Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 10, 2010, 12:05 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ragewars_sc
Radeon Southern Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United Kingdom London
Posts: 2,950
ragewars_sc is still being judged by the masses


Default Geil 4GB DDR3 1333 Mhz or Corsair 4gb DDR3 1600mhz??

I am going away from amd for now and on the system i am making i don't know witch mem is better.

I will have a i5 750, a Gigabyte GA-P55A-UD3R mb and one of this mem:

1) Package Type Retail
Type DDR3 (Dual Channel)
Capacity 2GB (2 x 2GB)
Clock Speed 1333MHz
Compliance PC10660
CAS Latency 7.0
7-7-7-24
Chipset Geil
No. of Chips 8 Per Stick
Pins 240 Per Stick
Side Single Per Stick
Gross Weight (Kg) 0.06Kg
Special Features 240 pin, Non-ECC, Un-buffered DIMM
Working Voltage: 1.5V
8 Layers Custom Black Dragon PCB with LED
DBT - Die-hard Burn-in Technology) Enhanced
Package Contents 2 x 2GB Memory Sticks

and
2) orsair 4gb DDR3 1600mhz CL9 Memory Kit
Brand CORSAIR
Series XMS3 DHX
Model TW3X4G1600C9DHX
Type 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM
Tech Spec Capacity 4GB (2 x 2GB)
Speed DDR3 1600mhz (PC3 12800)
Cas Latency 9 Timing 9-9-9-24 Voltage 1.8V
Multi-channel Kit Dual Channel Kit
Heat Spreader Yes
Features 4096 Megabytes of DDR3 memory
-Two matched CM3X2G1600C9DHX modules
Using DHX technology providing maximum cooling
100% tested at 1600MHz in high performance DDR3 motherboards


Is the latency as important as it is with amd systems? I am close to chose Geil mainily because they look better meaner and becaus eof the low latency.
__________________
I know my english suxx sorry !!!
ragewars_sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 12:57 PM   #2
nycdarkness
ಠ_ಠ
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: China NYC
Posts: 8,341
nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'nycdarkness once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

i've ran those crosiar sticks @ 7 7 7 20 np.
__________________
Under construction


nycdarkness is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 02:45 PM   #3
Crisler
SAPPHIRE PR REP
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: United States Carbondale, IL
Posts: 7,909
Crisler can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyCrisler can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

With the exception of benchmarks you would never notice the difference between these.
__________________
Edward Crisler
SAPPHIRE NA PR Representative

#SapphireNation
Crisler is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 10, 2010, 03:21 PM   #4
ragewars_sc
Radeon Southern Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United Kingdom London
Posts: 2,950
ragewars_sc is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks lads. I've decided to buy Crosiar ones. The black dragon pcb was nice and all but.. if i can make crosiar ones go 7 7 7 20 i don't need what i can't see
__________________
I know my english suxx sorry !!!
ragewars_sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 04:09 PM   #5
Treeckcold57
Good ol' ATI
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 17,116
Treeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird singsTreeckcold57 knows why the caged bird sings


Default

Both are good, but I think you probably won't notice the performance between choose one of those.
__________________

AMD Phenom II X2 555 @ stock clock
Xigamtek Knight cooler
ASUS M4A79XTD EVO
G.Skill 8GB DDR3 1333 (4x4GB)
Intel 530 240GB SSD
XFX ATI Radeon 4870 1GB
Antec Truepower 750W
NZXT Source 210
Windows 7 x64



AMD FX-8350 @ stock clock
Gigabyte GA-990FX-UD5 R5
G.Skill Sniper 16GB (8x2) DDR3 1866
Arctic Freezer 7 Pro 7 rev. 2
Gigabyte Windforce 7950 3GB Ghz Edition
Samsung 840 Pro 128GB SSD
EVGA SuperNova 650W
NZXT Source 210 w/ two Noctua F-12 fans
Ubuntu MATE 64-bit
Intel i5 3570K @ stock clock | G.Skill 16GB (8GBx2) DDR3 1866 | Silicon Power 60GB SSD | Win 10 Pro x64 | NZXT Source 210
Treeckcold57 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 04:22 PM   #6
Reuter
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Belgium Belgium
Posts: 173
Reuter is still being judged by the masses


Default

If you OC then Corsair is the way to go man.
Reuter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2010, 06:08 PM   #7
ragewars_sc
Radeon Southern Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United Kingdom London
Posts: 2,950
ragewars_sc is still being judged by the masses


Default

Damn. I've lost the memory Now i am looking for something good and cheap :P The mb is ordered and the cpu is on his way :P I can't wait to see how much better will be with a i7 860 cpu
__________________
I know my english suxx sorry !!!
ragewars_sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2010, 04:57 AM   #8
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 26,489
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

if you are going to oc grab the 1600mhz ram
__________________
____________________
demo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 14, 2010, 02:38 PM   #9
ragewars_sc
Radeon Southern Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United Kingdom London
Posts: 2,950
ragewars_sc is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ok I've bought G-Skill Ripjaws PC3-12800 1600MHz 9-9-9-25 They seam ok so far. They go easy to 1700Mhz and i can't wait for my V8 cooler so i can oc to the maxxx Btw anyone knows if its normal on a I7 860 to have the option to change multiplier? I've red somewhere that this was suppose to be locked.. but i can change it from 21(default) to lowe or 22 Strange
Thank you all for help!
__________________
I know my english suxx sorry !!!
ragewars_sc is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Will DDR3 1333 be enough to run a locked multiplier Bulldozer at stock clocks? erek General Hardware 4 Apr 19, 2011 09:17 PM
Help a noob set his DDR3 ram to 1333.. Gold General Hardware 3 Jun 8, 2009 10:58 AM
Pimptime: 1600Mhz DDR3 review at DH spyre General Hardware 10 Jul 21, 2007 05:41 PM
Corsair announces 1600mhz and 2000mhz DDR3 memory Sound_Card Front Page News 1 Jun 8, 2007 07:52 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:46 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink