Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing From Android, Symbian to Apple devices, this is the place for discussion and debate, whether it's smartphones, tablets or even gaming handhelds.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 28, 2011, 02:43 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Kamiclone
Galactic Odyssey
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Wish i knew
Posts: 3,964
Kamiclone is still being judged by the masses


Default can a phone be un-flashed?

I'm curious. I have a phone here for the Sprint network. Now i'm not sure what the previous owner did with it, or if anything was done to it at all. I already restored it thinking that would fix the problem. I checked with Sprint and they tell me the ESN is clean and that it hasnt been activated. But when i try to activate it to my Sprint account, they cant do it. I've gotten a couple of different answers from tech support, but the best one that fits is that it has been flashed.
Now i'm not very familiar with what "flashed" means only that i guess it is what Cricket and boostmobile users do to get cool phones on other networks.
So i really want to get this thing to work seeing how its still in excellent condition and works perfectly! I hate to think its a brick. Any suggestions?
__________________
Why in the world are you laughing? You're dying you fool.
Kamiclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2011, 03:19 PM   #2
Zero
Sass hole
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Canada Toronto
Posts: 38,815
Zero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English ChannelZero once jumped the English Channel


Default

You might be able to flash it back to stock. What phone is it?
__________________
"Hi,

please refrain from telling other forum members to "Go eat a buffet of dicks." in the future.

Thank you.

Regards,
mad"
Zero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 01:09 AM   #3
shrike126
Chirp Chirp Mother****er
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: United States Ocean, NJ
Posts: 25,368
shrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Subscriber
Default

When you call in and provide the ESN, the agent will enter the ESN to see if it shows a history of activation on the Sprint network (which it likely doesn't pull anything up) but unless you're wanting to activate that unit right then and there, there's no way to "try" an ESN for activation. If they enter the ESN and it doesn't show active on someone's account, then the most they could really look for is that it's not tied to someone's unpaid bill or reported as lost/stolen. The usual things that would prevent an activation of a unit. They won't be able to see the backend things like it being delisted in NMS.

Likely what has happened is the unit was a Sprint phone and as you mentioned, the ESN/MEID was transferred to a private label like Cricket. Typically what happens is the ownership and provisioning data for this device gets removed from Sprint's billing system and activated in the Cricket system, but that can usually be a rather one-way street. I don't know that there's a mechanism for importing this data back into the Sprint billing system. In addition, the previous owner would've had to flash the phones firmware for use on the Cricket network, now you'd have to find a Sprint image to bring the device back to functionality on the Sprint network.

Out of curiosity which phone is it?
__________________
Quote:
"I'll admit it. I did try and **** her, she was married."
"I moved on her like a bitch. I couldn't get there and she was married."
"I don't even wait. And when you're a star they let you do it. You can do anything."
"Grab them by the pussy."

~Donald J. Trump
Quote:
"Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe, is that so far none of it has tried to contact us." ~ Calvin & Hobbes
Quote:
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." ~ John F. Kennedy (1962)
shrike126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 29, 2011, 01:10 AM   #4
wc326
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong Hong Kong
Posts: 7,306
wc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultywc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

It can be. Experience from 7 different Android device.

And like all of them can be flashed back to stock.
__________________
CS:S Office Server IP: 66.151.138.37:27015



http://sc2sig.com/s/sea/91428-1.png
wc326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 02:47 AM   #5
shoman24v
Radeon Southern Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: United States CA
Posts: 2,812
shoman24v is still being judged by the masses


Default

if it can be flashed to cricket, it can be flashed back to sprint.
shoman24v is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 10:32 AM   #6
shrike126
Chirp Chirp Mother****er
 
Join Date: Dec 1969
Location: United States Ocean, NJ
Posts: 25,368
shrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppersshrike126 has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shoman24v View Post
if it can be flashed to cricket, it can be flashed back to sprint.
The phone? Yes pretty much. The MEID/ESN? Harder to manage...
__________________
Quote:
"I'll admit it. I did try and **** her, she was married."
"I moved on her like a bitch. I couldn't get there and she was married."
"I don't even wait. And when you're a star they let you do it. You can do anything."
"Grab them by the pussy."

~Donald J. Trump
Quote:
"Sometimes I think the surest sign that intelligent life exists elsewhere in the universe, is that so far none of it has tried to contact us." ~ Calvin & Hobbes
Quote:
"Those who make peaceful revolution impossible will make violent revolution inevitable." ~ John F. Kennedy (1962)
shrike126 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 29, 2011, 11:32 PM   #7
Kamiclone
Galactic Odyssey
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Canada Wish i knew
Posts: 3,964
Kamiclone is still being judged by the masses


Default

It's a LG Rumor 2

So when I restored the phone did that get rid of the firmware/flashed portion?
If I need to bring the ESN back to Sprint, which I'm assuming I do, is that just a one-way street or is there actually a way to get it back?
__________________
Why in the world are you laughing? You're dying you fool.
Kamiclone is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Windows Phone adds multitasking, deep phone integration, and sensor access to devs erek Smartphones, Tablets and Handheld Computing 17 Apr 14, 2011 06:29 PM
Why should I get a land phone vs. mobile phone only Gator Off Topic Lounge 23 Jun 26, 2007 09:54 PM
What do you use your cell phone for besides phone calls? monkeydust Off Topic Lounge 41 Apr 5, 2007 02:56 AM
Why can't 9500np be flashed to 9700 pro, and 9800se flashed to 9800 pro? MonarchX Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 4 May 14, 2004 10:26 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:56 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink