Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2005, 09:42 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Utrion
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greece Hellas
Posts: 1,157
Utrion is still being judged by the masses


Default Will Souncards ever support Dual Cores?

I think that one of the most beneficial steps will be to get rid the sound processing from the main!!!!It may not be the most CPU hungry but sometimes i think it can take up to 10% of the speed !!!!
__________________
CPU :AMD [email protected] V:1.55-160 HTT 303 MEM:228 2x512MB (2.0-3-4-5) OCZ 3200EL Platinum rev2 +SI-120
BOARD :MSI-7125 K8 Neo 4 BIOS 1.C3 MODx
GFX :ATI X1800XT CAT X.X(BETA TESTER) 690/775
HDD0 :IBM Deathstar 40GB HDD1:Maxtor 160GB EIDE HDD2 Maxtor:7Y300FO
DVD-RW :NEC ND-2510A DL :)
DO YOU FIND BUGS ON YOUR SCREEN?IF YES HERE IS YOUR WAY TO DESTROY THEM//BUG-EATER
3Dmark2001se:34064 3Dmark03:18480 3Dmark05 v1:10011 3Dmark06:4989
Utrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 7, 2005, 10:36 PM   #2
Gun5
l0wr1d3R
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 2,724
Gun5 is still being judged by the masses


Default

its a pita at times not to much performance hit though
__________________
  • AMD Athlon 64 3000+ Venice @ 2655
  • 2 Gigs PC3200 Corsair TwinX XMS DDR
  • MSI K8N Neo4 Platinum
  • Saphire Radeon X1800 XL 256MB DDR @ 650/804
  • Creative Audigy 2 ZS - Logitech Z-640 5.1 Speakers
  • CenDyne DVD+R/RW 4x2x12
  • Western Digital 160 HDD w/ 8MB Cache
  • 3DMark2001se - 12775 3DMark2003 - 4860-old scores
Kazaa Lite 2.0.2 - Kazaa Hack 2.1 - PeerGuardian 1.96b - SmartFTP 1.0 - mIRC 6.03
Gun5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2005, 09:32 AM   #3
BY97
Banned
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1,496
BY97 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Utrion
I think that one of the most beneficial steps will be to get rid the sound processing from the main!!!!It may not be the most CPU hungry but sometimes i think it can take up to 10% of the speed !!!!
Since Audigy2 and later they have done onboard hardware audio processing.
BY97 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 8, 2005, 09:39 AM   #4
Ristogod
Semper Vigilare
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States MN
Posts: 13,226
Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Ristogod once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Eventually all things will try to support multiple core CPUs when possible.

So the answer to your question is "YES"
__________________
My Dealings
Ristogod is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2005, 09:55 AM   #5
Utrion
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Greece Hellas
Posts: 1,157
Utrion is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by BY97
Since Audigy2 and later they have done onboard hardware audio processing.
Still i am pretty sure the geometry or the first sound parameteres i am pretty sure they are been given by CPU's!!!
also with higher EAX the details that must be given are even higher so it will help!!aslo when you enable full sound effects your average fpos isnt constant cause this would ment that the Soundcard really does all the job but they are much like 10% slower than without sound so this means the CPU losses 10% of his power working with data that the soundcard recieves
__________________
CPU :AMD [email protected] V:1.55-160 HTT 303 MEM:228 2x512MB (2.0-3-4-5) OCZ 3200EL Platinum rev2 +SI-120
BOARD :MSI-7125 K8 Neo 4 BIOS 1.C3 MODx
GFX :ATI X1800XT CAT X.X(BETA TESTER) 690/775
HDD0 :IBM Deathstar 40GB HDD1:Maxtor 160GB EIDE HDD2 Maxtor:7Y300FO
DVD-RW :NEC ND-2510A DL :)
DO YOU FIND BUGS ON YOUR SCREEN?IF YES HERE IS YOUR WAY TO DESTROY THEM//BUG-EATER
3Dmark2001se:34064 3Dmark03:18480 3Dmark05 v1:10011 3Dmark06:4989
Utrion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2005, 11:56 AM   #6
DaJMasta
Baffoonist
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States Silver Spring, Maryland
Posts: 14,273
DaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badgesDaJMasta doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Utrion
Still i am pretty sure the geometry or the first sound parameteres i am pretty sure they are been given by CPU's!!!
also with higher EAX the details that must be given are even higher so it will help!!aslo when you enable full sound effects your average fpos isnt constant cause this would ment that the Soundcard really does all the job but they are much like 10% slower than without sound so this means the CPU losses 10% of his power working with data that the soundcard recieves
I may not have understood your post correctly, but....

Generally, even when using EAX and high sound detail, a sound card like the Audigy 2 will use less than 10% of the total CPU power. Most onboard solutions while running EAX 1 or 2, or 3d sound, do not use more than 15% of a single core CPU. Also, unless your system is CPU limited, a card requiring 10% of the total performance will not drop your framerate by 10%.

There is some benifit to having a sound card using both cores, but I see this as something not as necissairy as for other applications, and though it will happen eventually, I wouldn't expect it soon. If you are really concerned about performance, try setting affinity for your audio tasks to one core and the game's affinity to the other, this will give you more single-core performance for the game because it will not have to deal with the sound on the same core.

For now at least, there will be a much more significant performance gain when games are programmed to take advantage of dual cores, if nothing else simply because they use up much more CPU power.

Depending on the card, and the drivers, there will be different CPU usage percentages, but most of the audio processing is done on a sound card and not through the CPU, that's why you can have more sound detail and effects but without increasing CPU usage by much, or decreasing it from a previous generation.
__________________
Desktop: Intel Core i7 7770k : 16GB EVGA DDR4 2400 : Gigabyte GTX 1070 Ti Windforce X2 : Gigabyte GA-H270-WIFI : AudioQuest DragonFly DAC : Samsung SM961 NVMe 1TB SSD : Corsair Builder 500W PSU : Samsung 1440p 32" Monitor : Klipsch Promedia 2.1 : Windows 10 Pro x64
Tablet: Microsoft Surface Pro 4 : Intel Core i5-6300U : 8GB DDR3 : Intel 520 Integrated : 256GB SSD : 12.3" 2736x1824 display : Windows 10 Pro x64
HTPC: Intel Core i3 3225 : HD 4000 integrated : 8GB Samsung DDR3 1600 : Gigabyte H77N-Wifi : 120GB Sandisk Extreme SSD : 80W power brick and picoPSU150 XT : Integrated HD Audio : Scepter 32" LCD TV : Logitech Z313 2.1 : Windows 7 Pro x64


DaJMasta is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
VMware Player 3.0.1 update removes 8 cores support? Lupine Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 0 Mar 7, 2010 11:07 AM
Windows 7 Boasts Better Multi-Core, Support for up to 256 Cores Android1 Front Page News 0 Oct 13, 2009 02:53 PM
Getting the most from dual-cores Djinn General Hardware 1 Apr 28, 2006 11:06 AM
Inform me about dual cores scottweil4nd General Hardware 1 Sep 7, 2004 10:49 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:56 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink