Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Console Gaming
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Console Gaming A place to discuss our favourite past and present gaming consoles. Talk about your favorite games, get nostalgic and share tips and strategies.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Nov 29, 2011, 05:28 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Qb2k5
Alienware Certified
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States South Florida
Posts: 12,434
Qb2k5 is still being judged by the masses


Default The Prices for Vita Memory Cards Are Surprisingly Expensive!

Gamestop has posted their pricing on Vita memory cards.



Uploaded with ImageShack.us

[/quote]

Source

Im not up to how different techwise it is from the industry standard SD card except for the physical size of the Vita card, but by going by US prices the SD card averages 70% less of what Sony is charging.

So not only will you need to spend $249-$300 for the Vita, but you will need to spend $29 for at least a 4GB memory unit. Of course most people never buy a console without a game or two game, right? So add another $39 for a PSVita launch game and right now your out $369 without tax. Add another game and your close to half a G without tax. I'm not sure about most of you guys but that's pretty damn expensive for a handheld unit.

With these outrageous prices its going to make the 3DS look a heck of a lot more attractive come next year.

Last edited by Qb2k5 : Nov 29, 2011 at 05:41 AM.
Qb2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 06:31 AM   #2
Sharkfood
Radeon Caribbean Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: United States Bay Area, California
Posts: 4,575
Sharkfood is still being judged by the masses


Default

So they don't take the PSP standard Pro Duo cards?

That makes NO sense at all... either that or they do take Pro Duo cards and these are the Sony branded "Vita" ones, which will cost a mint... else just buy generic's/SanDisks for less than half that.
__________________
Asus P5K Deluxe/WiFi, Q9550, 4GB DDR2-1066, Windows 7 64-bit, Sapphire 6970.

Don't spread my wealth, spread my work ethic.
3/21/2010 - R.I.P. Freedom, Democracy, America
Sharkfood is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 08:00 AM   #3
Mangler
PC
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,206
Mangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Maybe someone will release a "docking station" for regular sd cards.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Nov 29, 2011, 10:04 AM   #4
1madman1
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Canada Richmond, BC
Posts: 1,398
1madman1 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I'm guessing they're proprietary for content protection reasons. Also makes them difficult or impossible to directly read them on a regular computer.
1madman1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 10:30 AM   #5
wc326
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong Hong Kong
Posts: 7,306
wc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultywc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

anyone know what is the needs for the sdcard?

is it only for video and mps3 those kind of stuff?
__________________
CS:S Office Server IP: 66.151.138.37:27015



http://sc2sig.com/s/sea/91428-1.png
wc326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 10:55 AM   #6
ASCI Blue
Grammar NAZI
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: United States Boise, Idaho
Posts: 12,825
ASCI Blue once held a door open for a complete strangerASCI Blue once held a door open for a complete strangerASCI Blue once held a door open for a complete strangerASCI Blue once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

If Sony keeps up with the network connectivity you could also download games to the portable rather than have to use a disc. My guess is (with zero information mind you) is Vita will probably carry on with the PSP Go idea of discless functionality. Digital downloads as we all know is huge and in reality there's becoming very little reason to provide a form of media which can be easily damaged, lost, or stolen.
__________________
RIP Shayna 19 Oct 87 17 Sep 03 have a ball ready when it's my time. I'll supply the cookies. :(

Proud Creator of The Cock Crew (Sportbike Network) Preventing "gay friends." ...one pecker at a time.

bounty hunter
Quote:
kids are pretty much invincible, man I doubt even explosions can phase the little womb demons
battlenet: voxmortis, origin: asci_blue, steam: death_incarnate352
ASCI Blue is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 04:53 PM   #7
Qb2k5
Alienware Certified
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States South Florida
Posts: 12,434
Qb2k5 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 1madman1 View Post
I'm guessing they're proprietary for content protection reasons. Also makes them difficult or impossible to directly read them on a regular computer.
Bingo!

An outside company will make a generic card someway somehow. Plastic can be molded into any shape. If those memory cards use a proprietary encryption method then it may make 3rd party companies jobs a little harder. In the end I wouldn't be surprised to see unofficial 3rd party memory cards 5 months after the Vita has launched.
Qb2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 05:38 PM   #8
CyanBlues
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Location: United States Me Chicken
Posts: 2,391
CyanBlues can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyCyanBlues can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyCyanBlues can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by wc326 View Post
anyone know what is the needs for the sdcard?

is it only for video and mps3 those kind of stuff?
supposedly for game saves and

Quote:
Today it has been revealed that Uncharted: Golden Abyss for PlayStation Vita will require a memory card to store additional game data. It was revealed earlier this year that some games would require a memory card for play as the game cart won’t be able to store extra content like DLC or save data and Uncharted: Golden Abyss shall be one of them.
http://www.examiner.com/video-game-i...-for-save-data
__________________
"I can picture in my mind a world without war, a world without hate. And I can picture us attacking that world, because they'd never expect it."
CyanBlues is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 07:10 PM   #9
Qb2k5
Alienware Certified
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: United States South Florida
Posts: 12,434
Qb2k5 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by CyanBlues View Post
Well they got to recoup their expensive investment somehow. Id expect next gen consoles to go the same route that's if they all go HDD-less.
Qb2k5 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 29, 2011, 07:22 PM   #10
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

do you really need a memory card after this update?


A new system software update (v4.00) will be released this week. In preparation for the launch of PlayStation Vita (PS Vita) in Japan, this update will prepare PlayStation 3 (PS3) to serve as a content management device. It will allow users to copy their digital content such as games, music, photos, and videos between PS Vita and PS3, back up PS Vita game games including save data to your PS3 hard drive, and update the system software for your PS Vita system using the network features of your PS3.

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2011/...update-v-4-00/
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 02:06 AM   #11
Ub3r_n00b
Unwashed peasant
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada In a VAN down by the RIVER
Posts: 1,187
Ub3r_n00b is still being judged by the masses


Default

So you're actually surprised Sony is releasing a new device with a new and relatively expensive proprietary storage medium? Yeah, they never do that
__________________
"We've heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could eventually produce the complete works of Shakespeare; now, thanks to the Internet, we know that is not true."
- Robert Wilensky
Ub3r_n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 05:15 PM   #12
YellowBeard
is not amused.
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: United States In a tree. Judging you.
Posts: 5,055
YellowBeard once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'YellowBeard once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'YellowBeard once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'YellowBeard once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'YellowBeard once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'YellowBeard once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by nomore View Post
do you really need a memory card after this update?


A new system software update (v4.00) will be released this week. In preparation for the launch of PlayStation Vita (PS Vita) in Japan, this update will prepare PlayStation 3 (PS3) to serve as a content management device. It will allow users to copy their digital content such as games, music, photos, and videos between PS Vita and PS3, back up PS Vita game games including save data to your PS3 hard drive, and update the system software for your PS Vita system using the network features of your PS3.

http://blog.us.playstation.com/2011/...update-v-4-00/
Considering you most likely need to save the game to something before being able to back it up to your PS3. Yeah, I imagine you still do.
__________________
“On a lonely planet spinning its way toward damnation amid
the fear and despair of a broken human race, who is left to fight for all
that is good and pure and gets you smashed for under a fiver? Yes, it’s
the surprising adventures of me, Sir Digby Chicken-Caesar!”

YellowBeard says, "Fold ya scurvy b*st*rds!"
YellowBeard is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 06:50 PM   #13
logical
What is my purpose?
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Manches *
Posts: 19,949
logical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pmlogical achieves Nirvana on Tuesdays at 4:00pm


Default

Looks like a microsd card at first glance... I guess sony wants to get as much money as they can with their own proprietary card.
__________________

logical is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 07:16 PM   #14
Bender
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Posts: 728
Bender is still being judged by the masses


Default

Ugh and I felt ripped off paying $60 for a 32 GB MicroSD card , the Vita better rock!
Bender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Nov 30, 2011, 08:31 PM   #15
nomore
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: United States USA
Posts: 14,197
nomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channelnomore once jumped the English Channel


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by YellowBeard View Post
Considering you most likely need to save the game to something before being able to back it up to your PS3. Yeah, I imagine you still do.
good point.
but then I wonder whether PSN+ is coming to Vita, that would mean you can save your games online and there won't be a need for Memory cards.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by John C Flett
I'd swear the PC is the Dracula of gaming. Old and powerful, somebody is always trying to kill it, but it always comes back from the dead, strong as ever.
Quote:
Originally Posted by H001iGAN View Post
no matter how you look at it, it's still better on PC
nomore is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 06:34 AM   #16
spindoctor
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India India
Posts: 16,389
spindoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ub3r_n00b View Post
So you're actually surprised Sony is releasing a new device with a new and relatively expensive proprietary storage medium? Yeah, they never do that
yea... this is the same **** from sony that they keep doing time and again.

i've been going back and forth on whether to get a vita at launch or wait for the first refresh. things like this make me lean towards the latter option.
spindoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 06:41 AM   #17
Ciera
Bueno
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 1,487
Ciera is still being judged by the masses


Default

i'm opting for the third option: not getting it at all. my psp was a cool toy for a while but it spent the majority of the 3 or 4 years i owned it collecting dust in a closet. i'm really quite burned out on consoles tbqh. i'll prob just stick to pc games and mobile for the occasional retro fix.
Ciera is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 1, 2011, 11:13 AM   #18
spindoctor
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India India
Posts: 16,389
spindoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciera View Post
i'm opting for the third option: not getting it at all. my psp was a cool toy for a while but it spent the majority of the 3 or 4 years i owned it collecting dust in a closet. i'm really quite burned out on consoles tbqh. i'll prob just stick to pc games and mobile for the occasional retro fix.
yea actually that's true in my case too. both my psp and nds have gone untouched for years now. plus nowadays you have mobile gaming which is fairly entertaining as well. i still feel like getting a vita at some point but it's not an absolutely must have purchase either.
spindoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:01 PM   #19
Dungeoncrawler
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: United States Cincy, OH
Posts: 18,338
Dungeoncrawler once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Dungeoncrawler once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Dungeoncrawler once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Dungeoncrawler once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Dungeoncrawler once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Dungeoncrawler once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ub3r_n00b View Post
So you're actually surprised Sony is releasing a new device with a new and relatively expensive proprietary storage medium? Yeah, they never do that
I see Sony used the cold-war phone and called upon M$ for some marketing advice.
__________________
Twitch TV @ 720p http://www.twitch.tv/DeadofNightGaming

Hitbox TV @ 720p http://www.hitbox.tv/deadofnightgaming

Quote:
I cannot but conclude that the Bulk of your Natives, to be the most pernicious Race of little odious Vermin that Nature ever suffered to crawl upon the Surface of the Earth.
Dungeoncrawler is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 01:52 PM   #20
Shark
Pain
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: N/A
Posts: 6,971
Shark is still being judged by the masses


Default

my feelings tell me this thing will flop and 6 months later Sony will announce its retirement from handheld devices
__________________
"Feel pain, contemplate pain, accept pain, know pain! Those who do not know pain will never understand true peace!" Nagato Sama
Shark is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 07:02 PM   #21
Hyrax
Rage3D Spammer
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Somalia NJ
Posts: 29,366
Hyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHyrax can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dungeoncrawler View Post
I see Sony used the cold-war phone and called upon M$ for some marketing advice.
It is their same marketing strategy, from their memory sticks, to blu-ray...
__________________
The Core Value: Non-Aggression :(

Quote:
Originally Posted by HyperNovae View Post
Origin says if you are benchmarking or something to just call and they will help you out. God the horror, those poor souls. This is the type of orwellian nightmare Alex Jones told me about.
Hyrax is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 2, 2011, 07:58 PM   #22
wc326
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong Hong Kong
Posts: 7,306
wc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultywc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

if vita has hdmi output for games.. that will be one great feature.
__________________
CS:S Office Server IP: 66.151.138.37:27015



http://sc2sig.com/s/sea/91428-1.png
wc326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 3, 2011, 06:32 AM   #23
JulianLyle
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Argentina Spain
Posts: 2,075
JulianLyle is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Unlike the PSP(2000 and 3000), the PlayStation Vita will not support video output or contain a removable battery.
Source
__________________
PSN, Steam ID, Origin: JulianLyle
JulianLyle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2011, 09:59 AM   #24
Hidavi
I'm Way Up
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States THE BIG APPLE
Posts: 26,549
Hidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

guess im not getting this then.
__________________
Now Playing:
Battle Chasers: Nightwar (NS)
Final Fantasy World (PS4P)
Hidavi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2011, 10:11 PM   #25
Ub3r_n00b
Unwashed peasant
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Canada In a VAN down by the RIVER
Posts: 1,187
Ub3r_n00b is still being judged by the masses


Default

Not surprised they opted for a sealed battery considering how the PSP was modded via the battery. I am a little surprised that they didn't add video output though, but I guess they had to save something for the inevitable product refresh. Gotta get them multiple sales to the same people!
__________________
"We've heard that a million monkeys at a million keyboards could eventually produce the complete works of Shakespeare; now, thanks to the Internet, we know that is not true."
- Robert Wilensky
Ub3r_n00b is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 10, 2011, 01:28 AM   #26
wc326
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Hong Kong Hong Kong
Posts: 7,306
wc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultywc326 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by JulianLyle View Post
no that sucked.. if it has hdmi out.. then i can say good bye to ps3...
__________________
CS:S Office Server IP: 66.151.138.37:27015



http://sc2sig.com/s/sea/91428-1.png
wc326 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 06:20 AM   #27
delirium121
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 2,412
delirium121 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultydelirium121 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ciera View Post
i'm opting for the third option: not getting it at all. my psp was a cool toy for a while but it spent the majority of the 3 or 4 years i owned it collecting dust in a closet. i'm really quite burned out on consoles tbqh. i'll prob just stick to pc games and mobile for the occasional retro fix.
gonna have to agree with you there
simply cant justify the cost to myself
__________________
./)/)
( . .)
c(")(")
BEWARE!.. the lemon wheels
delirium121 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2011, 08:38 AM   #28
Hidavi
I'm Way Up
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: United States THE BIG APPLE
Posts: 26,549
Hidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyHidavi can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

__________________
Now Playing:
Battle Chasers: Nightwar (NS)
Final Fantasy World (PS4P)
Hidavi is online now   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 07:31 AM   #29
spindoctor
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: India India
Posts: 16,389
spindoctor is still being judged by the masses


Default

forget memory cards, have you guys seen the prices for games?

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...ry-card-prices

uncharted vita is 45 pounds which is 70$ . it's going for 50$ on amazon.com. this in an age when ios and android games cost 1$. and yes i know there's no comparison in the games they offer but mobile gaming is mobile gaming and the market is going to punish sony severely for this stupid pricing.

and yea, any last doubts i had about getting a launch vita are gone. i'll wait a couple of years for a price drop on a refresh or something. if this thing even survives that long.

Last edited by spindoctor : Jan 2, 2012 at 07:40 AM.
spindoctor is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 2, 2012, 07:43 AM   #30
Mangler
PC
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Posts: 19,206
Mangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundMangler can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by spindoctor View Post
forget memory cards, have you guys seen the prices for games?

http://www.eurogamer.net/articles/20...ry-card-prices

uncharted vita is 45 pounds which is 70$ . it's going for 50$ on amazon.com. this in an age when ios and android games cost 1$. and yes i know there's no comparison in the games they offer but mobile gaming is mobile gaming and the market is going to punish sony severely for this stupid pricing.

and yea, any last doubts i had about getting a launch vita are gone. i'll wait a couple of years for a price drop on a refresh or something. if this thing even survives that long.
I don't know if those prices are that outrageous, it's more or less the same as the 3ds titles.
Mangler is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Why is laptop memory so expensive? 8051 Off Topic Lounge 19 Dec 27, 2005 03:24 PM
Why are all the new AGP cards more expensive than the PCI-E cards? xCLAVEx General Hardware 3 Oct 30, 2004 12:12 AM
Does anyone else here think PC video cards are too expensive? MyTMouse AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 47 Sep 8, 2001 08:18 PM
Why are RADEON cards so expensive in Germany ? Dumbledore Radeon Technical Support 4 Nov 2, 2000 05:01 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:47 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink