Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Feb 27, 2009, 03:05 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Debello
Not built for speed
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,368
Debello is still being judged by the masses


Angry Hardware Reserved Memory issues EVGA X58 SLI

I have and issues under Windows 7 X64 that it reserving a large chunk of my RAM for a reason I don't understand. Out of the 12GB installed Windows 7 x64 says that 8202 MB are Hardware Reserved, 1506MB are in use and 2459 are standby.

Intel i7 920
EVGA X58 3X SLI (BIOS E758SZ1N)
12GB Patriot Viper DDR3 1600

Is Windows 7 X64 just miss reading the information or is it really only recognizing 4GB of RAM?

__________________
No so patiently waiting for Everquest: Landmark
Debello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 03:19 PM   #2
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

What happens when you install non-beta OS like Vista x64 or Linux x64 (Ubuntu, Fedora, etc. - could try a live CD)?
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 27, 2009, 07:05 PM   #3
Debello
Not built for speed
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,368
Debello is still being judged by the masses


Default

Figured it out:

Simply you cant run 12GB of RAM on the board at 1600, have to run at 1333 or 1066. If 1600 is selected then it will only reconize 4gb of RAM.
__________________
No so patiently waiting for Everquest: Landmark
Debello is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Feb 27, 2009, 07:08 PM   #4
Greasy
Raiding Curio's Stable
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States NC
Posts: 13,273
Greasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppersGreasy has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

That blows.
Greasy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2009, 11:23 AM   #5
PeaceKeeper
Keeping The Peace
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States New Jersey
Posts: 1,260
PeaceKeeper is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

I was reading in the ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 manual that the Core i7 only supports one dimm of DDR3 @ 1600 on each channel it's on page 42 on the English manual and states.
  • According to Intel spec definition, DDR3-1600 is supported for one DIMM per channel only. ASUS exclusively provides two DDR3-1600 DIMM for each memory channel.

So Debello this probably is your issue, and maybe EVGA will release a future bios to circumvent this limitation in a way similar to what ASUS has done.
__________________

ASUS Maximus Hero VIII (Bios 3802) | Intel Core i7 6700K @ 4.0GHz | Noctua NH-D14 | 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX PC4-19200 DDR4 @ 2400MHz (14-16-16-31-1T) @ 1.2v | EVGA GeForce GTX 1080 Ti SC2 Gaming 11GB | Creative Sound Blaster AE-5 | Samsung 860 Pro 1TB SATA III SSD | 2x Western Digital Caviar Black WD2003FZEX 2TB 7200 RPM 64MB Cache SATA2 Hard Drives RAID 1 | ASUS BC-12B1ST 12x BD-ROM | ASUS DRW-24F1ST 24x DVD-RW | Logitech G400 Mouse | Das Keyboard 4 root | Corsair HXi Series 850 Watt Power Supply | Corsair Obsidian 650D | 2x Dell UltraSharp U2410 24" LCD Rev. A02 | Logitech Z-2300 THX-Certified 2.1 / Sennheiser RS 170 | APC Smart-UPS SMT 1500 | Windows 10 Professional x64



MacBook (Uni-body) | 13.3 Inch Widescreen Display | Intel Core 2 Duo P7550 @ 2.26GHz | 8GB DDR3 @ 1067MHz | GeForce 9400M 256MB | 256GB Samsung SSD 840 Pro | OS X Yosemite
PeaceKeeper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2009, 11:40 AM   #6
Debello
Not built for speed
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,368
Debello is still being judged by the masses


Default

Changing the CPU Uncore Frequency (Mhz) from Auto to X24, setting vtt to 1.1v and upping the DIMM Voltage to 1.75V has resolved the issue so far and increased stability.

I was a little worried about the DIMM Voltage, but according to Anandtech voltages between 1.7 and 1.8 are "safe".
__________________
No so patiently waiting for Everquest: Landmark
Debello is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2009, 12:23 PM   #7
benjy355
Rawr
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Canada BC, Canada
Posts: 818
benjy355 is still being judged by the masses


Default

With 12gb of ram, I wouldn't worry about differences in speed from 1600 - 1333 >_>
__________________
PC
~Left 4 Dead, Counter-Strike: Source, Portal, Team Fortress 2, Garry's Mod, C&C3~

Visit the Roflbox
benjy355 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Feb 28, 2009, 12:43 PM   #8
Debello
Not built for speed
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Phoenix, AZ
Posts: 6,368
Debello is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by benjy355 View Post
With 12gb of ram, I wouldn't worry about differences in speed from 1600 - 1333 >_>
Thats not very Rage like, I do it because it can be done.
__________________
No so patiently waiting for Everquest: Landmark
Debello is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hardware memory lane - post your random hardware pics Lupine General Hardware 47 Apr 8, 2010 10:09 PM
Hardware Reserved Memory Poll Debello Operating Systems 3 Mar 1, 2009 07:39 PM
GDI + hardware mouse cursor issues koitsu AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 63 May 22, 2005 03:57 PM
is this hardware issues or software issues? Crazyfan Radeon Technical Support 1 Oct 1, 2002 06:41 PM
is this hardware issues or software issues? Crazyfan AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Oct 1, 2002 06:06 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:19 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink