Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Off Topic Lounge
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Off Topic Lounge Discuss anything you want here folks. A place for computer junkies to boldly post Off Topic... Rant and rave if it is necessary, but just try to keep it clean!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 25, 2008, 01:46 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
NEODARK
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: United States Space Coast
Posts: 3,145
NEODARK is still being judged by the masses


Question Youtube HQ vid trick.

If this is OFN let it die, otherwise this is pretty cool: (PS: the windows music vids atatched are pretty cool)

Quote:
To fetch the higher quality version of a YouTube video, add &fmt=18 to the end of the URL, like this:

current/old version, 320x240 resolution:

http://youtube.com/watch?v=-DGj****RGk

high-quality (H.264) 480x360 version!

http://youtube.com/watch?v=-DGj****RGk&fmt=18

YouTube seems to have converted 90% of all uploads. Audio is now double the samplerate (from 22.05 to 44.1 kHz), and stereo for the fmt=18 version (not the fmt=6 version!), but sound is being processed in a weird way. You can read here how all this got discovered by dtfinch, bayme and yawoo. All three are members of the videohelp forum, where discussion on YouTube quality is still ongoing.
ARTICLE: http://jult.net/archive/2008/02/21/Y..._goes_high_qua (fetch the links for the vids here since the stupid word filter is breaking the links
__________________
Occam's razor ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥
NEODARK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2008, 02:41 PM   #2
SirBaron
Hallowed are the Ori
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany Niedersachsen
Posts: 24,758
SirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

__________________
My Twitch Channel Unbiased Gaming!

PS4/PC Streaming - Streaming PS Indie Titles + Infamous, Metal Gear, and Killzone Shadow Fall

Fantards the scourge of the universe:
SirBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2008, 05:08 PM   #3
RealyPssd
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: Canada Toronto, Ontario
Posts: 1,422
RealyPssd is still being judged by the masses


Default

Read about this a month ago or so over at FutureMark, it's a pretty neat trick.
RealyPssd is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 25, 2008, 05:11 PM   #4
Caleb
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United Kingdom London, UK
Posts: 8,126
Caleb is still being judged by the masses


Default

Its not really a trick... its an official feature.
Caleb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2008, 05:33 PM   #5
phial
no things
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 16,110
phial is still being judged by the masses


Default

Official how so? I cant find anything on the site that explains how to enable the higher quality vids or any news about it.

Ok I dont think its official because the link to switch between high/low quality appears after you manually paste &fmt=18 at the end, but once you click a link to another video it disappears.
__________________
What you perceive to be, is your reality.

Last edited by phial : Apr 25, 2008 at 05:55 PM.
phial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2008, 06:41 PM   #6
Hidavi
I'm Way Up
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States THE BIG APPLE
Posts: 26,568
Hidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I've seen the link for hq in a lot of spots while surfing Youtube without having to add anything to the url
__________________
Now Playing:
Joe Dever's: Lone Wolf (NS)
Final Fantasy World (PS4P)
Hidavi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 25, 2008, 06:48 PM   #7
phial
no things
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 16,110
phial is still being judged by the masses


Default

ahh.. ok i think im doing it to clips that are low quality only. it will say "switch to low quality" but it doesnt seem to look any different when you switch back and forth. perhaps i should emial them aboutit... meh it will get taken care of eventualy
__________________
What you perceive to be, is your reality.
phial is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 04:42 AM   #8
Taman Linkin
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Malaysia Hulu Langat, Selangor.
Posts: 1,238
Taman Linkin can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyTaman Linkin can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

You can go to your account setting and set fast connection, always play high quality in video setting.
__________________
I'm no fanboy. Never was. Never will be.
Taman Linkin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 01:44 PM   #9
Trunks0
Keeping an open mind
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Vancouver, B.C., Canada
Posts: 19,322
Trunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird singsTrunks0 knows why the caged bird sings


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by SirBaron View Post
Actually makes it look worse if you fullscreen it :\
__________________
-Trunks0
not speaking for all and if I am wrong I never said it.
(plz note that is meant as a joke)


System:
Gigabyte Z87X D3H - Intel i5 4670k @ 4.2Ghz - CoolerMaster Hyper 212 Black RGB - 16Gb Kingston HyperX Black DDR3-1600 - Asus DRW-24F1ST DVD±RW - Samsung 850 Evo 250Gib - 4TiB Seagate - Asus Radeon R9 Fury STRIX - X-Fi XtremeMusic(darkside lives on) - Windows 10 64-bit
Trunks0 is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2008, 04:45 PM   #10
-n7-
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Canada Edmonton, Alberta
Posts: 5,192
-n7- is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Taman Linkin View Post
You can go to your account setting and set fast connection, always play high quality in video setting.
Thanx...seems to work here, though it seems only some vidz are HQ?
__________________

n7


n7
-n7- is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
youtube down? biscuitownz Off Topic Lounge 3 May 17, 2009 11:44 PM
youtube down? nrs421 Off Topic Lounge 3 Nov 26, 2008 10:53 AM
YouTube Finally Upgrades m.youtube.com Hidavi Off Topic Lounge 0 Jan 24, 2008 03:39 PM
The nickle trick. Amazing pool trick! Oui Off Topic Lounge 13 Aug 17, 2006 04:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:27 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink