Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support » AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and support forum for all of the All-In-Wonder Radeon cards, the TV-Wonder, Remote Wonder I and II, the new HDTV Wonder, and basically anything with VIVO support.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 28, 2007, 03:00 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default Vista Media Center + Theater 550 combo questions

Okay, it feels like I'm relearning my multimedia basics all over again. I'm still a total noob to Media Center and it's functions. I'm already in love with it, that much is sure. Unlike Power Cinema, it works flawlessly, never crashes, I like that. But how does one go about setting up additional codec support in it? I've noticed all my Divx/Xvid and most other codecs work in it just fine for playback, but I have not figured out how to set which of those codecs it uses for recording Live TV. Also cannot seem to get it to recognize .mkv files for playback. I still have alot to learn about it, but once I overcome these last little obstacles, I'll have completely migrated my media viewing/listening/enjoyment over to a single app instead of having to use 3 different programs to view various media types with.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2007, 10:27 PM   #2
Steve N
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada Toronto, ON
Posts: 234
Steve N is still being judged by the masses


Default

Try http://www.softella.com/dsfm/index.en.htm but be carefull with it, try just changing one at a time so you can go back if it screws up.
Steve N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 28, 2007, 11:33 PM   #3
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Does this have a way of attaching specific codecs to specific apps? The reason is, I can play the .mkv files in Media Player Classic and even in Media Player, but Media Center just doesn't see it as a valid media file.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 29, 2007, 03:38 PM   #4
Steve N
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Canada Toronto, ON
Posts: 234
Steve N is still being judged by the masses


Default

The way I understand it, Media Center will grab the first codec in the list that it finds. If you move a particular codec up the list, that gets priority. You want to be cautious and keep track of what you change, I can't flat out predict which codec you have to move. From what you're describing, Media Player is more intelligently trying different codecs untill it gets one that works, (well in fact that's exactly what it does) while Media Center loads it's own from the first on the list and sticks with that.
Steve N is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2007, 02:01 PM   #5
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Okay, have the proggy open and I know which codecs have to be moved up, it's the Matroska filters that are used for playback of .mkv files. But I cannot figure out how to move anything in this. It just seems to list them, not allow them to be dragged anywhere. Going to check what the edit options hold, will edit with any results.

Edit: Nope, that didn't make Media Center start seeing .mkv files as usable files. Still doesn't register them as video. I moved the appropriate codec up in priority, but it did nothing for what I'm trying to do. I just want the files to be usable.

On the plus side, I figured out how to access the Avivo TV controls in Media Center, so can the noise filters how I like. I'm loving Media Center overall now.

Edit 2: OMG, what a DUNCE I can be... On a hunch, I wondered if just changing filename the .mkv to .avi would help at all. It now works. *slaps forehead* DOH!
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."

Last edited by moshpit : May 30, 2007 at 02:18 PM.
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2007, 11:03 AM   #6
Keystone
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada Victoria, BC
Posts: 3,795
Keystone is still being judged by the masses


Default

I use Haali Media Splitter to access .mkv files. Install that with the option for it to be used by Windows Explorer -- shell integration.

For CODECS, I use PureVideo (for MPEG2 = DVRMS playback), QuicktimeAlternative (for .mov and shell integration), RealAlternative (rare .ram files), FFDSHOW for all remaining CODECS.

With that, MCE can access and preview all of my video files and implement appropriate audio support.
__________________
...in the time of chimpanzees I was a monkey...
Keystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 31, 2007, 11:45 AM   #7
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keystone View Post
I use Haali Media Splitter to access .mkv files. Install that with the option for it to be used by Windows Explorer -- shell integration.

For CODECS, I use PureVideo (for MPEG2 = DVRMS playback), QuicktimeAlternative (for .mov and shell integration), RealAlternative (rare .ram files), FFDSHOW for all remaining CODECS.

With that, MCE can access and preview all of my video files and implement appropriate audio support.
The Haali Media splitter will make VMC see .mkv files? Cool! I'll give it a shot. Now that I know that you can just rename a .mkv file to .avi and any player will play it back then if you have the proper Matroska codec already installed, at least I'm functional in the mean time. I'll try this too tho, I like the idea of not having to rename files...
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 09:36 AM   #8
Keystone
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada Victoria, BC
Posts: 3,795
Keystone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
....if you have the proper Matroska codec already installed...
Not a 'CODEC, dude, it's just a container for video, audio, subtitle, chapters, etc.
__________________
...in the time of chimpanzees I was a monkey...
Keystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 10:41 AM   #9
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keystone View Post
Not a 'CODEC, dude, it's just a container for video, audio, subtitle, chapters, etc.
Whatever...
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."

Last edited by moshpit : Jun 1, 2007 at 11:28 AM.
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 10:55 AM   #10
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Okay, so a container simply assigns codecs to specific tracks. So it's a CODEC CONTAINER by assinging codecIDs to each track if you want to get technical. So why didn't you just say that? Is clarity too much to ask for in your statements? Why tell me it NOT a codec as if the two are not even related without at least explaining that in fact, it facilitates codecs to do thier jobs?
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."

Last edited by moshpit : Jun 1, 2007 at 10:58 AM.
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 10:00 PM   #11
Keystone
Radeon Volcanic Islands
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Canada Victoria, BC
Posts: 3,795
Keystone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit
Why tell me it NOT a codec as if the two are not even related without...
I was just offering information and a correction. Being able to identify and access what a container contains will not enable you to play the media unless you have the appropriate CODECs installed.

Particularly with Mastroska, it's a multimedia container that is not [oops...edit] defined by any specific video or audio standard. For further background on what we are discussing:
A container format is a computer file format that can contain various types of data, compressed by means of standardized audio/video codecs. The container file is used to identify and interleave the different data types. Simpler container formats can contain different types of audio codecs, while more advanced container formats can support multiple audio and video streams, subtitles, chapter-information, and meta-data (tags) - along with the synchronization information needed to play back the various streams together.

...

Matroska / MKV (not standard for any codec or system, but it is an open standard and open source container format).
For the issue you were having in accessing .MKV files, it can be quite important to distinguish and recognise the differences between the types of containers and the media formats that such containers contain.
__________________
...in the time of chimpanzees I was a monkey...

Last edited by Keystone : Jun 2, 2007 at 01:13 AM.
Keystone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2007, 10:05 PM   #12
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,661
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Keystone View Post
I was just offering information and a correction. Being able to identify and access what a container contains will not enable you to play the media unless you have the appropriate CODECs installed.

Particularly with Mastroska, it's a multimedia container that is defined by any specific video or audio standard. For further background on what we are discussing:
A container format is a computer file format that can contain various types of data, compressed by means of standardized audio/video codecs. The container file is used to identify and interleave the different data types. Simpler container formats can contain different types of audio codecs, while more advanced container formats can support multiple audio and video streams, subtitles, chapter-information, and meta-data (tags) - along with the synchronization information needed to play back the various streams together.

...

Matroska / MKV (not standard for any codec or system, but it is an open standard and open source container format).
For the issue you were having in accessing .MKV files, it can be quite important to distinguish and recognise the differences between the types of containers and the media formats that such containers contain.
Which brings up the next strangeness then. Strangely, when I rename any .mkv file to .avi or .mpg, it still plays. The ONLY part of the .mkv that's hanging up being able to use them is the .mkv extension. And it almost doesn't seem to matter WHAT extension I rename it to, as long as it's a recognized extension by Media Center, it then plays the file just fine. SO, what then is the container? There doesn't appear to BE one. Almost any extension that falls under the heading of a video file works on the file BUT the one it came with. Go figure...
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Media Center PC Questions BobbyRPI2712 Home Theaters and Photography 6 May 23, 2007 01:37 PM
Vista Media Center and ATI Cards Paul M AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 0 Mar 5, 2007 09:45 AM
Vista / 1650 / Media Center timskemp Radeon Technical Support 0 Feb 3, 2007 02:06 PM
Theater Mode & Windows Media Center and Catalyst Media Center: Does it work? cbuchach AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 3 Dec 24, 2006 10:02 AM
More thoughts on Theater Pro 650 & Catalyst Media Center ATImeShifter AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 2 Dec 21, 2006 03:54 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:19 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink