Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 27, 2002, 09:59 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
EdibleFetus
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 100
EdibleFetus is still being judged by the masses


Default Siggraph

Got a nice image of some chicks face.
They claim "Image rendered using NV30."

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...,415713,00.asp


ATI Debuts FireGL X1 with PICS.
Got a pic of the realtime LOTR demo

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...,415714,00.asp
EdibleFetus is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 10:01 AM   #2
EdibleFetus
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Halifax, Nova Scotia, Canada
Posts: 100
EdibleFetus is still being judged by the masses


Default

looks like i really missed this one..

2 days old article and it's been posted already
sorry.
EdibleFetus is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 12:15 PM   #3
T2k
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,963
T2k is still being judged by the masses


Default Re: Siggraph

Quote:
Originally posted by EdibleFetus

ATI Debuts FireGL X1 with PICS.
Got a pic of the realtime LOTR demo

http://www.extremetech.com/article2/...,415714,00.asp
It's NOT FIREGL. Read first...

http://www.rage3d.com/board/showthre...eadid=33628396
T2k is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jul 27, 2002, 12:48 PM   #4
Myrmecophagavir
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: Oxford, UK
Posts: 174
Myrmecophagavir is still being judged by the masses


Default

I thought it was the FireGL. The quad 8500 thing had nothing to do with the LOTR scene.
Myrmecophagavir is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 02:41 PM   #5
Sachankara
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Location: Sweden Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1,092
Sachankara is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hmm... I have no doubts that the NV30 can't do that, but I don't think it really has been rendered with the NV30 since I've seen that image a long time ago, including a video and they were both made with Maya...

http://www.raph.com/3dartists/artgal...baptistao1.jpg

This is the official homepage of Alceu Baptistão: http://www.vetorzero.com/kaya/

He doesn't mention anything about the NV30 on that page, so either they stole the image, or they bought it...
Sachankara is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 03:29 PM   #6
GrrrPoop
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Newcastle, UK
Posts: 455
GrrrPoop is still being judged by the masses


Default

Any graphics card could "render" that image.

However, no commericial graphics card currently available could dynamically generate a scene involving a character that complex. Nor will nV30, nV35 or R400 be able to accomplish that.

It is a static image. It is very misleading of Extremetech to run an article on Nv30 and attach a picture like that to it.

Like Sachankara said, it will have been generated within Maya, and even if it was "rendered using NV30" it means nothing.
__________________
:: XP1800 @ 1600Mhz : 512mb Crucial PC2100 : MSI K7T266 Pro2-RU : Taisol 760 : Sapphire Radeon 9800 : SBLive! : CoolerMaster ATCs 201 w/ 431w Enermax ::
GrrrPoop is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 04:42 PM   #7
T2k
Banned
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,963
T2k is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sachankara
Hmm... I have no doubts that the NV30 can't do that, but I don't think it really has been rendered with the NV30 since I've seen that image a long time ago, including a video and they were both made with Maya...

http://www.raph.com/3dartists/artgal...baptistao1.jpg

This is the official homepage of Alceu Baptistão: http://www.vetorzero.com/kaya/

He doesn't mention anything about the NV30 on that page, so either they stole the image, or they bought it...
My nmistake...

So, LOTR was rendered by new Fire GL X1 on Linux.

And the 4GPU card is NOPT FGL X1 but 8500x4 card by CAE corporation.
T2k is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 05:27 PM   #8
littlegohanz
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 83
littlegohanz is still being judged by the masses


Default

that rendered pic is really impressive

close to photorealism

I wonder whne will be see a game of that quality
probably 4 or 5 years?
littlegohanz is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 05:34 PM   #9
Ostsol
Cheesesun
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,604
Ostsol is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by littlegohanz
that rendered pic is really impressive

close to photorealism

I wonder whne will be see a game of that quality
probably 4 or 5 years?
I'd say two years at most. Look at what could be rendered in realtime two years ago then compare it to the new ATI demos. The progression has been really quite fast.
__________________
Windows XP / Kubuntu (Dapper Drake) Linux
Pentium 940 D @ 3.2 GHz
1024 MB PC-4200 DDR2 RAM
ATI Radeon X1900 XTX
SoundBlaster Audigy XGamer

-Ostsol
Ostsol is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 09:34 PM   #10
littlegohanz
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jul 2002
Posts: 83
littlegohanz is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think 2 years is too fast

You do realize that the ff movie took 120 million to produce right? To have games of that quality is mind boggling
littlegohanz is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 10:22 PM   #11
barnaby
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: In a house..
Posts: 216
barnaby is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Sachankara
Hmm... I have no doubts that the NV30 can't do that, but I don't think it really has been rendered with the NV30 since I've seen that image a long time ago, including a video and they were both made with Maya...

http://www.raph.com/3dartists/artgal...baptistao1.jpg

This is the official homepage of Alceu Baptistão: http://www.vetorzero.com/kaya/

He doesn't mention anything about the NV30 on that page, so either they stole the image, or they bought it...
it's the same thing Ati did with the real light, and animemusic demos.. those are old stuff.. they just showed that what took 10 minutes a frame on a redermachine when they were created, gets done in real time on the 9700...

same thing with kaya and the nv30... now, what ati and nVidia's definition of real time means is another thing... for all we know .01 fps is all they're getting.. it would be considered real time, just not the 24 fps yer thinking of..
__________________
I am Becoming...
barnaby is offline  
Old Jul 27, 2002, 10:28 PM   #12
Ostsol
Cheesesun
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 3,604
Ostsol is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by littlegohanz
I think 2 years is too fast

You do realize that the ff movie took 120 million to produce right? To have games of that quality is mind boggling
Remember that the original version of the Radeon 9700's Real Light demo was prerendered and took 10 minutes to render a single frame -- and this was last year. What would you have though it someone showed you that demo two years ago and said that it was done in realtime at >30 fps? I think two years before cinema quality graphics are seen is quite good estimate. Real-time graphics will probably mostly still use textures, while plenty of cinema quality graphics don't, but the quality will be almost indistinguishable.

EDIT: One thing to keep in mind is that CG movies are rendered at extremely high resolutions and receive FSAA. That's part of why it takes so long to render individual frames.
__________________
Windows XP / Kubuntu (Dapper Drake) Linux
Pentium 940 D @ 3.2 GHz
1024 MB PC-4200 DDR2 RAM
ATI Radeon X1900 XTX
SoundBlaster Audigy XGamer

-Ostsol

Last edited by Ostsol : Jul 27, 2002 at 10:33 PM.
Ostsol is offline  
Old Jul 28, 2002, 01:07 AM   #13
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 26,075
Sasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by barnaby


it's the same thing Ati did with the real light, and animemusic demos.. those are old stuff.. they just showed that what took 10 minutes a frame on a redermachine when they were created, gets done in real time on the 9700...

same thing with kaya and the nv30... now, what ati and nVidia's definition of real time means is another thing... for all we know .01 fps is all they're getting.. it would be considered real time, just not the 24 fps yer thinking of..
The ATI demos are in movie format on ATI's website, and from what ive seen, they are like at the very least 30x faster than 1fps (consistant too, so it can be anywhere from 30+fps) (yes u CAN see the real light demo move nice and smooth with what appeared to be some minor stuttering, but that can be accounted for what background apps have been eating up memory or something. I know thats how any stuttering occurs on my computer.)
__________________
------Squachbox 2.0------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
AMD Ryzen 5 2600X @ 3.6ghz
Asus Prime B450M A/CSM
2 x 8GB G-Skill DDR4 2666
Dell E2210 (22" widescreen) monitor + AMD Radeon R9 290
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Seagate Barracuda 2TB SATA
Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition headset
Sasquach is offline  
Old Jul 28, 2002, 02:52 AM   #14
travbrad1001
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Posts: 880
travbrad1001 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by littlegohanz
I think 2 years is too fast

You do realize that the ff movie took 120 million to produce right? To have games of that quality is mind boggling
I think 2 years is too fast also. Not really for technology reasons but because game developers cant afford to dish out $100+ million for a game. If they made a $25 profit per game sold (just an estimate) they would have to sell 4 million copies of the game just to break even.
travbrad1001 is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
ATI at SIGGRAPH? noko AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Jul 13, 2006 05:10 AM
Back from SIGGRAPH L.A Java Cool Dude Off Topic Lounge 6 Aug 14, 2004 01:11 AM
Going To SIGGRAPH in LA Java Cool Dude Off Topic Lounge 3 Aug 3, 2004 04:10 AM
FireGL X1 @ Siggraph MrB Front Page News 0 Jul 26, 2002 08:07 PM
siggraph r200 unsane999 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 12 Aug 13, 2001 10:41 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:28 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink