Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Oct 17, 2019, 01:57 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 25,654
Sasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default Power issue?

Can someone help me diagnose this (or at least guesstimate what could be the issue)

So my PC (old as **** right now, still works and runs good though)
started to be a bit weird with the power button. I can turn it on and it runs, but as soon as it goes into sleep mode it wont ever wake up. Power button does nothing, reset does nothing, pressing keyboard/moving mouse....nothing happens.
I have to flick on/off the PSU switch to get it going again.
And last night I had to hold the power button a bit longer than usual to get it to run, as pressing it fairly quickly resulting in it booting and dying half a second later and having to do the PSU on/off switch.

In short, once my PC is running and then shuts off automatically for any reason, I have to press the PSU switch on/off to get it to turn on again.

I did just add a harddrive to it so maybe theres just too much stuff in my PC now....

Heres what I have (all stock)
-Gigabyte AM3 mobo (AMD 750FX chipset)
-AMD Phenom 2 X4 955 (3.2ghz) with an aftermarket cooler (a large copper one by zalman )
-PC Power and cooling 750W power supply.
-4x sticks of RAM totalling 12GB (2x4 + 2x2)
-3x harddrives (2x500gb + 1x2TB, all 7200RPM drives)
-Radeon R9 290
-old PCI-E wireless network card.
-Asus Xonar PCI-E soundcard
-1x blu-ray DVD writer/re-writer
-1x CD drive (I got this specific model CD drive because it reads Wii game discs. I wanted to used it to burn some of my Wii games so I can emulate them and run them in HD on my PC....Its been along time since I started doing it so I don't actually think im gonna bother doing this...)
-USB Bluetooth adapter (again for Wii purposes...don't really use it for anything else)
-USB mouse, PS/2 keyboard.
__________________
------The Squachbox------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
Zalman CNPS9900LED on AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2ghz
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
4gb Patriot Viper Series Low Latency DDR3 1600
8gb Patriot Gamer 2 series Performance DDR3 1600
Dell E2210 (22" widescreen) monitor + AMD Radeon R9 290
Western Digital Caviar Black 500gb 7200RPM SATA
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition on Asus Xonar Xense
Sasquach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2019, 02:48 PM   #2
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 10,272
Mahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Just to clarify, everything worked just fine before the new harddrive?


I've had components in the past that didn't like to go into sleep mode.
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2019, 03:02 PM   #3
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 25,654
Sasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mahjik View Post
Just to clarify, everything worked just fine before the new harddrive?


I've had components in the past that didn't like to go into sleep mode.
yeah everything was fine before the 2TB harddrive.
__________________
------The Squachbox------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
Zalman CNPS9900LED on AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2ghz
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
4gb Patriot Viper Series Low Latency DDR3 1600
8gb Patriot Gamer 2 series Performance DDR3 1600
Dell E2210 (22" widescreen) monitor + AMD Radeon R9 290
Western Digital Caviar Black 500gb 7200RPM SATA
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition on Asus Xonar Xense
Sasquach is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Oct 17, 2019, 03:13 PM   #4
Mahjik
Motoring Goodness
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Kansas City, MO
Posts: 10,272
Mahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badgesMahjik doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

If you didn't install the OS to the drive, you could try unplugging it and forcing the PC into sleep mode; then see if recovers just fine. That would be a quick way to verify.
Mahjik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2019, 03:14 PM   #5
bill dennison
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: United States phoenix
Posts: 19,418
bill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Dieselbill dennison exchanges holiday cards with Vin Diesel


Default

try turning hard drives to never turn off in sleep

https://www.thewindowsclub.com/preve...-sleep-windows
bill dennison is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 17, 2019, 10:13 PM   #6
pax
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Grand Falls, New Brunswick, Canada
Posts: 26,592
pax knows why the caged bird singspax knows why the caged bird singspax knows why the caged bird singspax knows why the caged bird singspax knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Ya sleep mode has sucked for some time now. I just put on display sleep only...
__________________
I talked to the tree. Thats why they put me away!..." Peter Sellers, The Goon Show
Only superficial people cant be superficial... Oscar Wilde

Piledriver Rig 2016: Gigabyte G1 gaming 990fx. FX 8350 cpu. Asus R290 DCUII Cats 19.9.3, SoundBlaster ZXR, 2 x 8 gig ddr3 1866 Kingston. 1 x 2tb Firecuda seagate with 8 gig mlc SSHD. Sharp 60" 4k 60 hz tv. Win 10 home.

Ryzen Rig 2017: Gigabyte X370 K7 F40 bios. Ryzen 1700x. 2 x 8 ddr4 3600 (@3200) Gskill. Sapphire Vega 64 Reference Cooler Cats 19.9.3. Soundblaster X Ae5 May 10th 2018 driver. 28" Upstar 4k ips 60hz panel, Intel 600p NVME 512GB. 4 TB HGST NAS HD. Win 10 pro.

Ignore List: Keystone... -My Baron he wishes to inform you that vendetta, as he puts it in the ancient tongue, the art of kanlee is still alive... He does not wish to meet or speak with you...-
"Either half my colleagues are enormously stupid, or else the science of darwinism is fully compatible with conventional religious beliefs and equally compatible with atheism." -Stephen Jay Gould, Rock of Ages.
"The Intelligibility of the Universe itself needs explanation. It is not the gaps of understanding of the world that points to God but rather the very comprehensibility of scientific and other forms of understanding that requires an explanation." -Richard Swinburne


www.realitysandwich.com

www.makepovertyhistory.org
pax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 18, 2019, 09:54 AM   #7
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 25,654
Sasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Ugh last night I tried turning it on and now it wont at all.

I ended up unplugging everything the PSU was attached to and just plugged it into the motherboard and it still wont turn on.

It did at one point run in this almost basic configuration (didnt remove anything from the motherboard) but without power to my GPU I cant see or get into BIOS. But once I shut it down it just wouldn't power up anymore.

No beeping in any scenario here.

Its either my motherboard or my PSU...hard to tell. Motherboard still lights up though (mobo has 3 onboard cmos/bios/reset buttons that always lights up when the computer is plugged in, on/off doesn't matter).

Im leaning towards a shot PSU....might have degraded over the course of the past 10 or so years I had it and maybe now its getting overworked the last little bit.

Man I wasn't planning on upgrading the PC until the Zen4's. If the motherboard is fried then I just might have to.
__________________
------The Squachbox------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
Zalman CNPS9900LED on AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2ghz
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
4gb Patriot Viper Series Low Latency DDR3 1600
8gb Patriot Gamer 2 series Performance DDR3 1600
Dell E2210 (22" widescreen) monitor + AMD Radeon R9 290
Western Digital Caviar Black 500gb 7200RPM SATA
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition on Asus Xonar Xense
Sasquach is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 19, 2019, 12:44 AM   #8
ugly
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 479
ugly is still being judged by the masses


Default

That sucks. I was forced to do an unexpected upgrade recently too. After installing a PCIe card, my PC would reset almost as soon as I turned it on. Bought motherboard replacement on Ebay. Turned out the problem was the CPU. Did the whole upgrade and things were generally working. But during gaming I'd get random restarts with no error message. Turned out it zapped my GPU as well.

On one hand, grateful that I didn't lose data. On the other hand, sucks that the two components that got zapped were the two most expensive.

In your situation, a PSU should be a low-risk purchase to test things out. It's always good to have a second, reliable PSU on hand. So I wouldn't consider it a total waste of money even if the PSU isn't the problem.
ugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2019, 12:51 AM   #9
Nagorak
Incarnation of the Nether
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Amanackia
Posts: 11,096
Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

You're sure it's not just the power switch itself that's bad? If the power button is getting stuck that could explain the computer powering up, then powering back off after a few seconds due to the "4 second power button held in" shut off. Maybe it's a long shot, but I'd try just unplugging the switch and shorting the power pins on the board and seeing if it starts.
Nagorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2019, 09:24 PM   #10
Payne3d
[Fancy a Butcher's?]
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States 192.168.0.1
Posts: 12,882
Payne3d knows why the caged bird singsPayne3d knows why the caged bird singsPayne3d knows why the caged bird singsPayne3d knows why the caged bird singsPayne3d knows why the caged bird singsPayne3d knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sasquach View Post
Ugh last night I tried turning it on and now it wont at all.

I ended up unplugging everything the PSU was attached to and just plugged it into the motherboard and it still wont turn on.

It did at one point run in this almost basic configuration (didnt remove anything from the motherboard) but without power to my GPU I cant see or get into BIOS. But once I shut it down it just wouldn't power up anymore.

No beeping in any scenario here.

Its either my motherboard or my PSU...hard to tell. Motherboard still lights up though (mobo has 3 onboard cmos/bios/reset buttons that always lights up when the computer is plugged in, on/off doesn't matter).

Im leaning towards a shot PSU....might have degraded over the course of the past 10 or so years I had it and maybe now its getting overworked the last little bit.

Man I wasn't planning on upgrading the PC until the Zen4's. If the motherboard is fried then I just might have to.
you can try the paper clip test on the powersupply
https://docs.google.com/viewer?url=h...520Clip-EN.pdf
__________________
"World's First Analyst and Therapist: the Analrapist"
"Part time Cork Soaker"
Payne3d is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Oct 20, 2019, 11:02 PM   #11
Sasquach
2/10 will not bang
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Canada Cowtown
Posts: 25,654
Sasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badgesSasquach doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

So I went and bought a new PSU. Before installing it I thought i'd try the old one again and hey it powered up.
Ok, then I hooked up the GPU since I cant see anything without it and....well nothing gets displayed. Its powered on but nothing shows up. I turned on/off the PC a few times to no avail. I then hooked up the new PSU and same thing...its powering up, but nothing is happening or showing.

Im starting to think the PSU is not the issue and the mobo is the culprit. I decided to hook up the old PSU again thinking its actually fine, and then I took the CMOS battery out and reinstalled it a few seconds later (It was one of things I was going to try yesterday but ended up not for some reason)

This time It fired up, beeped, and went into bios...with the display showing the bios! HUZZAH! I turned it off, reinstalled everything I had, turned it back up, went to bios to retweak things (since removing the cmos battery resets the bios) and it went back into windows without issue!. So perhaps my CMOS battery is actually going bad. I managed to turn it on/off a few times without issue now.

Doesn't look like I need a new PSU or upgrade my PC yet. Maybe a new CMOS battery is all i need.
__________________
------The Squachbox------
Gigabyte 3D Aurora 570 full size aluminum chassis
PC Power & Cooling Silencer Quad Blue 750watt PSU
Zalman CNPS9900LED on AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE @ 3.2ghz
Gigabyte GA-MA790FXT-UD5P
4gb Patriot Viper Series Low Latency DDR3 1600
8gb Patriot Gamer 2 series Performance DDR3 1600
Dell E2210 (22" widescreen) monitor + AMD Radeon R9 290
Western Digital Caviar Black 500gb 7200RPM SATA
Seagate Barracuda 500gb 7200.12 SATA
Sennheiser PC350 Xense edition on Asus Xonar Xense
Sasquach is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Power Suplly Issue or what ? Evil Nemesis General Hardware 0 Sep 8, 2012 07:04 AM
3870 X2 power issue K1lted Radeon Technical Support 5 Mar 10, 2008 05:32 AM
Is G.I. Bro having a power issue? NeO_Radeon9700 Off Topic Lounge 17 Sep 29, 2003 10:20 PM
Power supply issue? ::qcx: Radeon Technical Support 1 Dec 10, 2001 11:00 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:49 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink