Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 1, 2004, 07:24 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
systemz
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
systemz is still being judged by the masses


Default Counter Strike 1.6 fps issue

I know this has been posted many times and has been mentioned in another thread. I have been coming here daily for the last 2 weeks and have tried EVERYTHING i know to fix this issue but nothing seems to work. This affects ALOT of people so i think in this thread we should resolve the issue once and for all .

the prolem is in game (countersrike 1.6 steam) my fps is not constant it is very jumpy and unstable and i know this is not normal.

my computer specs

athlon 2000+
512 DDR
windows XP
radeon 9600 xt 256 ddr (cube brand)
ASUS A7V8X mainbord
currently running the 4.5 catalyst driver

i have tried many things to resolve this issue:
- in game tried commands fps_max 101 to lockit
- made sure cs runnnig in opengl mode
- in video card (smartgart tab) made sure running at 8xagp (but fast write is locked in off position )
- turned of vsync in video card settings
- installed XP service pack 1 (XPSP1)
- installed power strip side band addressing was enabled
- downloaded latest video card and mother board drivers
- bought new power supply 400w
-used reforce to lock refreshrate

is there anything else i can try?
also please if your going to reply with "i dont know why people complain about 60 fps etc please refrain"

This has been very frustrating and would finally like to solve the problem, so please any ideas?

Last edited by systemz : Jun 1, 2004 at 07:36 PM.
systemz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2004, 07:36 PM   #2
MoRTiZ
Hibernating
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,224
MoRTiZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

After reading all those threads daily for the past 2 weeks and you still haven't come to a conclusion that ATI drivers just have problems with CS (Regardless of versions)??!!

This is something in OpenGL which is to be resolved by ATI sometime in the future. They're completely rewriting the OpenGL code so you won't see this anytime soon.

No matter what settings you try, the differences will be minimal.
Heck, some even say its due to bad programming on CS part.

Whatever the case, you've got pretty much all the settings for an ATI card right except...

- Set your AGP to 4x instead of 8x (no performance gain/decrease here)
- Fastwrites is optional for you since you're running a 9600 card. Just use the one which works best for the game you're playing. I used to turn on my 9600Pro Bravo all the time without any problems.
- Set AGP to '66' in Bios
- Try pulling the voltage to your card. 1.6v should be fine.
- Set AGP Aperture to 256 (Briefly discussed in General Radeon Discussions forum)

Hope that helps. If not, don't complain as it's normal for whatever ATI card you have to show anomalies in CS. Just in case you havent heard... HalfLife2 will come bundled with CS-Source and will be out in about 2 months time so you can start counting days instead of Frames/sec from now onwards whenever you play CS.

__________________
AMD XP 2600+ | Powercolor 9800Pro 128mb (400/350)
Epox 8RDA3+ Nforce2 Ultra 400 | 1 Gig DDR 400 Ram [Dual Channel]
WinXP SP2 | Seagate Barracuda 160g + 80g Hdd
Liteon 16x Dvdrom/52x CDR | Pioneer 107D 8x DVDR
Logitech Z-640 5.1 Speakers | Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech MX500 Mouse | Logitech Keyboard Elite
MoRTiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2004, 07:55 PM   #3
systemz
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
systemz is still being judged by the masses


Default

dont complain? yer ok
pay $300 doesnt workand its because they cant write a decent driver....
systemz is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 1, 2004, 08:18 PM   #4
systemz
Newbie
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 3
systemz is still being judged by the masses


Default

Here is the way to fix it:
- Go to the WindowsSystem32 directory and look for your opengl.dll

If you're using a nvidia card the nvoglnt.dll is the right one.
For Ati cards it's the atioglxx.dll.
And for the rest the opengl32.dll.

- copy that file to your [email protected] directory.

- open the drvmap.txt in that directory and change the text to the following:

Default Default
gldrv/YOURFILENAME.dll

Even If you have the special DLLs for the vid cards:

- copy the opengl32.dll to your [email protected] directory.

- open the drvmap.txt in that directory and change the text to the following:

Default Default
gldrv/opengl32.dll
systemz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2004, 09:16 PM   #5
anthonyownz
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: LA
Posts: 35
anthonyownz is still being judged by the masses


Default

that doesnt work
anthonyownz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 1, 2004, 10:22 PM   #6
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

That 'fix' is TOTAL BS its suprising how many people continue to post it though *sigh*
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2004, 09:06 AM   #7
MoRTiZ
Hibernating
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 1,224
MoRTiZ is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by spyre
That 'fix' is TOTAL BS its suprising how many people continue to post it though *sigh*
Seconded!
That just gives the gullible users something to do with false hope that it actually works.

*Sigh* Paid $300 for a 4 year old game.
I'm still playing CS: Condition Zero with all settings in Control Panel to the max and the game is still very playable at that stage without any hiccups. There are times in few split seconds that framerates dipped below average but we're talking about split seconds here, not the entire game. Very sensitive players out there.
__________________
AMD XP 2600+ | Powercolor 9800Pro 128mb (400/350)
Epox 8RDA3+ Nforce2 Ultra 400 | 1 Gig DDR 400 Ram [Dual Channel]
WinXP SP2 | Seagate Barracuda 160g + 80g Hdd
Liteon 16x Dvdrom/52x CDR | Pioneer 107D 8x DVDR
Logitech Z-640 5.1 Speakers | Creative Soundblaster Audigy 2 ZS
Logitech MX500 Mouse | Logitech Keyboard Elite
MoRTiZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2004, 02:27 PM   #8
gameover
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Norway
Posts: 98
gameover is still being judged by the masses


Default

U should try tweak programs, and\or the fps skins from www.clanbase.com
This helped me alot.
I hardly get any fps drop anymore.
__________________
ASUS P4C800 Deluxe :: P4 2.8 :: 2x512 PC3200 :: Hercules 9800XT @ 418/364 (1.7V)
gameover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2004, 02:58 PM   #9
Xiro
Oo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States NH
Posts: 3,356
Xiro can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyXiro can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default cs Q

not related but I havent played CS for awhile. Went last night to DL CS 1.6 and you have to pay for the game now? I thoguht CS was free as long as you had HL, or did they change that? All i know is I went to counter strikes website clicked on 1.6 and it made me DL "Stream" or "Steam" whatever the hell it was saying it could DL/Update CS from there. well I loaded it and clicked Counter Strike (not condition zero) and it said give me $40 bucks please k ty. So does it cost $$ to play CS or is something wacky? If you dont have to pay for it if you still have HL post a link please to where I can DL it.
Xiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2004, 03:00 PM   #10
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

No you dont have to pay
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2004, 03:14 PM   #11
Xiro
Oo
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States NH
Posts: 3,356
Xiro can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyXiro can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

then how do I get CS? lol Im in a endless loop :/

EDIT: NM!! Im a moron, If you just continue clicking saying hells no I dont want to pay it gives you a screen to which im entitled to

Last edited by Xiro : Jun 2, 2004 at 03:17 PM.
Xiro is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2004, 08:45 PM   #12
tone[fox2]
ATI DirectX/NVIDIA OpenGL
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States west palm beach, fl
Posts: 547
tone[fox2] is still being judged by the masses


Default

You download the Steam CS cache install, if you don't already have it installed. If you've never used Steam before, you create a Steam account. In the Steam account process, it will ask you sometime for a Half-Life CD key, be it from CS retail, HL retail, or Blueshift, doesn't matter. You give your CD key, and now it's linked forever to your account and you no longer need the hard copy of the CD key.
tone[fox2] is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Counter-Strike: Source Crashing Issue falltime Radeon Technical Support 0 Apr 12, 2005 12:39 AM
Counter Strike: Source issue w/ X800 XT Helevitia Radeon Technical Support 21 Sep 27, 2004 11:45 AM
Will Counter-Strike Driver Issue Ever Be Resolved mr.Goodbar AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 8 Mar 24, 2003 07:43 AM
strange issue in counter-strike??? birz Radeon Technical Support 5 Apr 25, 2002 01:41 PM
Little Counter-Strike + truform issue.... Zyphria AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 8 Oct 22, 2001 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:23 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink