Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support » AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and support forum for all of the All-In-Wonder Radeon cards, the TV-Wonder, Remote Wonder I and II, the new HDTV Wonder, and basically anything with VIVO support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 17, 2001, 07:03 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Uriel
Unbiased Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,829
Uriel is still being judged by the masses


Default still too large AVI-files

ok, so I use the MS MPEG4v3 codec
set at 100% crispness, 10 keyframe interval and 6000 kbps

I capture with MMC7.2 at 320*240 25 fps, 44khz 16 bit audio and get roughly a 60 MB file for 5 minutes
then I compress the audio using the Lame MPE3 codec at 128 kbps
and then I get a 20 MB AVI file as the result, and the quality isn't even that great (very avarage half-ass DVD-rip)
with WMA for DivX v2 audio codec the file gets down to 12 MBs at 64kbps 44khz but I can't hear any sound at all
same thing if I use the MS WMA audio codec v2, no sound

but still, the main problem is that the videofiles get too large
I can get

oops, just realised that I'm capturing a 5 minute AVI, not 1 minute hehehehe
that's pretty good 175 minutes on one 700 MB cd or 300 minutes if I manage to get that damn WMA for DivX v2 working, maybe the codec isn't registered properly for decoding just encoding?

ehh, is my math right
5 minutes is 12 MBs
700 Mbs divided by 12 Mbs is ~58, ~58 times 5 is 291
or
12 divided by 5 is 2.4, 700 Mbs divided by 2.4 is 291
damn I've always had an A in maths now I can't even get this right(?)

well that's freakking great, but the video isn't that great, maybe I should up the resolution?

and if anyone has a solution for WMA for DivX or the ordinary WMA codec I'd be greatful

well, enough ranting
__________________
lol
Uriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2001, 06:59 AM   #2
filipcza
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 25
filipcza is still being judged by the masses


Smile

I didn't check your math, but if you are capping from TV or tape, then there is probably noise, which will degrade the result. I would do this to get the best possible result:

1. capture in larger resolution, preferably using huffyuv(need a lot of diskspace, but you should use this, because it's lossless)
2. use some filters to get rid of the noise
3. crop any borders there might be(those degrade result)
4. resize the video back to some acceptable resolution, depending on desired filesize(to be safe, the resolution should be multiple of 16)
5. encode to final video along with the audio

steps 2-4 can be done at once, at least in virtualDub.

Hope this helps
filipcza is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 20, 2001, 08:51 AM   #3
Uriel
Unbiased Geek
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Posts: 4,829
Uriel is still being judged by the masses


Default

any suggestion as to what I should set the noise filters level to?
in Virtual Dub that is
__________________
lol
Uriel is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 21, 2001, 02:18 AM   #4
filipcza
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Posts: 25
filipcza is still being judged by the masses


Default

I use smartsmoother at it default levels. I like this filter because it seems to take away noise and at the same time make the picture sharper, which is amazing. That filter must be downloaded from somewhere..sorry I don't remember where. Maybe you should go to virtualdub's home page and look in filters, there are some links to other filters. Some people use several noise reduction filters at once. So maybe you should read on this. There are quides to filters somewhere also. Sorry I can't be more specific.
filipcza is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
PS3 - Moving large media files Dreven Console Gaming 5 Jan 18, 2009 11:15 AM
Transfer large files over lan Payne3d [GenHardware] Networking [Archived] 9 Aug 30, 2007 10:33 AM
Sorry 'bout the large files RPunselie Radeon Technical Support 3 Apr 28, 2002 09:37 PM
mmc 7.5 and large mpeg2 files mindgarden AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 4 Jan 7, 2002 01:15 AM
Problem transfering large files over a LAN SuperSonic2K3 General Hardware 2 Jun 30, 2001 10:48 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:55 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink