Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 2, 2001, 05:38 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Nice
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lulea, Sweden
Posts: 4
Nice is still being judged by the masses


Question

When I play NHL2001 the graphics are pretty messed up. It looks like it's raining(!) all over the screen. Also, some graphics that should be semi-transparent either disappears or is not transparent at all.
I have tried adding -32bpp at startup of the game, without any (visible) change.

===
My system:
Win2000 Professional
Radeon driver version: 5.13.01.3102

Radeon DDR 64 MB VIVO
Duron [email protected]
512MB Ram
MSI K7TPro2
SB Live! Platinum
Nice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2001, 06:42 PM   #2
**G.I.BRO**
Berwip crawna-wi pinibon
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Mississauga
Posts: 30,180
**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel


Default

Hey,

Its because its in 16bit colour quality. the only way to switch it to 32 bit is to do this in the command line.

All you have to do is place -32bpp at the end of the shortcut command line. If you still dont know on how to do this, this may help.

1st. right click on the NHL2001 icon.
2nd. type in -32bpp in the command line a the very end.
3rd. click apply,
4th. click OK
5th. RUN GAME.


Hope this helps....

If not, post back here....
**G.I.BRO** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2001, 02:32 AM   #3
Paragon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 2
Paragon is still being judged by the masses


Default

I tried the switch -32bpp but the game still ran in 16 bit color. I knew because I was still suffering the "raining" graphic errors. I typed the command just like it was written.

My command line is: "E:\Games\NHL 2001\nhl2001.exe" -32bpp

I can fix the "raining" lines by changing my Radeon alpha dithering to "ordered" instead of "error-diffusion", but since the Radeon is slow in 16 bit, running NHL 2001 in 32 bit color should improve performance.

Can you tell me how to get 32 bit color working in NHL 2001? Am I typing the command line correctly? And how will I know if I am actually running NHL 2001 in 32 bit color?

Thanks for any help.
Paragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 3, 2001, 08:02 AM   #4
Nice
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Lulea, Sweden
Posts: 4
Nice is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have tried using the -32bpp command line switch, but it doesn't seem to be any different. I would guess the game is still running in 16 bit.
I will try using ordered dithering and see what that's like. Does this fix missing backgrounds in in-game menus?
Nice is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 3, 2001, 11:31 AM   #5
Critter
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Helsinki, Finland
Posts: 52
Critter is still being judged by the masses


Default

I want profile for NHL2001 !! Anyone ?!?!
__________________
Asus K7m
Athlon [email protected] (Slot-A TB)
Radeon 64 DDR ViVo
Terratec DMX-XFire 1024
384MB, WinME/XP
Critter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 4, 2001, 01:45 AM   #6
Paragon
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Hudson, NC
Posts: 2
Paragon is still being judged by the masses


Default

With ordered dithering I still get some menu graphic errors, but it fixes the raining effect.

The Radeon is a nice card, but NHL 2001 ran at about the same speed (I use the same detail levels) on my old Celeron 416 with a TNT card as it does now with my Celeron 850 and Radeon.

I was hoping when I updgraded that I could increase the detail levels...

Now if we could find out if it was really possible to run NHL 2001 in 32 bit color, it would be great, since it should run faster and with no errors since dithering only happens in 16 bit color...

BTW does anyone know if NHL 2001 has any FPS counters built in? So you could see the exact FPS?
Paragon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Crappy cable from monitor to graphics card causing imperfect images? bOb32 General Hardware 6 Oct 30, 2004 02:15 PM
Wow Gran Turismo 3 has crappy graphics 311Sam Console Gaming 54 Dec 20, 2003 06:21 AM
Can´t get 32bit in NHL2001? Braxen AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Jan 6, 2001 11:27 AM
nhl2001 Problems!! inferno9000 Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support 5 Dec 29, 2000 09:07 PM
NHL2001 on Radeon? Braxen AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 7 Oct 11, 2000 04:57 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:39 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink