Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies Discussion forum for any graphics hardware not provided by AMD/ATI. Also place to discuss 3D technologies such as 3D Stereo, PhysX and other interesting developments/rumours in the 3D industry.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 24, 2010, 02:56 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
TRD Supra
Olivia`WiLdE!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden From Tucson, AZ. Live in Palos Heights, IL.
Posts: 3,612
TRD Supra is still being judged by the masses


Default Display driver has stopped responding and has recovered successfully

Recently i have been getting the "Display driver has stopped responding and has recovered successfully - nvlddmkm" I have installed the newest drivers and it didn't help.

Anyone know what the fix is?
__________________
CPU-Z Validated system specs
Sh4dowGr1p on BF3
Samsung 43" 3D PLASMA PN43D490 l XBOX 360 20GB - PS3 40GB -
Saitek Eclipse | My Games | Panasonic 37" TC-37LZ800


Gigabyte mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo
EVGA 7800GT
GSkill 4GB 2x2
DELL 19" LCD
Seagate 120GB
Pioneer DVD Burner
Logitech Elite
Windows 7 Pro

TRD Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 03:22 PM   #2
ShaidarHaran
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States twin cities
Posts: 24,941
ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'ShaidarHaran once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Make sure your card's cooling mechanism is functioning properly, i.e. not clogged with dust and the fan still spins.
ShaidarHaran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 08:07 PM   #3
TRD Supra
Olivia`WiLdE!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden From Tucson, AZ. Live in Palos Heights, IL.
Posts: 3,612
TRD Supra is still being judged by the masses


Default

The fan is spinning on it.
__________________
CPU-Z Validated system specs
Sh4dowGr1p on BF3
Samsung 43" 3D PLASMA PN43D490 l XBOX 360 20GB - PS3 40GB -
Saitek Eclipse | My Games | Panasonic 37" TC-37LZ800


Gigabyte mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo
EVGA 7800GT
GSkill 4GB 2x2
DELL 19" LCD
Seagate 120GB
Pioneer DVD Burner
Logitech Elite
Windows 7 Pro

TRD Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 24, 2010, 09:15 PM   #4
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,926
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Are the fins of the heatsink clogged up with dust? If there is nowhere for the air to go, it won't flow over the fins and remove the heat, causing the card to overheat and give you issues.

Pull it out and look at it, blow some compressed air though it etc.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 09:21 PM   #5
Roxen
Drunk sexy prick
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: United States Earth-that-was
Posts: 8,894
Roxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badgesRoxen doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Run furmark and watch temperatures on hwmonitor. Should be obvious pretty quickly if it's a temperature issue.
__________________
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Roxen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 24, 2010, 10:36 PM   #6
sittal
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Manches OK
Posts: 21,886
sittal can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultysittal can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultysittal can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

had this with L4D2, a large dust bunny was captured in my card. 10 minutes of cleaning and it was fine
__________________
BBCode for Rage3D

Learn to embed videos in your posts, highlight text, and even post code!
sittal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 04:39 PM   #7
TRD Supra
Olivia`WiLdE!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden From Tucson, AZ. Live in Palos Heights, IL.
Posts: 3,612
TRD Supra is still being judged by the masses


Default

I took it out to clean it and just a little dust, but nothing that was stopping the fan or air flow.
__________________
CPU-Z Validated system specs
Sh4dowGr1p on BF3
Samsung 43" 3D PLASMA PN43D490 l XBOX 360 20GB - PS3 40GB -
Saitek Eclipse | My Games | Panasonic 37" TC-37LZ800


Gigabyte mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo
EVGA 7800GT
GSkill 4GB 2x2
DELL 19" LCD
Seagate 120GB
Pioneer DVD Burner
Logitech Elite
Windows 7 Pro

TRD Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 25, 2010, 05:53 PM   #8
TRD Supra
Olivia`WiLdE!
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Sweden From Tucson, AZ. Live in Palos Heights, IL.
Posts: 3,612
TRD Supra is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just played about 30 min or more of BF2 with all settings high and AA/AF off and my card never hit 70c
__________________
CPU-Z Validated system specs
Sh4dowGr1p on BF3
Samsung 43" 3D PLASMA PN43D490 l XBOX 360 20GB - PS3 40GB -
Saitek Eclipse | My Games | Panasonic 37" TC-37LZ800


Gigabyte mobo
Intel Core 2 Duo
EVGA 7800GT
GSkill 4GB 2x2
DELL 19" LCD
Seagate 120GB
Pioneer DVD Burner
Logitech Elite
Windows 7 Pro


Last edited by TRD Supra : Jul 25, 2010 at 05:56 PM.
TRD Supra is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Display driver amdkmdap stopped responding and has successfully recovered. Qamly AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 2 Apr 25, 2011 01:01 AM
Radeon hd 6870 - Display driver stopped responding and successfully recovered patrick_kidd Radeon Technical Support 2 Feb 25, 2011 08:19 AM
Display driver atikmdag stopped responding and has successfully recovered Roxen AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 21 Jun 4, 2009 07:06 PM
“Display driver stopped responding and has recovered” sygnus21 AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 34 Apr 22, 2009 05:29 PM
Display driver stopped responding and has recovered EWWHWW AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 4 Jul 25, 2007 09:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:19 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink