Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Community and Site Discussions » Feedback Central
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Feedback Central This is a place to post problems, suggestions, comments, or help regarding the forums or site. This is not a place to air your mod-related grievances as first-resort.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 21, 2003, 02:52 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
hagbard
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23
hagbard is still being judged by the masses


Default What's with all the popup ads?

At first, I wasn't getting any by visiting this site, but now, in moving around for five minutes I have 18 popup ads sitting at in the launch bar all the same ad. What's up with that?
hagbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 03:15 PM   #2
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

umm
not from this site
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 03:28 PM   #3
hagbard
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23
hagbard is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Parisioa
umm
not from this site
They only appear when I visit Rage3D. I mostly get one "Win a Geeforce 4 Ti from MSI" over and over again, and some other tech websites. If this site isn't doing it, how are they doing it when I come here?
hagbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 21, 2003, 03:32 PM   #4
Andrew275
Jeff Lange
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United States Washington
Posts: 4,571
Andrew275 is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Make sure you have cookies enabled. We give you a popup once an hour, but if you don't have cookies enabled, it has no way of knowing that you've already received a popup.
Andrew275 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 03:38 PM   #5
hagbard
Newbie
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 23
hagbard is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Andrew275
Make sure you have cookies enabled. We give you a popup once an hour, but if you don't have cookies enabled, it has no way of knowing that you've already received a popup.
Thanks, that appears to have fixed it. BTW, I don't know why advertisers would want to use popups, they guarantee (with me anyway) that I'd never consider their products. I have no objection to sidebar ads.
hagbard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 03:59 PM   #6
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

wow i hav never gotten a popup from this website.
ever.
and thats with my popup stopper turned off.

edit: o yea, sorry i provided incorrect info
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 21, 2003, 04:04 PM   #7
**G.I.BRO**
Berwip crawna-wi pinibon
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Canada Mississauga
Posts: 30,172
**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel**G.I.BRO** once jumped the English Channel


Default

Once I clear out my cookies and then come back here again, i get a pop up. But, thats the only time i will get them tho. Once the cookie has been placed, its all good.
**G.I.BRO** is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 29, 2003, 03:32 PM   #8
Yeuemmaimai
Banned
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 9,002
Yeuemmaimai is still being judged by the masses


Default

I never get them uless I bypass my proxy program
Yeuemmaimai is offline   Reply With Quote
Old May 30, 2003, 11:18 AM   #9
Voudoun
Radeon R100
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 37
Voudoun is still being judged by the masses


Default

I don't get them either, even without Opera's pop-up blocker enabled. However, I do have Zone Alarm Pro set-up to give cookies a hard time.

Voudoun
Voudoun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 2, 2003, 01:41 PM   #10
SD-[Inc]
Butt-hurt Liberal
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: United States In front of my PC
Posts: 10,816
SD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultySD-[Inc] can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

FYI,

My pop-up for the day tried to install Gator on my PC. (Known spyware).
SD-[Inc] is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2003, 07:24 AM   #11
NiDan
...because we can.
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 943
NiDan is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by SD-[Inc]
FYI,

My pop-up for the day tried to install Gator on my PC. (Known spyware).
yeah, i just got this one too.
NiDan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 3, 2003, 02:23 PM   #12
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

get popupstopper or some popup killer program.thats what i use
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2003, 06:46 AM   #13
euan
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Scotland Newcastle, Australia
Posts: 7,003
euan is still being judged by the masses


Angry

I just got 4 popups and a gotor soft do you want to install this app thingy right now.

I came straight to rage3d from a desktop shortcut.
__________________
"Computer games don't affect kids, I mean if Pac Man affected us as kids, we'd all run around in a darkened room munching pills and listening to repetitive music...." -- - Kristian Wilson, CEO, Nintendo Gaming Corporation, Inc, 1989
euan is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2003, 07:32 AM   #14
XSBagage
while the world crumbles
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Belgium EU
Posts: 10,897
XSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyXSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Do you guys admit the pop ups or do you have to take them with the package or something like that? to clarify an example: planetquake sites always get those pop ups because planetquake is a free whatyoumaycallit, OK I miss the wisdom in these matters to formulate a decent question.
Simpeler: Can you control which pop up comes up, because winning a Geforce4 is hardly what I have in mind when I get on Rage3D. Winning a Radeon or something ATI would be better
__________________
Mayonaise!
XSBagage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2003, 10:28 PM   #15
roki
ºởíĭ
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 376
roki is still being judged by the masses


Default

I think we *could* control them, but not like through some software where we can click them off. Probably more like after 10 emails to the appropriate contacts.

But I have confidence in our users to look past these pop-ups, whatever they are advertising. Win Geforce4 is funny though (u all know that instead of winning a GF4 u'll be placed on 200 spam lists if you enter that trap of a contest right?)


^^^
i found that out the hard way
roki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 5, 2003, 11:07 PM   #16
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

It's one thing to get a small popup or popbehind, but I'm really ANNOYED at these FULL PAGE POPUPS that you have to completely CLOSE just to even get a glimpse of the Home Page.

VERY BAD CHOICE IMHO!
__________________
~Windows 10 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX R9 390 8GB GDDR5~3 Acer 27 inch LCDs~SCEPTRE 505 4K UHD TVand one Sanyo 32 inch HDTV connected via Intel onboard GPU~SATA BluRay RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~AND....1 TB XBOX ONE~1 PS4 with Uncharted Bundle~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2003, 02:12 PM   #17
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

Adding insult to injury, I just now, also, got a prompt to install Gator.


Please, cease and desist from this evil, wicked, and diabolical intrusion of our network privacy.



Seriously, though, it's very annoying. I understand the need to have ads, but this is going a bit too far.
__________________
~Windows 10 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX R9 390 8GB GDDR5~3 Acer 27 inch LCDs~SCEPTRE 505 4K UHD TVand one Sanyo 32 inch HDTV connected via Intel onboard GPU~SATA BluRay RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~AND....1 TB XBOX ONE~1 PS4 with Uncharted Bundle~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 6, 2003, 02:21 PM   #18
Bomb&Run
King Tut
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Tomato, Ontario
Posts: 6,116
Bomb&Run is still being judged by the masses


Default

Read above some cookie reset ****. Just use pop up killer from temporary.
__________________
read sig
Bomb&Run is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2003, 10:28 AM   #19
Dyre Straits
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: United States Atlanta, GA USA
Posts: 4,107
Dyre Straits is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just about the time I was going to post a Thank you for getting rid of that Gator prompt, I just got another one.


I do not want that on my system. Can you please remove the offending culprit?
__________________
~Windows 10 x64 Professional~Gigabyte Z77X-UD5H~Intel I7-3770K~8x2 GB DDR3 Crucial Ballistic 1600 RAM (Dual Channel)~RealTek Onboard~XFX R9 390 8GB GDDR5~3 Acer 27 inch LCDs~SCEPTRE 505 4K UHD TVand one Sanyo 32 inch HDTV connected via Intel onboard GPU~SATA BluRay RW~1000 W PSU~And a Whole Lot More!~AND....1 TB XBOX ONE~1 PS4 with Uncharted Bundle~

Quote:
If you have an issue with what you said, please resolve it in private ;)
Dyre Straits is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2003, 11:07 AM   #20
gunther
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 174
gunther is still being judged by the masses


Default

You have to specify what advert is displaying when the gator install comes up.
gunther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2003, 11:12 AM   #21
gunther
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Posts: 174
gunther is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by roki
Win Geforce4 is funny though (u all know that instead of winning a GF4 u'll be placed on 200 spam lists if you enter that trap of a contest right?)


^^^
i found that out the hard way
We know that? I think most users might not figure that out first hand especially when the advert is shown on respectable site like Rage3d where admins are doing quality control on adverts..

I guess we all need to find it out the hard way and ***** at and on Rage3d about it.
gunther is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2003, 08:12 PM   #22
roki
ºởíĭ
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 376
roki is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gunther
We know that? I think most users might not figure that out first hand especially when the advert is shown on respectable site like Rage3d where admins are doing quality control on adverts..

I guess we all need to find it out the hard way and ***** at and on Rage3d about it.


smartass
roki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 10, 2003, 10:01 PM   #23
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by gunther
We know that? I think most users might not figure that out first hand especially when the advert is shown on respectable site like Rage3d where admins are doing quality control on adverts..

I guess we all need to find it out the hard way and ***** at and on Rage3d about it.
hey jac***** why dont you pay the freaking colo bill?
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2003, 04:05 AM   #24
RKone
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 217
RKone is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Parisioa
hey jac***** why dont you pay the freaking colo bill?
If the Rage3D admins aren't intentionally putting these ads in, then we should complain. As roki stated, it doesn't seem like the ads are intentional or that Rage3D getting money out of them.

Even if Rage3D is getting money for the ads, I still want to complain. There are other ads. Gator really sucks, and I can't imagine why any company would pay for an ad advertising a Nvidia board on an ATi fansite..
RKone is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2003, 11:34 AM   #25
roki
ºởíĭ
 
Join Date: Apr 1999
Location: Richmond Hill, ON
Posts: 376
roki is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by RKone
If the Rage3D admins aren't intentionally putting these ads in, then we should complain. As roki stated, it doesn't seem like the ads are intentional or that Rage3D getting money out of them.

Even if Rage3D is getting money for the ads, I still want to complain. There are other ads. Gator really sucks, and I can't imagine why any company would pay for an ad advertising a Nvidia board on an ATi fansite..

It's not a direct NVIDIA advertising actually, it's a newsletter signup that is giving away a NVIDIA card. I don't think Gator popups are around anymore either.


By the way... instead of complaining, a better way for you to make a difference in amount/kind of popups shown on this site is by clicking on banners. With enough banner clicks, popups could be gone all together.
roki is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2003, 05:09 PM   #26
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

there is my click for the day
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 11, 2003, 09:16 PM   #27
Dodo
Newbie
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 14
Dodo is still being judged by the masses


Default

just use the hosts file found at http://www.smartin-designs.com , you can keep cookies disabled but still block the adds, just empty boxes where the banners should be and no popups

Last edited by Dodo : Jun 11, 2003 at 09:51 PM.
Dodo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 16, 2003, 10:04 PM   #28
FiggyG
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Posts: 4,233
FiggyG once held a door open for a complete strangerFiggyG once held a door open for a complete strangerFiggyG once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

I was getting a lot of pop-ups on Mozilla when visiting here, one for classmates, etc... I was using cookies too since I was logged in the whole time. I downloaded ad-aware updates, and installed spybot - search & destory, and had to wipe off a crap load of spyware. Then I had to uninstall Mozilla, seeing that leaving it open I could only upload at 12-15k/sec and my ping was 400+. Apparantly spyware somehow self-installed, and trashed my Mozilla installation (it no longer has the option to refuse pop-up windows) so I had to uninstall it and I'm still in the process of cleansing my computer.

I'm not sure if it came from here, but it all happened right after pop-up ads started appearing here today. Is there a way I can donate you guys some money and have all the ad crap pulled when I log-in here?
FiggyG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2003, 02:46 AM   #29
XSBagage
while the world crumbles
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Belgium EU
Posts: 10,897
XSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyXSBagage can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

How much does rage3D get out of 1 click? (on the banners)

I wonder if it is possible to write a clicking program, it moves the mouse on the banner location, clicks, then to the close button, clicks, then to the banner again etc, easy money
__________________
Mayonaise!
XSBagage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jun 17, 2003, 01:12 PM   #30
citywok
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Posts: 4,486
citywok is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by XSBagage
How much does rage3D get out of 1 click? (on the banners)

I wonder if it is possible to write a clicking program, it moves the mouse on the banner location, clicks, then to the close button, clicks, then to the banner again etc, easy money
or if we have 400active members on at a time, and all 400 cilck once.

imagine what that would do if everybdoy clicked once per day.
citywok is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Popup From Ad logical Feedback Central 1 Dec 22, 2006 07:19 PM
New popup ads? -=Antimatter=- Feedback Central 9 Jan 7, 2005 12:20 PM
Best Popup Ad Ever! Red Dragon Tong Off Topic Lounge 17 Mar 11, 2004 11:15 PM
DOS popup ad flyhigh Off Topic Lounge 9 Mar 30, 2003 11:11 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:25 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink