Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » PC Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

PC Gaming Discuss all PC games, past and present. Talk about your favorite games, share tips and strategies, and anything else relating to computer games.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 6, 2020, 07:35 PM   #241
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 19,211
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

I feel like I remember you being able to get beyond that quality, or closely match it, by just modifying the settings already in the game?

p.s. Anyone recommend some Crysis Shader/Texture mods?
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2020, 05:45 PM   #242
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 19,211
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

You know what, I just re-installed Crysis. While in allot of ways it looks pretty great.. and others.... well not so much. Allot of the textures are actually really blurry and it's using detail textures to try and make up for it. This is especially evident on rocks,creates and etc.

So I figured ah no biggie, I'm sure there's a texture pack to solve this... long story short I forgot just how stupid modding Crysis is. Very few of the texture packs are really any good and ALLOT of the texture packs massively change the look of the game away from the original art style(same goes for most of the graphics mods). Sooooo... really hoping this remaster comes through so I don't have to spend time on this

p.s. Also OMG the aliasing because of all the alpha textures on the foliage, I forgot about that
p.p.s OH and getting some packs is a PIA because some of the sites where these where hosted or primarily based are gone.
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2020, 09:01 PM   #243
Megaman
Packing heat!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia Down Under
Posts: 7,803
Megaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

I wanted to install the original but my PC no longer has a DVD ROM


Any chance I can claim the CD key via third party app like you can do on the Rockstar launcher?
Megaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 7, 2020, 09:23 PM   #244
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 19,211
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

It's like $4.99usd on steam.... I didn't want to dig for my DVD copy ....Was $9.99 Canadian rubles with Warhead so I got that

If you do install it... make sure you grab the POM+AF fix over at MODDB here. So Parallax Occlusion Mapping works when using Anisotropic Filtering (which you have to set driver side btw)
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2020, 09:44 PM   #245
Megaman
Packing heat!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia Down Under
Posts: 7,803
Megaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

OK...sold.


Game doesn't support 1440. Looks like game.cfg alterations required.
Megaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2020, 10:56 PM   #246
Fuku2
Metal Guitarist
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Brentwood Bay, B.C.
Posts: 12,830
Fuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshFuku2 kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megaman View Post
OK...sold.


Game doesn't support 1440. Looks like game.cfg alterations required.
Yup. Just installed it the other day and changed the resolution myself.

My Documents\My Games\Crysis\game.cfg" and editing the values for r_Height and r_Width as required

taken from GOG forum
__________________
I have nothing witty to say.
Fuku2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 7, 2020, 11:40 PM   #247
Seyiji
Team 🌙 Moon
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Manches Manchesville
Posts: 13,916
Seyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationSeyiji has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megaman View Post
I wanted to install the original but my PC no longer has a DVD ROM


Any chance I can claim the CD key via third party app like you can do on the Rockstar launcher?
Should be able to redeem on origin directly or contact support and ask them to do it.

I did that when EA cheesed it from steam a long while back and got all 3 games (Crysis 1, Crysis Warhead and Crysis 2) added to my origin account.
__________________
,____,
[^_^]
/)___)

-"---"-
Rage3D PC Gaming Hit-List
Official PC Gaming Deals Thread
Has the above thread been misplaced/renamed/merged/stickied/locked? Well then there's a doins transpirin! Find the tome and bring forth the sacrifice to restore peace and order.
"VIAGRA FALLS, slowly I turned, and step by step, inch by inch, I walked up to him, I smashed him, I hit him, I bonked him, I bopped him, I socked him and I mashed his face and I knocked him down."
Seyiji is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:58 AM   #248
SubCog
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United States Caketown
Posts: 19,307
SubCog can recite pi backwardsSubCog can recite pi backwardsSubCog can recite pi backwardsSubCog can recite pi backwardsSubCog can recite pi backwardsSubCog can recite pi backwardsSubCog can recite pi backwards


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Megaman View Post
OK...sold.


Game doesn't support 1440. Looks like game.cfg alterations required.
"Doesn't support 1440?" The game doesn't even boot anymore without doing a bunch of extra work. If you can get the thing to boot at all, then you're more than capable of editing a cfg to get 1440.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by KAC View Post
To be honest I never even found doom 3 to be scary since I have a big dick since birth.

Ryzen 2600x - Radeon 580 - 16 gigs memory


NES, SNES, N64, Gamecube, Wii, Wii U, Switch, Gameboy, Gameboy Pocket, Gameboy Color, Virtual Boy, 6 GBAs, DS, 3ds
Sega Master System, Genesis, 32x, Sega CD, Saturn, Dreamcast, Game Gear
PS1, PS2, PS3, PS4, PSP
og xbox, xbox360, xbone
Atari 2600, 7800
Neo Geo Pocket Color

riva tnt
tnt2
32 meg geforce2mx
kyro 2
radeon8500
radeon9600
radeon9800pro
radeon x800pro
geforce 8800gtx
radeon 6850
radeon 280
radeon 580
SubCog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:29 AM   #249
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 19,211
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubCog View Post
"Doesn't support 1440?" The game doesn't even boot anymore without doing a bunch of extra work. If you can get the thing to boot at all, then you're more than capable of editing a cfg to get 1440.
Steam version booted without modification. Also handled my 21:9 resolution's & aspect ratio properly without modification. VSR worked like a champ and the only mods I've "had to do" where POM+AF fix and creating a Autoexec.cfg to perm unlock the console commands
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:05 PM   #250
Megaman
Packing heat!
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Australia Down Under
Posts: 7,803
Megaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshMegaman kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SubCog View Post
"Doesn't support 1440?" The game doesn't even boot anymore without doing a bunch of extra work. If you can get the thing to boot at all, then you're more than capable of editing a cfg to get 1440.
?


Steam copy of the game boots fine.

The initial cut scenes don’t work though. They stutter/pause like crazy. Not sure if cos 1440 setting or not.

Last edited by Megaman : Yesterday at 11:47 PM.
Megaman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 05:58 PM   #251
NIGELG
Fire of Unknown Origin
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad
Posts: 1,891
NIGELG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNIGELG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by OverclockN' View Post
I think there is TONS of room for improvement, but still feel that it's not worth remastering. Not to mention it wouldn't be able to run on anything anyway if they actually updated it properly.

Save the remastering for games that need it. The ones where people have square heads with a single texture slapped on it, horrible textures, terrible controls, bad animation, etc. Remastering Crysis is a big waste of time.
Yes I agree with your post .Games such as AVP 1 AND 2, RTCW, Hitman Contracts, Morrowind, GTA Vice City and many others could do with a remastering.
__________________
Intel 3570K,XFX Radeon RX 580 8GB,16GB Corsair Vengeance 1600 Mhz,Gigabyte GA-777-D3H.
NIGELG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:25 PM   #252
theshadowcult
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: Australia Opet
Posts: 14,708
theshadowcult is not someone to be trifled withtheshadowcult is not someone to be trifled withtheshadowcult is not someone to be trifled withtheshadowcult is not someone to be trifled withtheshadowcult is not someone to be trifled withtheshadowcult is not someone to be trifled withtheshadowcult is not someone to be trifled withtheshadowcult is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIGELG View Post
Yes I agree with your post .Games such as AVP 1 AND 2, RTCW, Hitman Contracts, Morrowind, GTA Vice City and many others could do with a remastering.
While i think morrowind was the best in the series. It was only so great because everything since has been dumbed down for console massively. They are barely even rpgs any more. That being said, i'd like to see daggerfall remade first, or even redguard.
__________________
Evil is excess.
theshadowcult is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 12:39 AM   #253
Napoleonic
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 6,611
Napoleonic once held a door open for a complete strangerNapoleonic once held a door open for a complete strangerNapoleonic once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Remasters are cash grab trashes, we better demand proper remakes like ff7
__________________
I guess it's the trend nowdays with games; either you are a hardcore PC GAME, or you live long enough to see yourself become a console port
Napoleonic is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 08:18 AM   #254
OverclockN'
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Iowa
Posts: 23,385
OverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Napoleonic View Post
Remasters are cash grab trashes, we better demand proper remakes like Resident Evil 2 and 3.


I can't get behind the FF7 remake where it's also an obvious mega cash grab having to put yourself on the line for however many games they are going to make to cover the single game it originally was.
__________________
In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity...Albert Einstein
-------------------------------------------------------
OverclockN' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 01:43 PM   #255
saumilsingh
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,108
saumilsingh once held a door open for a complete strangersaumilsingh once held a door open for a complete strangersaumilsingh once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Trunks0 View Post
I feel like I remember you being able to get beyond that quality, or closely match it, by just modifying the settings already in the game?

p.s. Anyone recommend some Crysis Shader/Texture mods?
BlackFire's is the overall best lighting/shader mod. It's quite amazing for what it does with only a 12mb footprint.
https://www.moddb.com/mods/blackfires-mod-ultimate





Works perfectly with the Steam version of the game, even though people for some reason claim it does not.
saumilsingh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:00 PM   #256
saumilsingh
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Posts: 2,108
saumilsingh once held a door open for a complete strangersaumilsingh once held a door open for a complete strangersaumilsingh once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Unpopular opinion, but the Remaster looks better to me with significantly better lighting.
Vanilla wins out only in sharpness, but that's obviously because it's being compared to screengrabs from a Youtube video.
saumilsingh is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Today, 02:26 PM   #257
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 46,359
acroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by saumilsingh View Post
BlackFire's is the overall best lighting/shader mod. It's quite amazing for what it does with only a 12mb footprint.
https://www.moddb.com/mods/blackfires-mod-ultimate
Looks great!
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 2 (0 members and 2 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Big Trouble In Little China Remake No Longer A Remake Hapatingjaky Off Topic Lounge 19 Sep 8, 2018 02:50 AM
Dune remake cancelled, Total Recall remake with Colin Farrell.... arg S.Nixx Off Topic Lounge 36 Mar 26, 2011 07:59 AM
Space Quest 2 Remake - [ Indie / Remake ] Coming Soon Pirate Neilsouth PC Gaming 18 May 15, 2010 05:29 AM
Golden Axe - [Remake] & Splatterhouse trilogy - [ Remake ] Pirate Neilsouth PC Gaming 7 Dec 22, 2008 05:38 PM
Metroid 2 Remake (GBA Remake) - [ Retro Platformer ] Pirate Neilsouth PC Gaming 4 Dec 19, 2008 02:36 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:02 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink