Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 21, 2003, 02:08 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Saintster
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Fort Bragg Ca
Posts: 57
Saintster is still being judged by the masses


Default Barton 2800 vs 2700 Thorough Bred 2700

I was thinking of switching from my 2700 tbird to the 2800 Barton. My question is does the extra cache = enough of a performance boost to switch processors. I have the 2700 oc to 2.34 a gig of corsiar ram and a Radeon pro 9800 oc to 390/350. My 3d 2001 se mark is 16777.
__________________
Who says Nvidia is King!

Cooler master w/red and blue cold cathodes
Athlon xp 2700+
1 gig corsair pc 3200 ddr
Radeon 9800 pro 128
A78nx deluxe rev 2.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2003, 02:38 AM   #2
Bomb&Run
King Tut
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tomato, Ontario
Posts: 6,116
Bomb&Run is still being judged by the masses


Default

Extra cache is good but if you are losing more than say 30 buks from this switch then i wouldn't think this will be worth it.
__________________
read sig
Bomb&Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 21, 2003, 11:59 AM   #3
Hunter32
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Indiana, USA
Posts: 50
Hunter32 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I don't think it would be worth the $$, at this time.
If if want to up grade hold out for the athlon 64.
Hunter32 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 21, 2003, 11:27 PM   #4
mabran
Wrigley Field Is A Pit
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States chicago
Posts: 4,760
mabran is still being judged by the masses


Default

I've been using a 2600+ (333fsb) at 2.20 ghz with a 9700pro for almost a year come november (9700 pro since august last year) it runs great and everything plays extremely well. Going from a 2700 to the barton seems miniscule at best.

I would wait for the 64's to materialize that is the upgrade I'm waiting for.

just my take
__________________
system spec: DA-GOODS
FX [email protected] , 8GB X4 crucial 1666, X-Fire Radeon 7970 3GB X2, ASUS Sabertooth 990FX r2.0, 2x Samsung 830 128GB (boot drive) 2X 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows 8 Pro.

system spec: HYPER-V
Phenom II 1090T , 8GB X4 Crucial 1666, Samsung SATA Dual Layer Burner, 5x 1TB Samsung HE103UJ SATA HD's, Windows Server 2008 R2
mabran is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2003, 01:58 AM   #5
Saintster
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Fort Bragg Ca
Posts: 57
Saintster is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks guys I am going to wait for the Athlon 64. The 2700 has been good to me so far. Thanks for the heads up!
__________________
Who says Nvidia is King!

Cooler master w/red and blue cold cathodes
Athlon xp 2700+
1 gig corsair pc 3200 ddr
Radeon 9800 pro 128
A78nx deluxe rev 2.
Saintster is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 22, 2003, 02:39 AM   #6
Chaosratt
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States St. Petersburg, FL
Posts: 738
Chaosratt is still being judged by the masses


Default

My Tbred B 2700 has been spectacular. It holds a 200fsb perfectly, tho neither my mobo or RAM like it. Take eveyone elses advice and wait on the Athlon 64.
__________________
"Life is not a journey to the grave with the intention of arriving safely in one pretty and well preserved piece, but to skid across the line broadside, thoroughly used up, worn out, leaking oil, shouting GERONIMO!"
-Bill McKenna, professional motorcycle racer, Cycle magazine Feb. 1982
Chaosratt is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Barton 2700 pixie69 General Hardware 2 Dec 9, 2004 05:49 PM
AMD XP 2700+ vs 2800+ AvengerX49 General Hardware 13 Aug 11, 2003 07:23 PM
Overclocking Athlon 2700+ and 2800+ PuNkJaSo General Hardware 1 Jun 14, 2003 06:59 PM
got my 2700 to 2800 greasyhands Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 4 Jan 28, 2003 07:55 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink