Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2021, 11:51 PM   #331
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar24 View Post
First gen RGB power cables Free is better then $100 though!
Of course if I didn’t only need to pay shipping I wouldn’t have gotten it. I do like it that they feel like cables and not overly white plastic. Otherwise I would’ve probably removed them by now.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2021, 12:58 PM   #332
Nascar24
EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3 Ultra
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 12,865
Nascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwards


Default

A matter of preference I guess, but I like how the 2nd gen look and the RGB effect is better in my opinion.

https://imgur.com/YHdjGy9
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2021, 01:03 PM   #333
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 27,199
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

I thought they looked like total ass which is why they were sitting in my garage and given away for free

In saying that though, they look better in KACs photo than RL in my rig.. I kind of want them back now..
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 15, 2021, 01:31 PM   #334
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar24 View Post
A matter of preference I guess, but I like how the 2nd gen look and the RGB effect is better in my opinion.

https://imgur.com/YHdjGy9
Yeah not a fan. Too much plastic. I will post a short clip of mine.
https://imgur.com/a/CthiSHt

Last edited by KAC : Jan 15, 2021 at 01:40 PM.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 15, 2021, 11:24 PM   #335
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Hey Riptide, did you see a noticeable performance improvement by getting a better timed memory?
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2021, 02:35 PM   #336
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 51,003
acroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2021, 04:09 PM   #337
Gandalfthewhite
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Middle Earth also known as AZ
Posts: 9,517
Gandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled with


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by acroig View Post
cant wait for RDNA2 based laptop APUs
__________________
Main rig: look at system spec tab
Storage Server: Dual AMD Opteron 6120 CPUs, 64Gigs ECC Ram 50TB usable space across 3 zfs2 pools


HOURGLASS = most appropriate named ICON/CURSOR in the Windows world :-)

In a dank corner of ATI central, the carpet covered with corn flakes, the faint sound of clicking can be heard........Click......click, click............as the fate of the graphics world and the future of the human race hangs in the balance.

I know....I know........Keep my day job :-)- catcather
Gandalfthewhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 16, 2021, 11:29 PM   #338
SuperGeil
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Nov 2020
Location: Germany Berlin
Posts: 154
SuperGeil is still being judged by the masses


Folding@home

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gandalfthewhite View Post
cant wait for RDNA2 based laptop APUs
I'm really glad intel pushed Xe graphics. Hopefully this kicks AMD awake to be more aggressive with their APU graphics. Way too long on GCN Vega. But I will snag one one up if not a 6000 mobile Radeon first.
__________________
i10400
WX3200 Radeon Pro
Sound BlasterX G6 + Sony MDR 7506
LG 43UD79-B
SuperGeil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2021, 09:41 AM   #339
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 2,386
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KAC View Post
Hey Riptide, did you see a noticeable performance improvement by getting a better timed memory?
Oh hell no. I'm running 2160p so memory speeds are not going to have any noticeable impact outside of a tiny difference on a synth benchmark.

While the kit I have installed now is certainly faster than the prevous CL16 32gb kit, had I a do-over, I would not have bothered changing modules.
__________________

Ryzen 5950X
32GB GSkill PC 3600
ASUS TUF X570
Sapphire 6900 XT Nitro+
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 17, 2021, 10:31 AM   #340
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riptide View Post
Oh hell no. I'm running 2160p so memory speeds are not going to have any noticeable impact outside of a tiny difference on a synth benchmark.

While the kit I have installed now is certainly faster than the prevous CL16 32gb kit, had I a do-over, I would not have bothered changing modules.
Ok thanks for letting me know. I was about to order some kits as an upgrade. It's a good thing the pricing is so absurd that my common sense prevailed yet again.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 12:23 AM   #341
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

So my putter was working absolutely fine and I was like this thing is dope and all dialed in. So after 3 or 4 random days I get a WHEA error with a reboot. I am like dafuq is this all about. It seems curve optimizer has some bugs which cause it to go bananas and cause WHEA errors if putter is on for multiple days. I did all the stability tests and what not.

So now I just went ballistic and gave it -30 on CO on all cores so that my volts are low and also down pumped from 200 MHz PBO boost down to 150 MHz. Finally, I also was setting PBO limits crazy high and learnt to just disable them in the bios and also set temp limit back to Auto.

Putter is going along fine. I see routinely single core boosting to 5.1 Gs and MC is OK. It isn't the 8600 or so CBR20 score I was pushing but more like 8400 CBR20 score now. I think this will do. The good thing out of this is that in games rather than boosting to 4625 all core now it is boosting to 4750 all core usually.

If it crashes again, I am literally selling off this setup. I am done messing with it and trying to make it bend it to my will. This whole cores, volts and temps bouncing around like ****ing bunny rabbits is pissing me off to no end. Btw my temps are now going to 85 C when gaming in COD BOCW. It is frickin' ridiculous since I stopped giving it override 1.25 volts.

Crashes at -30 also. So I just backed down to default PBO everything and disabled CO. Now running with auto everything except -100mV override on AMD overclocking volts.

Last edited by KAC : Yesterday at 05:45 AM.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:35 AM   #342
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 30,125
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Turn the PC off when you're not using it seems like an easier solution to the curve optimizer bug.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:40 AM   #343
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

These beta bioses are wreaking havoc on PCs. Apparently ASUS boards are also suffering since they updated the AEGSA 1.2.0.0. and all people's clocks are no longer sticking or memory is not staying at a higher clock (e.g., a person able to do DDR4 3600 can no longer and has to dial back to 3466 and so on).

I am just sick and tired because the hardware is actually good. The bios/software/algorithm is where the issues lie. It is just annoying af that you spend all this time dialing in the system and completely randomly after DAYS it frickin' crashes! Wtf.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 01:45 PM   #344
badsykes
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Romania Romania, Constanta
Posts: 5,238
badsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete strangerbadsykes once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by KAC View Post
These beta bioses are wreaking havoc on PCs. Apparently ASUS boards are also suffering since they updated the AEGSA 1.2.0.0. and all people's clocks are no longer sticking or memory is not staying at a higher clock (e.g., a person able to do DDR4 3600 can no longer and has to dial back to 3466 and so on).

I am just sick and tired because the hardware is actually good. The bios/software/algorithm is where the issues lie. It is just annoying af that you spend all this time dialing in the system and completely randomly after DAYS it frickin' crashes! Wtf.
AMD have 3 years with all this RYzen stuff on a lot less money than Intel..They still have things to figure out with a much smaller team of engineers.There is a lack of experience with this.If you don't want the adventure in two or 3 months you can go back to the safe Intel platform.
I can say that i updated the Bios on my B350 so so many times.I counted now how many bioses have been released from 2017 to 2020 and is around 31.The irony is i bought DDR4 B-die last year and the bios from 07.2020 actually made the memory and platform in general so stable at 3200 cl14 14 14 36. If i had it much earlier i would have stability issues.Fortunetly the platform now is very stable but i got sick of spending time beta testing and crashings and experimentation.
__________________
"There is no beggining, and there is no end.There is no alpha, and there is no omega.You never began, and you will never end."
badsykes is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 02:51 PM   #345
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 51,003
acroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nunz View Post
Turn the PC off when you're not using it seems like an easier solution to the curve optimizer bug.
Agreed.
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:19 PM   #346
Nascar24
EVGA RTX 3080 FTW3 Ultra
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States BOINGGGGGGGG!
Posts: 12,865
Nascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwardsNascar24 can recite pi backwards


Default

If your fun is playing with overclocking I guess you just have to go intel. Running PBO 175mhz and I call it a day. Dont care about the rest of it as long as it dont crash. AMD has it set to maximum out of the box so you just dont gain that much out of it. Staying away from the Beta BIOS. Will only upgrade BIOS when they are supposed stable releases.
Nascar24 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 06:23 PM   #347
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 51,003
acroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand sunsacroig glows with the radiance of a thousand suns


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nascar24 View Post
If your fun is playing with overclocking I guess you just have to go intel. Running PBO 175mhz and I call it a day. Dont care about the rest of it as long as it dont crash. AMD has it set to maximum out of the box so you just dont gain that much out of it. Staying away from the Beta BIOS. Will only upgrade BIOS when they are supposed stable releases.
Smart man is smart.
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 07:02 PM   #348
Riptide
Avtomat Kalashnikova 1947
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: United States Sparks, NV
Posts: 2,386
Riptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRiptide can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Agree. That is exactly my attitude for the whole thing and exactly (PBO, 175mhz) my settings. I haven't even bothered to manually tweak the memory I just run it on DOCP.

Fire and forget.
__________________

Ryzen 5950X
32GB GSkill PC 3600
ASUS TUF X570
Sapphire 6900 XT Nitro+
Riptide is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 09:29 PM   #349
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

What’s the secret with 175?
You gays aren’t under volting? That thing runs what temps during games like COD or Immortals Fenyx Rising?
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:37 PM   #350
Meteor_of_War
USA-holes
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Massachusetts
Posts: 24,989
Meteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppersMeteor_of_War has a basement full of buried neg-reppers


Default

Zen3's normal operating temp under load with aftermarket coolers is like 80C. Its fine.

As long as you're not crashing or badly getting clock speed throttled just play games and stop worrying about it.
Meteor_of_War is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Yesterday, 11:39 PM   #351
KAC
RGB mofo, do you have it!
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 61,361
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

I have set it to the supposed magical number of 175 and also given it -100mV undervolt. Rig is performing fine for now. Need to wait 3-5 days before the uninvited crash will happen because AMD.
Also Nascar24 can you post the following:

Geekbench
AIDA64 mem bench
CBR20
CPUZ bench

scores for comparison purposes. I am thinking about going custom water to see if that will improve my temps etc. However, throwing $500 on it seems like a waste of money .
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 3 (0 members and 3 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Ryzen 5000 and beyond Shapeshifter General Hardware 1171 Jan 17, 2021 09:42 AM
AMD’s Zen 4 Based 5nm Ryzen 5000 Desktop CPUs bill dennison General Hardware 1 May 2, 2020 10:30 PM
Ryzen Buying Guide: R7 1700 vs. R5 1600 vs. R5 1400 badsykes General Hardware 2 May 21, 2017 12:32 PM
GPU-z and the 5000 series. oozz77 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 26 Jun 1, 2010 07:24 AM
Where are the 2GB 5000 series card? guest Radeon Rumour Mill [Archived] 26 Nov 3, 2009 09:10 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:38 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink