Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 8, 2012, 08:07 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,925
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default Radeon HD 7970 GHz edition coming?

caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 08:23 AM   #2
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 40,795
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Yeah, we all knew it was coming, lots of room to oc a 7970......

Good news.
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 10:37 AM   #3
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26,784
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Well the re-spin is all about lower voltages for a higher clock, right?
No changes besides voltage / clockspeed?

So how is the 7970 being clocked to 1000 going to net them a 20% performance increase?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 8, 2012, 10:42 AM   #4
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 25,700
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Its coming at 1075 apparently, still dont know where he got 20% from though.
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 11:35 AM   #5
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26,784
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Ah, 1075. That's still a lot of extra performance for the OC %
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 01:07 PM   #6
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,925
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demo View Post
Its coming at 1075 apparently, still dont know where he got 20% from though.
900 + 20% = ??
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 03:28 PM   #7
bill dennison
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States phoenix
Posts: 16,110
bill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundbill dennison can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
900 + 20% = ??
isn't it 925

so 925*1.2= 1110
bill dennison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 05:26 PM   #8
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

Mine run 1100 /1575 100%gamestable from day 1. Just by moving the OverDrive slider in CCC to the right, no volt mods or anything.

I don't get the fuzz...

Oh wait the difference is that i had to move the slider myself.
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |
Blín D'ñero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 06:46 PM   #9
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,925
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

The difference is the extra power and heat.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 06:50 PM   #10
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

Which "extra power and heat"???
The way i understand the article, the production of the cards has not changed; only the binning has become more stringent.
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |
Blín D'ñero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 07:21 PM   #11
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26,784
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Lower voltage = lower power / heat..
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 07:32 PM   #12
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

1.
Quote:
The short story is that Tahiti 2, aka Tahiti XT 2 in ASIC speak, isn’t actually new silicon, they are just binning better. If you thought that Tahiti/HD7970 was binned really conservatively for yield, you would have been right. Think of it as the polar opposite of Nvidia’s GTX680 footgun binning method.
2.
Quote:

End result, well over a GHz, but likely to be called HD7970 GHz edition as is all the rage nowadays. People are telling SemiAccurate that final silicon will run from about 1050-1075MHz, so about a 15-20% boost over Tahiti. Since T2 is binned for low leakage, it should run at the same TDP or less than current Tahitis.
that's why i don't get the fuzz.
Quote:
That means no board changes, no cooler changes, and likely no memory changes either, but all of those things are just fine the way they are now.
Source semiaccurate
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |
Blín D'ñero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 07:42 PM   #13
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,925
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

I don't know what you mean by 'I dont get the fuzz'. Do you mean fuss? (I know English is not your native language, not trying to be rude just asking to be clear)

The fuss is, at around 1.1Ghz the Radeon HD 7970 is close to the same performance as the GeForce GTX 680.

#1 This means more speed out of the box, and tying or winning the performance crown. This means price war. Everybody loves a price war.

#2 the GeForce GTX 680 is faster than the current 7970 and uses less power. It's more efficient. This new binning lets them fix that perception.

#3 the dual GPU 7990 needs to be fast, faster than the GTX 690. Stock Tahiti GPU's aren't going to do that.

#4 the biggest fuss is, of course, if you thought the back-and-forth between AMD fans and NV fans was bad before, now it's going to be ludicrous. demo is going to be on a rampage like you've never seen, and shadow will be trying to sell his cards to get the new ones, it's going to be a mess. oh so messy. INCOMING!
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 07:44 PM   #14
Mangler
PC
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,156
Mangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Hmm, isn't 1050-1075 a number that almost 100% of the current 7970 are able to reach without a voltage boost?

So I don't understand why they did not launch the ghz edition months ago to spoil the gtx6xx launch.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 07:45 PM   #15
caveman-jim
Deposed King of Rage3D
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Posts: 48,925
caveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badgescaveman-jim doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangler View Post
Hmm, isn't 1050-1075 a number that almost 100% of the current 7970 are able to reach without a voltage boost?

So I don't understand why they did not launch the ghz edition months ago to spoil the gtx6xx launch.
Power and heat.

Just because you didn't increase voltage doesn't mean you're not drawing more power and generating more heat when you increase clocks.
caveman-jim is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 07:52 PM   #16
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
I don't know what you mean by 'I dont get the fuzz'. Do you mean fuss? (I know English is not your native language, not trying to be rude just asking to be clear)

[...]
Exactly Caveman-Jim that's very thoughtful of you thank you. I really mistook fuzz for fuss.
I meant fuss.
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |
Blín D'ñero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 08:03 PM   #17
Blín D'ñero
HD7970 crossfire
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Netherlands Netherlands
Posts: 1,812
Blín D'ñero is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
Power and heat.

Just because you didn't increase voltage doesn't mean you're not drawing more power and generating more heat when you increase clocks.
Look. The article (what this thread's about) indicates no change of production, just binning.
No indication that binned GPU's (the better ones, which we purchased already months ago) would be different to binned GPU's of this moment. Or enlighten me what i'm missing.
__________________
Intel i7 2700K @ 4.8 Ghz | Zalman CPNS9900LED | Asus Maximus IV Extreme-Z | 16 GB Corsair Dominator GT CMT16GX3M4X2133C9 DDR3 | 2 x (Sapphire) AMD Radeon HD7970 (crossfire) | Creative X-Fi Titanium Fatality Pro | Corsair AX 1200W | 4 x WDC WD1002FAEX | Optiarc AD 5240S | Dell U3011 @ 2560x1600 | Steelseries 7G | Razer Imperator 2012 | Coolermaster Stacker STC T01 | Logitech Z-5500 | Sennheiser HD598 | Windows 7 Ultimate x64 SP1 |

Last edited by Blín D'ñero : Jun 8, 2012 at 08:06 PM.
Blín D'ñero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 8, 2012, 09:35 PM   #18
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 26,784
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Higher binned chips = lower voltage
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 02:22 PM   #19
BababooeyHTJ
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States Hartford, CT
Posts: 12,036
BababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I can't wait to see what these chips can do with a little more voltage.

I don't know if you guys have seen this VTX3D HD 7970 review at TPU. Its a 7970 running at 1050mhz while running at a lower voltage.

Last edited by BababooeyHTJ : Jun 9, 2012 at 02:24 PM.
BababooeyHTJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 02:30 PM   #20
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 25,700
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
demo is going to be on a rampage like you've never seen
Elaborate
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 9, 2012, 03:43 PM   #21
NIGELG
Fire of Unknown Origin
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Trinidad and Tobago Trinidad
Posts: 1,782
NIGELG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyNIGELG can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demo View Post
Elaborate
He probably means having buyer's remorse for a card you didn't buy
NIGELG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 06:22 AM   #22
noko
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: United States Orlando, Florida, USA
Posts: 8,689
noko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete strangernoko once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

noko is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 07:27 AM   #23
acroig
Master Troll
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: Manches Troll Master of Manchesville
Posts: 40,795
acroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialacroig is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by caveman-jim View Post
#4 the biggest fuss is, of course, if you thought the back-and-forth between AMD fans and NV fans was bad before, now it's going to be ludicrous. demo is going to be on a rampage like you've never seen, and shadow will be trying to sell his cards to get the new ones, it's going to be a mess. oh so messy. INCOMING!
__________________
By your retarded posts i can only conclude you haven't been spanked enough.

yoz
acroig is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 08:16 AM   #24
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 25,700
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by NIGELG View Post
He probably means having buyer's remorse for a card you didn't buy
Yeh, some rampage.
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 08:21 AM   #25
BababooeyHTJ
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States Hartford, CT
Posts: 12,036
BababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird sings


Default

What do you guys think that they'll release this at? $500 and right up against GTX680 no doubt? Do you think that it'll effect the price of the older 7970s or will this just replace 7970?
BababooeyHTJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 08:31 AM   #26
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 25,700
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Hrmm good question, not so sure it deserves a price increase myself, or at most a minimal increase.
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 08:37 AM   #27
BababooeyHTJ
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States Hartford, CT
Posts: 12,036
BababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird sings


Default

It might not, I've been wondering if this is the gpu in the 7970 in this review. It is running at 1050mhz at a lower core voltage. It supposedly has an msrp of $480. Has AMD improved yields and you can get a gpu just as capable in current 7970s? I wonder if recent 7970s are clocking better than the ones at release.

Last edited by BababooeyHTJ : Jun 10, 2012 at 08:47 AM.
BababooeyHTJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 08:49 AM   #28
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 25,700
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

I'm guessing they clock a bit better, but imo should just be a replacement rather than a "next tier" model.
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 08:57 AM   #29
BababooeyHTJ
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United States Hartford, CT
Posts: 12,036
BababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird singsBababooeyHTJ knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demo View Post
I'm guessing they clock a bit better, but imo should just be a replacement rather than a "next tier" model.
Doesn't sound any different than 4890.

It should at least match GTX680 while drawing the same amount of juice as a current 7970. Might surpass GTX680 at higher resolutions while having more overclocking headroom and more memory.

Did you not pay more for that 2700k? Its not really any different.

Last edited by BababooeyHTJ : Jun 10, 2012 at 09:00 AM.
BababooeyHTJ is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2012, 09:03 AM   #30
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 25,700
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

I thought the 4890 had more changes than a clock bump.

Fair point about the 2700k
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
1st review of the 7970 GHz Edition? ECH1 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 11 Jun 8, 2012 10:15 PM
AMD Radeon 7970 GHz Edition? caveman-jim AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 16 Mar 12, 2012 11:19 PM
XFX Radeon 7970 Black Edition Overclocked vs GTX 580 OC vs Radeon 6970 OC @ HardwareH Lupine Front Page News 0 Jan 9, 2012 10:58 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:14 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink