Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D)
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) Home of the Team Rage3D [email protected] project. Get [email protected] info, download information, and details on how to join the Team. Team Rage3D progress updates posted here daily.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 17, 2020, 11:48 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,400
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default CPU + GPU Folding?

Alright, brought my home machine online (Ryzen 5 2600). On the GPU front, I'm still running my now venerable R9 Fury X.

Question. Does the [email protected] client still support CPU + GPU folding? Right now, the default cfg enabled the CPU client alone. Can I also enable GPU folding, and would it even be worth it on this GPU.

Thanks.
__________________
The only thing as dangerous as taking hydroxychloroquine is listening to someone who is taking hydroxychloroquine. Therein lies the road to madness.
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2020, 12:35 AM   #2
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,400
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

Well now. [email protected] has taken much of the fun out of this by, you know, making things just work? Half the fun was the required tinkering and duct tape to make the thing run lol.



So yeah, looks like the client automagically detected both CPU & GPU configs, and both are [email protected]

Fold on!
__________________
The only thing as dangerous as taking hydroxychloroquine is listening to someone who is taking hydroxychloroquine. Therein lies the road to madness.
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 18, 2020, 09:31 AM   #3
DarkFoss
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: United States Illinios
Posts: 852
DarkFoss can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDarkFoss can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Haha if you are looking for challenge you'll want to try running FAH on linux.

I retired my FX8350 from folding once I started getting trounced by Intel i3 procs. R9 Fury X is still quite respectable it's what I'm using as well.

I wonder how much of an improvement your Ryzen will provide your Fury's TPF & PPD ? Well once the wu's start flowing again.
__________________
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety,deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
Ben Franklin, 1755
DarkFoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 19, 2020, 08:25 AM   #4
Flyordie
Lets roll...
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 3,609
Flyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyFlyordie can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lupine View Post
Alright, brought my home machine online (Ryzen 5 2600). On the GPU front, I'm still running my now venerable R9 Fury X.

Question. Does the [email protected] client still support CPU + GPU folding? Right now, the default cfg enabled the CPU client alone. Can I also enable GPU folding, and would it even be worth it on this GPU.

Thanks.

Woo.. I have its younger, bigger brother folding. :-p



Nets me about 950,000ppd when its running a WU. 1.1mil ppd if I run everything CPU+GPU.
__________________
Be a pirate.
Flyordie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 19, 2020, 10:22 AM   #5
Lupine
Administrator
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Grants Pass, OR
Posts: 32,400
Lupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at bestLupine considers Jack Bauer an amateur at best


Default

__________________
The only thing as dangerous as taking hydroxychloroquine is listening to someone who is taking hydroxychloroquine. Therein lies the road to madness.
Lupine is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 24, 2020, 08:04 PM   #6
Turbo_Rage3d_
Blessed to be here!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Greenville, SC
Posts: 519
Turbo_Rage3d_ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
Woo.. I have its younger, bigger brother folding. :-p



Nets me about 950,000ppd when its running a WU. 1.1mil ppd if I run everything CPU+GPU.
Nice!
__________________
Help the cause and help Team Rage3d,
START FOLDING TODAY!!!
GOD BLESS!!!
Turbo_Rage3d_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2020, 06:21 PM   #7
cbsboyer
ATI EGA Wonder
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada In the golden horseshoe
Posts: 7,530
cbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete strangercbsboyer once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I'm finding that I'm getting more work units done more quickly by pausing the CPU client (it's an FX-8350, so it wasn't adding much anyway) and letting my two GPUs do the heavy lifting. I'm guessing that even though the client was only using 4 of the 8 cores for folding, it still couldn't keep the GPUs fed.
__________________
"When you find a big kettle of crazy, it's best not to stir it." - Dilbert's pointy hair boss

"Relationships are like dormant volcanoes, most of the time things are fine or manageable but there's always a chance she blows molten crazy all over you." - ice
cbsboyer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 28, 2020, 06:38 PM   #8
DarkFoss
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: United States Illinios
Posts: 852
DarkFoss can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyDarkFoss can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by cbsboyer View Post
I'm finding that I'm getting more work units done more quickly by pausing the CPU client (it's an FX-8350, so it wasn't adding much anyway) and letting my two GPUs do the heavy lifting. I'm guessing that even though the client was only using 4 of the 8 cores for folding, it still couldn't keep the GPUs fed.
Yeah I have the same cpu. Out of curiosity I enabled it on a 14588 wu it's TPF average is 12.41 minutes, 24 hours to complete 1 wu. Deleting the cpu slot once it's finished.
__________________
Those who would give up Essential Liberty to purchase a little Temporary Safety,deserve neither Liberty nor Safety.
Ben Franklin, 1755
DarkFoss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 29, 2020, 12:06 AM   #9
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,105
Treeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

i haven't been folding since I just tried it years ago...but since COVID-19 outbreak...so I'd considering to donate my power by run folding on my rig. I have 1700X and a RX Vega 56 with OC/UV And yes, I do have dual boot- windows 10 and Ubuntu MATE 19.10 x64.

I also still have a R9 Fury. I might think add it to my rig since I replaced my old case with a new case so which makes it possible for a R9 Fury to fit in since there is a huge room and plus my PSU is 1000W so I'll suppose it should handles no problem.

Any thought about how to set up R9 Fury/RX Vega 56 and 1700X?
__________________

AMD Phenom II X2 555 @ stock clock
Xigamtek Knight cooler
ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 (4x4GB)
Intel 530 240GB SSD
XFX ATI Radeon 4870 1GB
Antec Truepower 750W
NZXT Source 210
Windows 7 x64



AMD FX-8350 @ stock clock
Gigabyte GA-990FX-UD5 R5
G.Skill Sniper 16GB (8x2) DDR3 1866
Arctic Freezer 7 Pro 7 rev. 2
Gigabyte Windforce 7950 3GB Ghz Edition
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD
EVGA SuperNova 650W
NZXT Source 210 w/ two Noctua F-12 fans
Ubuntu MATE 64-bit
Intel i5 3570K @ stock clock | G.Skill 16GB (8GBx2) DDR3 1866 | Silicon Power 60GB SSD | Win 10 Pro x64 | NZXT Source 210
Treeckcold57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Mar 30, 2020, 07:22 AM   #10
Turbo_Rage3d_
Blessed to be here!
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Greenville, SC
Posts: 519
Turbo_Rage3d_ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Treeckcold57 View Post
i haven't been folding since I just tried it years ago...but since COVID-19 outbreak...so I'd considering to donate my power by run folding on my rig. I have 1700X and a RX Vega 56 with OC/UV And yes, I do have dual boot- windows 10 and Ubuntu MATE 19.10 x64.

I also still have a R9 Fury. I might think add it to my rig since I replaced my old case with a new case so which makes it possible for a R9 Fury to fit in since there is a huge room and plus my PSU is 1000W so I'll suppose it should handles no problem.

Any thought about how to set up R9 Fury/RX Vega 56 and 1700X?
The [email protected] installer should make it fairly easy. I would suggest if you let your CPU fold, limiting it to 8 threads only. That will help make sure both GPUs have enough CPU cycles to fold at their peak.
__________________
Help the cause and help Team Rage3d,
START FOLDING TODAY!!!
GOD BLESS!!!
Turbo_Rage3d_ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2020, 11:44 AM   #11
gamefoo21
Rage Furry X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada Saskatchewan
Posts: 9,484
gamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Mein V2 is crunching...

I have to keep the CPU folding offline it seems, or it starves the V2 for data.
__________________
"Curiosity is the very basis of education and if you tell me that curiosity killed the cat, I say only that the cat died nobly." - Arnold Edinborough

Heatware
gamefoo21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 2, 2020, 05:21 PM   #12
jima13
Retired
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States La Grande, Oregon
Posts: 5,577
jima13 is still being judged by the masses


Thumbs up

Well, my main system seems to be back on track. If all systems got work I estimate 5-6 million ppd...might be wishful thinking, but I can hope.

Being out in eastern OR the number of confirmed cases increased from 1 to 3 yesterday, not bad but I'll be happy when the curve flattens 'everywhere'...
jima13 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 8, 2020, 04:19 PM   #13
Crawdaddy79
Radeon 8500
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Virginia
Posts: 17,867
Crawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird singsCrawdaddy79 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Flyordie View Post
Woo.. I have its younger, bigger brother folding. :-p

https://i.imgur.com/V6KA6iF.jpg

Nets me about 950,000ppd when its running a WU. 1.1mil ppd if I run everything CPU+GPU.
Just noticed we have the same card.

I get 1.1M - 1.25M PPD with the V64 GPU typically and about 70k - 100k PPD from the 2700X CPU.





I typically run it at default (MSI Air Boost) clock speeds so it's strange that mine churns out 20% more points. Drivers?
Crawdaddy79 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
GPU folding... absolutefunk Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 1 Jan 26, 2008 04:16 PM
What is folding about? aop Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 7 Jul 12, 2006 07:02 AM
why am i still folding? 311Sam Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 19 Apr 18, 2005 10:04 AM
help with folding on a amd 64 hotwired Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 4 Mar 27, 2004 10:30 PM
What is folding? compunoob Distributed Computing (Team Rage3D) 2 Nov 5, 2003 05:39 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:31 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink