Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Legacy ATI Discussion and Technical Support Discussion and technical support forum for legacy ATI technology such as Rage, Rage Fury and Rage MAXX.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jun 14, 2000, 06:13 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
PreacherBoy
 
Posts: n/a


Post

Screw you guys for not putting out Win2k drivers early enough! I am so sick of this crap.

Fortunately, nVidia is designing geForce chips for laptops. The next laptop I have will have an nVidia chip.
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2000, 02:35 AM   #2
Makaveli
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: Australia
Posts: 103
Makaveli is still being judged by the masses


Post

Can't agree with u more!

My new GeForce2 GTS rocks!
Makaveli is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2000, 05:04 AM   #3
Mystik
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Canada etobicoke
Posts: 5,624
Mystik is still being judged by the masses


Post

yOu guys are wrong!
The Rage Pro Rules!

WhoOoOoOoOooo... *coughhack*
Mystik is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jun 15, 2000, 09:04 AM   #4
ET
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Israel Outer space
Posts: 433
ET is still being judged by the masses


Post

Mystik, Rage Pro is dead. I've been won over by the Rage XL!
ET is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2000, 09:12 AM   #5
'61 Classic
 
Posts: n/a


Post

I am totaly with you guys. i got sick of waiting for win2k drivers myself. So i went out and ordered a geforce 256....just still waiting for it to come in.
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2000, 09:40 AM   #6
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

Not to sound too devoted to Lucifer's company, but ATI will have a mobile Radeon out soon. If i could talk to their marketing dept maybe i could convince em (lol) to have it out BEFORE 3rd qtr 2001 (which is what they plan from what i've heard). A radeon in any form beats the living hell out of a GeForce. Also, nVidia hasnt been in the mobile buisness before, i dont think that they can manage power consumption and heat management as well as ATI. We'll see. GeForce sounds good now though...
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2000, 02:53 PM   #7
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

You know what though? No... I will *not* go with ATI again because of their terrible driver support. nVidia had their drivers available with OpenGL support in the RC-1 Release of Windows2000.

ATI did not.
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2000, 03:46 PM   #8
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

Yeah, but by the time nVidia has a mobile GeForce out, it will be as outdated as the Pro. there is not one single company out there that actually cares about developing mobile chips enough to do so quickly. By the time the mobility256 (radeon) is out, it will beoutdated too. until there's a company serious about mobile stuff involved, we're all screwed. Which reminds me, anyone have 10mill or so? i need a starting capital.
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 15, 2000, 08:03 PM   #9
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

I don't care. I want a geForce in my laptop to play Counter-Strike.

PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2000, 08:55 AM   #10
Mystik
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 1999
Location: Canada etobicoke
Posts: 5,624
Mystik is still being judged by the masses


Post

You can still use a Rage Pro to play Counterstrike...

I can say I do so very nicely..
and I'm proud to have a rage pro..
I kick ass large.. =)

some of my scores this morning:
http://rn.clan.tripod.com/trym1.jpg
http://rn.clan.tripod.com/trym2.jpg
http://rn.clan.tripod.com/trym3.jpg


it's hard though..
too many lpb's out there today! gah!
esp. that 3rd picture.. it's hard to keep up with them.. haha..
*56k.winmodem.crap.is.what.i.have.ick*

[This message has been edited by Mystik (edited 06-16-2000).]
Mystik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2000, 10:29 AM   #11
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

preacher, we get the point, however, a rage pro runs HL/CS quite well. Secondly wanna clue? no laptop vd card will ever give you more than 60fps because the screen "refreshes" at 60hz (there's no actual refresh rate for LCDs). So now you know, also, as i said, by the time the GeForce is mobile, it will be outdated, and CS will be too. Secondly, any high performance mobile chip has to be on the market for at least a year before it's actually priced under 4k (look at the rage pro and mobility128, as well as trident cyber blade and the s3m4).
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2000, 03:07 PM   #12
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

I understand and I know that, but 10fps does not cut it anymore.
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2000, 10:51 PM   #13
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

Where'd you find 10fps??? that's unplayable, slide show like...
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2000, 11:07 PM   #14
some guy in kansas
 
Posts: n/a


Unhappy

listen, i'm not going to say much. I had a Rage LT Pro on my PIII-800. Because of no new drivers, i bought a GEForce 256. And NVidia sure did a good job with it! (Good job, NVidia!!) Anyway, since i don't use an ATI card anymore, i don't really care about the new drivers. Even if i got the new drivers, i would just put the new drivers in some crappy computer in which i placed the ati card in. but just because you have lost my loyalty, doesn't mean you lost everyones. Please ATI, do your loyal consumers a favor and release new drivers for Rage Pro or release the code. Is that too hard to ask?
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 12:43 AM   #15
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

My ATI Rage LT Pro 8MB gives me 10-18fps in Software or OpenGL mode.

Always has, always will.
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 11:00 AM   #16
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

Preacher, what kinda CPU are you using? we're all getting around 30fps in quake3, not to mention q2 or half-life. You're either doing something really wrong, using an outdated driver set, or have a bad CPU/vid/mobo combination. Regardless, you shouldn't be running that slowly.
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 02:54 PM   #17
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

DELL Inspiron 7000 - 400Mhz PII w/256MB of RAM.

Run CS and see if you get anything higher than 20fps. In regular gameplay I can get around 10-14.
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 07:24 PM   #18
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

win98 cant allocate all that ram. and my K6-2 500/160mb or ram runs HL ate ~35 fps (800x600). Over 40 at 640x480
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 08:10 PM   #19
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

That's why I'm using Windows2000
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 08:14 PM   #20
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

Before you tell me that's why, I have a Windows98 SE HD with the Beta drivers [so OpenGL] and its still 14-20 fps.
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 08:56 PM   #21
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

Interesting, your OGL should be fine... hmm. could you post a comprehensive sys config? as specific as you can get plz, maybe i can help in some way.
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2000, 09:46 PM   #22
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

One of the problems I see is that the ATI card is sharing IRQs with some other resources, so I'm going to change it and see if it changes anything.

BTW, no OpenGL support in Win2k yet
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2000, 01:51 AM   #23
Vic
 
Posts: n/a


Post

Its gotta be your system. Only MY system is allowed get that kinda framerates. My P166 is the weakest piece of garbage that a Rage Pro can run on. D3D is decent, but without a frame counter i can only guess its around ~20fps in old single player D3D games (ex. Wing Commander Prophecy). single player HL is like ~15-20 MAX (multi is less than that). Dont get me started on OGL, cuz SOFTWARE runs faster than OGL hardware acceleration. Quake2 runs like 10-12fps online (up to ~15 in corners and less detailed areas), while software gets some consistant rate at around and above 15fps. I NEED a new CPU just to see some REAL smoothness (anywhere from 20-30fps).
  Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2000, 10:37 AM   #24
RAGE LT MAN
The guy sent to get ya...
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Right behind you...
Posts: 3,410
RAGE LT MAN is still being judged by the masses


Post

vic, my heart goes out to you. preacher, if the card is sharing an IRQ qith your USB controller, that could be causing... issues.
RAGE LT MAN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 18, 2000, 03:48 PM   #25
PreacherBoy
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Posts: 98
PreacherBoy is still being judged by the masses


Post

It is, but I can't really change anything about that.

And I use my USB all the time... with my Intellimouse Explorer
PreacherBoy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
New product for men. bete Off Topic Lounge 2 Apr 13, 2007 07:48 PM
product key? Ebok Operating Systems 5 Dec 14, 2002 01:36 PM
USB TV-Wonder...anyone have this product? BoBVila AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 2 Jul 16, 2002 06:58 PM
Will any of you ever buy an ATI product again? MSU_DUDE AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 105 Mar 2, 2002 02:37 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:03 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink