step would be to begin removing hardware and drivers one by one until you isolate the culprit.

Good luck. Remote troubleshooting is a PITA.
Munkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2019, 10:47 AM   #3
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

the Alienware tools did a memtest and hard drive scan (was actually surprised) and no errors.
No overclock.

Haven't done windows startup repair, dunno how I'd run that remotely.

Only thing I can think of is if Dad installed the joystick/throttle/rudder pedals into different USB ports. Dunno why that would make this happen though.

I don't know how to read the dmp files to any effect, hoping someone can so better track it down.
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 12, 2019, 10:52 AM   #4
Munkus
Hugged your dog lately?
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Big Sky Country
Posts: 23,547
Munkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A2597 View Post
the Alienware tools did a memtest and hard drive scan (was actually surprised) and no errors.
No overclock.

Haven't done windows startup repair, dunno how I'd run that remotely.

Only thing I can think of is if Dad installed the joystick/throttle/rudder pedals into different USB ports. Dunno why that would make this happen though.

I don't know how to read the dmp files to any effect, hoping someone can so better track it down.
Does it BSOD when the joystick isn't plugged in? Or just in a particular USB? The point is to eliminate all the variables one by one.
Munkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2019, 12:21 PM   #5
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,613
Mahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A2597 View Post
Only thing I can think of is if Dad installed the joystick/throttle/rudder pedals into different USB ports. Dunno why that would make this happen though.

What flight gear is he using?

Does the BSOD only happen with the flight gear plugged in (i.e. I know it would be boring but for science sake, could he load up a flight sim and just let it go on autopilot for 15-20 minutes for a test)?
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2019, 12:37 PM   #6
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

We can give it a go. Dunno if we can get him flying without the gear plugged in, but maybe.
He's using the Saitek Yoke and throttle, with Thrustmaster TFRP rudder pedals.
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2019, 05:24 PM   #7
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,743
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

*******************************************************************************
* *
* Bugcheck Analysis *
* *
*******************************************************************************

DRIVER_VERIFIER_DMA_VIOLATION (e6)
An illegal DMA operation was attempted by a driver being verified.
Arguments:
Arg1: 0000000000000026, Violation code.
Arg2: ffffae8a04226060
Arg3: 0000000000000200
Arg4: 0000000000000006

Debugging Details:
------------------

TRIAGER: Could not open triage file : e:\dump_analysis\program\triage\modclass.ini, error 2

CUSTOMER_CRASH_COUNT: 1

DEFAULT_BUCKET_ID: WIN8_DRIVER_FAULT

BUGCHECK_STR: 0xE6

PROCESS_NAME: X-Plane.exe

CURRENT_IRQL: c
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 12, 2019, 05:31 PM   #8
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,743
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

Have we verified that the XPlane install is proper? Repaired or reinstalled perhaps?

Other external variables such as cooling, like is it sitting on a blanket and can't get airflow to the intakes?

If XPlane is causing some issue with HAL.dll, make sure the game is proper.

Also make sure some Alienware bloat didn't auto update something or prevent an update from taking.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2019, 08:08 AM   #9
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Xplane install is good. Also happens with DCS.
Reinstalled x-plane (to a different hard drive even) with same issue.
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2019, 11:08 AM   #10
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,613
Mahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled with


Default

IMO, I think it's something with the flight gear drivers.
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2019, 04:29 PM   #11
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,743
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
IMO, I think it's something with the flight gear drivers.
That certainly would be the next round of elimination, however. Those drivers or at least the USB driver should show up in the mem dump at least once. I didn't see it in those 5 provided.

Next easy things to check out are overheating/airflow. Otherwise you may likely end up having to take a road trip.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2019, 09:44 PM   #12
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,613
Mahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by VW_Factor View Post
That certainly would be the next round of elimination, however. Those drivers or at least the USB driver should show up in the mem dump at least once. I didn't see it in those 5 provided.
Dump files, unfortunately don't always show the cause. They do show the result.

I will say, many many years ago, I used to have all sorts of headaches with Saitek drivers. I no longer use any of their devices so I don't know the current state of their QA.
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 13, 2019, 09:58 PM   #13
VW_Factor
ÜBERVERBOTEN!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Germany Leesburg, GA
Posts: 21,743
VW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwardsVW_Factor can recite pi backwards


Default

I'm not going to discount the possibility, because reasons..

I've not seen a driver/device such as a USB cause a HAL crash without being included in the dump.

Again certainly doesn't mean that its not possible as the reports aren't always complete, but I have seen things show up as USB Root hub and such in the report. While not specifically showing the device, at least was able to start USB troubleshooting like removing devices or upgrading/downgrading USB drivers/chipset drivers and the like.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Redeemed
Granted, this is coming from the fella' who's had over 1,000lbs of bucking muscle under neath him.
Quote:
Originally Posted by John Smith
"Fail" = verb "Failure" = noun
VW_Factor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2019, 12:12 PM   #14
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,613
Mahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
Does the BSOD only happen with the flight gear plugged in (i.e. I know it would be boring but for science sake, could he load up a flight sim and just let it go on autopilot for 15-20 minutes for a test)?
Quote:
Originally Posted by VW_Factor View Post
While not specifically showing the device, at least was able to start USB troubleshooting like removing devices or upgrading/downgrading USB drivers/chipset drivers and the like.
That is basically my suggestion.. First step of troubleshooting, eliminate what is not the problem.

However, given the same problem happens with two different flight sims; there are only two main things in common. The OS and the controllers which is why I suggested removing the controller for the test to eliminate one of the two variables.
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 14, 2019, 02:04 PM   #15
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I'm now making a trip down Sunday, so I'll be there in person to troubleshoot.
One issue with the laptop is number of USB ports. The Oculus demands 3 (Headset and two sensors) then you need more for all the periferals.

I had a single USB-C to USB3 adapter, but that left an entire USB-C port unused on the PC, and a lot of items plugged into a hub. So I'm bringing two USB-C to USB3 adapters to try an off load some of that.

I'll also try to fully remove the Saitek (Now Logitech, as they bought Saitek) and Thrustmaster drivers and re-install. See if that helps.

Will keep you updated, thanks!
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2019, 07:44 AM   #16
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Well... temps do get high. I7 got as high as 96*c under load.
Didn't crash. Kept watching. Temps dropped back to 80s.
Then BSOD. A good 5 minutes after peak temps. GPU temps were ok.
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.

Last edited by A2597 : Feb 19, 2019 at 08:02 AM.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2019, 11:17 AM   #17
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,613
Mahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Were those during flight sim play or were you using a load tester like 3DMark?
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 19, 2019, 01:18 PM   #18
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Flight sim play.
I should not that I maxed everything out to put as much load on the system as possible to try and force a crash sooner.

Today, been doing process of ellimination. Last night my main test was "Will it crash during active pause", to which the answer was "yes".
So today, loaded up same flight as last night, flew to same location and active pause (so I don't have to sit and wait, can do other things).

Just laptop, NO periferals. 90 minutes later, no crash.
Added yoke and throttle. 90 minutes, no crash.

Now doing Oculus + 1 sensor, so far 45 minutes in with no crash.
Next test will be a control test, EVERYTHING hooked up, see if it crashes. If it doesn't, then I'll really be confused.

EDIT: update:
Running everything = BSOD within 5 minutes.
I had the Thrustmaster Pedals hooked up into the T.Flight Throttle, so ran the pedals direct (removed TM throttle) BSOD within 10 minutes.

Now running it with a single Oculus sensor, see if that crashes. (I do know Oculus sensors chew through a lot of USB bandwidth, and do not like being on a HUB with other devices, so I have a hunch that might be it).
If THIS crashes, then I'll do two sensors with no pedals at all. If that works, then we'll know it's the Thrustmaster pedals. (But still betting it's running two oculus sensors)

Edit Update Again:
That crashed. Removed pedals, added second sensor. BSOD.
Now repeating last test but in different USB ports. (Two sensors, Yoke+Throttle, no TM pedals)

Edit AGAIN:
So it's an either or scenario. If the pedals are plugged in? Crash. If two sensors are in, Crash.

Feeling like it's a USB Bandwidth issue. can that cause a DMA Driver error?
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.

Last edited by A2597 : Feb 19, 2019 at 03:15 PM.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2019, 09:12 AM   #19
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

So, looks to be either a USB Bandwidth, or USB Power issue.
By plugging everything in to different ports (Guessing which ports are on the same hub internally) it works. No BSODs, just works.

So, going to get a powered USB HUB to see if that resolves it when things are plugged in differently again, but I think it's OK for now.
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2019, 10:05 AM   #20
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 9,613
Mahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled withMahjik is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Interesting. I never had crashes from USB issues, but then again I wasn't using flight gear so not directly apples to apples. In my situations, the device would just disappear from Windows randomly until I got a better USB hub.

I'm using one similar to this (mine is much older):

https://www.bhphotovideo.com/c/produ...37;3A514&smp=Y

BTW, not sure that specific one is powered but you definitely do want a powered one.

Basically, I wanted the ability to power down ports without unplugging gear. Unfortunately, most Unity games only work when a single gaming device is plugged in and I cannot unplug all of my sim racing gear all the time. With that powered USB hub, I can just power down my sim racing devices easily to play those other gaming titles.
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 20, 2019, 07:20 PM   #21
NWR_Midnight
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: United States Under the Sun
Posts: 3,513
NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'NWR_Midnight once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A2597 View Post
So, looks to be either a USB Bandwidth, or USB Power issue.
By plugging everything in to different ports (Guessing which ports are on the same hub internally) it works. No BSODs, just works.

So, going to get a powered USB HUB to see if that resolves it when things are plugged in differently again, but I think it's OK for now.
Some devices don't like usb hubs, specially VR devices.

You can check how much power each device draws in the device manager under usb controllers (it's one of the tabs when you click on the usb hubs etc.) I believe the max voltage per hub is 500mv (i am referring to the usb hubs built into the motherboard) but I may be mistaken. Most but not all usb devices generally draw 100mv, so you will obviously need to add up all the devices connected to that one hub and make sure they don't total more than the 500mv. That is if a powered usb hub doesn't work for you.
__________________
I speak my mind! if you can't handle that, you might want to leave, because **** is going to get real!!

~I had the right to remain silent, I just didn't have the ability. ~ Ron White
~You can't fix Stupid! ~ Ron White
~There's not a pill you can take; there's not a class you can go to. - ~Stupid is forever. ~ Ron White
~Life is a hard teacher, it gives you the test before it teaches you the lesson.
~It's never to late to have a good childhood! The older you are, the better the toys! ~ My Dad
~Live everyday as though it is your last, it can all end at any moment!

Last edited by NWR_Midnight : Feb 20, 2019 at 07:26 PM.
NWR_Midnight is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 24, 2019, 11:03 AM   #22
koralis
Radeon 5850
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,495
koralis once held a door open for a complete strangerkoralis once held a door open for a complete strangerkoralis once held a door open for a complete strangerkoralis once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by A2597 View Post

Feeling like it's a USB Bandwidth issue. can that cause a DMA Driver error?

Not the problem... from your earlier post:

Quote:
DRIVER_VERIFIER_DMA_VIOLATION (e6)
An illegal DMA operation was attempted by a driver being verified.
DMA is Direct Memory Access. Each port has an IO space. When you're sharing on a hub, you're probably getting a shared space and one of the drivers doesn't do things properly and ASSUMING that it can do what it wants to... basically assuming that it doesn't have to coexist with other hardware in that IO space.

So, at least one device can't be on the hub because it's not doing things correctly.
__________________
A hobbiest foundry and forge in progress, plans, suppliers, showcasing ideas

Kcrucible - Playing with Fire
koralis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 26, 2019, 08:11 AM   #23
A2597
A Peculiar Person
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States Over Yonder Hill
Posts: 10,505
A2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird singsA2597 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Thanks, that actually helps clear things up a little.
What interesting is, the same devices were plugged into the external hub, which was just connected to a different internal hub.
__________________


But you are a chosen generation, a royal priesthood, an holy nation, a peculiar people; that you should show forth the praises of him who hath called you out of darkness into his marvellous light.
1 Peter 2:9

Quote:
Originally Posted by Vengeance View Post
:heart: I took a few weeks off, but Rage is like a home away from home.
A2597 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
BSOD fix:Atikmpag.sys,ntoskrnl.exe,usbport.sys Burn Radeon Technical Support 0 May 2, 2012 12:09 PM
ATI BSOD FIXED FINALLY. WILL HELP EVERYBODY with att3duag.dll BSOD. oscar3d Radeon Technical Support 0 Jul 23, 2007 05:37 PM
virus??? system32.dll and ntoskrnl.exe Napoleonic Operating Systems 10 Jun 20, 2007 06:01 AM
ntoskrnl.exe corrupt or missing Dungeoncrawler Operating Systems 4 Oct 19, 2005 08:01 AM
Windows XP ntoskrnl.exe corrupted and 'disk read error' WPFP Operating Systems 4 Apr 27, 2003 05:53 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:36 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink