Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Mar 19, 2011, 09:59 PM   #151
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

2011 Macbook Pro 17" completely stock.



Seems pretty darned decent for a laptop. I really love my new machine.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Mar 30, 2011, 11:45 AM   #152
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Here is my vantage score with 3 570s in tri-sli at stock.



Hmm, so is this about in line with where it should be? It seems kind of low...


EDIT: I am thinking it is my power supply not providing enough juice to the cards. The 12v sits at 10.5v just at idle, with is way out of spec. Damn, didn't want to have to buy another one.

Last edited by pahncrd : Mar 30, 2011 at 02:14 PM.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Mar 30, 2011, 04:47 PM   #153
Mangler
PC
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,866
Mangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pahncrd View Post
Here is my vantage score with 3 570s in tri-sli at stock.

http://i.imgur.com/sonGX.jpg

Hmm, so is this about in line with where it should be? It seems kind of low...


EDIT: I am thinking it is my power supply not providing enough juice to the cards. The 12v sits at 10.5v just at idle, with is way out of spec. Damn, didn't want to have to buy another one.
It's low, my gpu score is higher than yours with two 480s

You should probably also benchmark it with gpu physics disabled, otherwise your cpu score will be inflated

Last edited by Mangler : Mar 30, 2011 at 05:17 PM.
Mangler is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Mar 30, 2011, 05:26 PM   #154
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangler View Post
It's low, my gpu score is higher than yours with two 480s

You should probably also benchmark it with gpu physics disabled, otherwise your cpu score will be inflated
Yeah, something is definitely going on. I am going to reinstall windows and give it a fresh start.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Mar 30, 2011, 09:00 PM   #155
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Mangler View Post
It's low, my gpu score is higher than yours with two 480s

You should probably also benchmark it with gpu physics disabled, otherwise your cpu score will be inflated
So I ended up replacing the PSU with a Antec 1200w Quatro. Still getting low scores though.

EDIT: Now I cannot even break 34k. What the hell is going on?

Last edited by pahncrd : Mar 31, 2011 at 01:17 AM.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Apr 1, 2011, 04:08 PM   #156
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default



Alright, things are looking much better now.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Apr 4, 2011, 11:36 PM   #157
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,234
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

How'd you get that score to look better? Nice increase!

Are you running with PhysX on? Looks like it.
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline  
Old Apr 5, 2011, 12:20 AM   #158
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jokerzwild View Post
How'd you get that score to look better? Nice increase!

Are you running with PhysX on? Looks like it.
I had to disable speedstep, c1e and virtualization support in the bios. That had a major impact for performance.

Oh yeah, that's with physx on, as it was just a default settings run to make sure that my rig was performing in line with other similar systems, not for comparison to ATi based systems.

I actually did try and run a sans-gpu physx run, but for some reason vantage keeps telling me that something is taking focus, and I am not sure what it would be, as I have killed every background process I can think of. I might just have to sit here and baby-sit it or something.

EDIT:

Went ahead and ran without physx by babysitting it and clicking every so often to keep it in focus. Is it normal to have a 3.5ghz i7 only get 20k on the CPU score? Seems pretty harsh considering the 4.4ghz in the above posts pulled more than double the CPU score, course, I imagine it just isn't a linear score. GPU score is above 40k though at stock, so no complaints there. I am a really hard on GPUs since I almost always play with 3d stereo enabled, so it is more necessary to have more horse power there for me. However, the headroom is there on my i7 to go to at least 3.8 if I care to open up the side of my case.

More than likely I will upgrade to the best Sandy Bagina chip I can afford come this winter or in the spring of 2012.

At least my GPUs are ready for when I get that new 27" 120hz 3d ready monitor I have been drooling over.

Last edited by pahncrd : Apr 5, 2011 at 12:41 AM.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Apr 5, 2011, 01:41 AM   #159
Jokerzwild
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: United States Nectar, AL USA
Posts: 6,234
Jokerzwild is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pahncrd View Post
I had to disable speedstep, c1e and virtualization support in the bios. That had a major impact for performance.

Oh yeah, that's with physx on, as it was just a default settings run to make sure that my rig was performing in line with other similar systems, not for comparison to ATi based systems.

I actually did try and run a sans-gpu physx run, but for some reason vantage keeps telling me that something is taking focus, and I am not sure what it would be, as I have killed every background process I can think of. I might just have to sit here and baby-sit it or something.

EDIT:

Went ahead and ran without physx by babysitting it and clicking every so often to keep it in focus. Is it normal to have a 3.5ghz i7 only get 20k on the CPU score? Seems pretty harsh considering the 4.4ghz in the above posts pulled more than double the CPU score, course, I imagine it just isn't a linear score. GPU score is above 40k though at stock, so no complaints there. I am a really hard on GPUs since I almost always play with 3d stereo enabled, so it is more necessary to have more horse power there for me. However, the headroom is there on my i7 to go to at least 3.8 if I care to open up the side of my case.

More than likely I will upgrade to the best Sandy Bagina chip I can afford come this winter or in the spring of 2012.

At least my GPUs are ready for when I get that new 27" 120hz 3d ready monitor I have been drooling over.
Hey hey, I need to try without Speedstep on. I've always kept virtualization off though. I was always partial to keeping Speedstep on though.

I just ran Vantage right before I laid down in the bed (tablet lovin' ) and my cpu score was 28,7**. That's with my 2600k at stock 3.4 with Turbo on up to 3.8ghz. I guess your score is in the ballpark considering the extra mhz Turbo is giving me.

Lol... I've got a pc in the other room with only a stock 2.4ghz Q6600 and a gtx285 and when I run Vantage with physx on I get about double my 2600k/HD6870's cpu score. I sure wish you could get that measure of computational performance from stream processing/gpgpu in real world gaming situations!!
__________________
"Man is least himself when he talks in his own person. Give him a mask, and he will tell you the truth." - Oscar Wilde
Jokerzwild is offline  
Old Apr 5, 2011, 01:52 AM   #160
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 26,237
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

__________________
____________________
demo is offline  
Old Apr 5, 2011, 02:27 AM   #161
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demowhc View Post
Nice score. You either have physx on or have a 6ghz sandy bragina.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Apr 5, 2011, 03:17 AM   #162
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 26,237
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by pahncrd View Post
Nice score. You either have physx on or have a 6ghz sandy bragina.
I just got back from a holiday in the future and brought back an 8 core 2011 skt at 6.5GHz thank you very much.

What's PhysX?
__________________
____________________
demo is offline  
Old Apr 5, 2011, 03:45 AM   #163
pahncrd
Stranger in a Strange LAN
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: United States [x, y, z]
Posts: 16,814
pahncrd is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by demowhc View Post
I just got back from a holiday in the future and brought back an 8 core 2011 skt at 6.5GHz thank you very much.

What's PhysX?
Sounds plausible, alright then, carry on.
pahncrd is offline  
Old Apr 7, 2011, 03:27 PM   #164
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 28,000
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

http://3dmark.com/3dmv/3061971

Graphics Score
34840.05

CPU Score
25757.39

Jane Nash
103.78 FPS

New Calico
100.26 FPS

AI Test
3640.93 operations/s

Physics Test
32.21 operations/s


No PhysX, the 480s are at stock undervolted to 1000mv, instead of 1038.. Trying to do my best keeping the heat down.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline  
Old Apr 7, 2011, 07:53 PM   #165
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 26,237
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

not bad, 34K was my score with Tri-Fire 5850's and a quad
__________________
____________________
demo is offline  
Old Apr 7, 2011, 10:34 PM   #166
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 28,000
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

I'll give them a run at 800 tomorrow. I've been fooling around and 700/1400/1900 at 1000mv

I don't know how you do 3 cards.. these 2 are heat monsters.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline  
Old Apr 7, 2011, 11:20 PM   #167
demo
space cadet
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Australia Melbourne
Posts: 26,237
demo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bounddemo can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

They've been ok so far (touch wood) they have 2 x 120mm fans blowing straight on them from the side and front, and 2 x 80mm above and below.

The 580's also have the vapor chamber cooler on them, which I've heard can be placed directly on a 480 without issue and reducing temps.
__________________
____________________
demo is offline  
Old Apr 8, 2011, 03:17 PM   #168
Nunz
RIP Roxen
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 28,000
Nunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialNunz is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Interesting idea.

I think a new case is in order though, the HAF932 OG is just outdated at this point.
Love it though, not really willing to spend $200 just to get the HAF932-X, which is my case with a higher motherboard tray and an extra useless fan.

Might check out Lian Li and get a real nice case that I'll keep for a long time.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by curio View Post
Eat this protein bar, for it is of my body. And drink this creatine shake, for it is my blood.
"If you can't handle me when I'm bulking, you don't deserve me when I'm cut." -- Marilyn Monbroe
Nunz is offline  
Old Aug 28, 2011, 11:14 PM   #169
GotNoRice
2x 4870x2 Quad CF
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: United States Northern California
Posts: 136
GotNoRice is still being judged by the masses


Default



I think that's a pretty good score considering that almost every component in my computer dates back to ~2008.

Q9650 E0 @ 4.4Ghz (Tuniq Tower 120)
Gigabyte EP45-UD3P
2x 4870x2 Quad CrossfireX
6GB PC8500
X-Fi Titanium PCI-E
Intel X25-M G2
Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w

Edit: Just upgraded my motherboard and CPU to an i5-2500k @ 5Ghz

http://gotnorice.no-ip.org/vantageafter.jpg
__________________
Main Rig: i5-2500K @ 5Ghz - ASUS P8Z68-V - 2x 4870x2 Quad CrossfireX - 8GB DDR3 1333 - X-Fi Titanium PCI-E - Intel X25-M G2 - Antec TruePower Quattro 1000w
LAN Rig: Q9650 E0 @ 4.4Ghz (Tuniq Tower 120) - Gigabyte EP45-UD3P - 2x 4850 Crossfire - 6GB PC8500 - Audigy2 ZS - Antec Earthwatts EA650
Server/Low Power Rig: Core i5 650 @ 3.85Ghz - Asus P7H55-M PRO - 9800GT 1GB - 12GB DDR3 - FSP 550w PSU

Last edited by GotNoRice : Sep 23, 2011 at 11:49 AM.
GotNoRice is offline  
Old Jan 17, 2012, 10:09 AM   #170
john dolan
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: United Kingdom nottingham
Posts: 111
john dolan is still being judged by the masses


Default

john dolan is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
official 3D MARK 11 Score Thread shane_p Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 249 Mar 3, 2014 05:49 PM
Fastest single GPU 3Dmark Vantage score yet! moshpit Front Page News 0 Feb 22, 2011 01:15 PM
3DMark Vantage - First Official Screenshot Hanners Front Page News 12 Feb 26, 2008 06:38 AM
Official 3DMARK 2005 Thread AndyF Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 125 Jan 18, 2006 11:03 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:06 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink