Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 24, 2018, 11:08 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
ugly
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 433
ugly is still being judged by the masses


Default Linux amdgpu driver and Vulkan

This forum is pretty dead, so I thought I'd post something here.

Here is a quick guide on getting amdgpu and Vulkan going for Southern Islands cards. This will give better support for Proton.

I'm on Linux Mint 19.1 and have a HD7850. This works on kernel 4.15 and 4.18. For some reason, I couldn't get amdgpu working on 4.19.

It should go without saying that you should back up before you attempt this.

To get the latest open source drivers, you can use the Olibaf PPA:

Code:
sudo add-apt-repository ppa:oibaf/graphics-drivers
sudo apt-get update
To prevent booting to a black screen, create a file 20-amdgpu.conf in /usr/Share/X11/xorg.conf.d/

With:
Code:
Section "Device"
     Identifier "AMD"
     Driver "amdgpu"
     Option "TearFree" "true"
     Option "AccelMethod" "glamor"
     Option "DRI" "3"
EndSection
If you already have a 20-radeon.conf, I'd rename it to something like 20-radeon.bak just in case you need to go back to it.

By default, the radeon driver is used. To enable amdgpu, you need to make some changes to grub.

Code:
xed admin:///etc/default/grub
Obviously, you can use your text editor of choice instead of xed.

We need to add radeon.si_support=0 radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1 amdgpu.cik_support=1 to GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT.

For reference, mine looks like:
Code:
GRUB_CMDLINE_LINUX_DEFAULT="quiet splash radeon.si_support=0 radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1 amdgpu.cik_support=1"
Then update grub:
Code:
sudo update-grub
Then you can reboot.

After you reboot, you can install a few packages:
Code:
sudo apt install mesa-vulkan-drivers mesa-vulkan-drivers:i386 mesa-va-drivers vdpau-driver-all
That should be all. The one downside is that with amdgpu you lose some hardware video decoding.

Last edited by ugly : Dec 25, 2018 at 06:25 PM.
ugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2018, 01:07 AM   #2
Kombatant
K to the max!™
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: Canada North York
Posts: 17,173
Kombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwardsKombatant can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

You mean you couldn't get amdgpu from that particular repo working on 4.19? Or in general?

Moved.
__________________
There is no spoon...
Kombatant is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 25, 2018, 06:23 PM   #3
ugly
Radeon R520
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Canada Windsor, Ontario
Posts: 433
ugly is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Kombatant View Post
You mean you couldn't get amdgpu from that particular repo working on 4.19? Or in general?

Moved.
I'm pretty sure that all you should need in order to load the amdgpu driver instead of the radeon driver is the kernel parameters: radeon.si_support=0 radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1 amdgpu.cik_support=1 (actually you would probably only need the .si or the .cik ones depending on your card). So using the repo or not, shouldn't matter.

Using the repo is just to get you the latest mesa packages, which might get you better compatibility with Proton depending on the game. Some games might even work with Proton with the radeon driver.

With 4.19, amdgpu won't load for me. I've seen a few others complain about it too on 4.19.
ugly is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 29, 2018, 01:17 PM   #4
GSGRUNT
No chops 🎸
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Location: United States Seat of the mockers
Posts: 5,390
GSGRUNT knows why the caged bird singsGSGRUNT knows why the caged bird singsGSGRUNT knows why the caged bird singsGSGRUNT knows why the caged bird singsGSGRUNT knows why the caged bird sings


Default

I have not had any luck with Vulkan and AMD Vega m with the Radeon driver. OGL 4.5 is okay.
Do you think the amdgpu driver works with Vega m(Hades Canyon NUC)?

I'm gonna give it a go on Fedora 29. Whats the worst that can happen?

[edit]
Hmmm no luck loading the amdgpu driver for me on kernel 4.19.

amdgpu is in the standard fedora 29 repos so I did a:
sudo yum install xorg-x11-drv-amdgpu.x86_64
then updated grub as so:
linux /vmlinuz-4.19.10-300.fc29.x86_64 root=/dev/mapper/fedora-root ro resume=/dev/mapper/fedora-swap rd.lvm.lv=fedora/root rd.lvm.lv=fedora/swap rhgb quiet radeon.si_support=0 radeon.cik_support=0 amdgpu.si_support=1 amdgpu.cik_support=1


reboot and Xorg.0.log has:
List of video drivers:
[ 49.898] ati
[ 49.898] intel
[ 49.898] nouveau
[ 49.898] openchrome
[ 49.898] qxl
[ 49.898] radeon
[ 49.898] vmware
[ 49.898] modesetting
[ 49.898] fbdev
[ 49.898] vesa



I'm guessing 'amdgpu' should be in there...

Changes didn't seem to break anything

[edit 2]
added amdgpu.dc=1 to my grub linux line. still no joy.

[edit 3]
Got the amdgpu driver to load by reinstalling amdgpu:
dnf reinstall xorg-x11-drv-amdgpu


Vulkan Doom still sucks



Device section of xorg.conf

Section "Device"
### Available Driver options are:-
### Values: <i>: integer, <f>: float, <bool>: "True"/"False",
### <string>: "String", <freq>: "<f> Hz/kHz/MHz",
### <percent>: "<f>%"
### [arg]: arg optional
#Option "Accel" # [<bool>]
#Option "SWcursor" # [<bool>]
#Option "EnablePageFlip" # [<bool>]
#Option "SubPixelOrder" # [<str>]
#Option "ZaphodHeads" # <str>
#Option "AccelMethod" # <str>
#Option "DRI3" # [<bool>]
#Option "DRI" # <i>
#Option "ShadowPrimary" # [<bool>]
#Option "TearFree" # [<bool>]
#Option "DeleteUnusedDP12Displays" # [<bool>]
Identifier "Card1"
Driver "amdgpu"
BusID "PCI:1:0:1"
EndSection


Should I enable some stuff that is commented out?
Already disabled the Intel iGPU in the "bios"
__________________
Seeking intellectual objective truth.

Last edited by GSGRUNT : Dec 30, 2018 at 07:34 AM.
GSGRUNT is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Vulkan Does Not Support Any Multi-GPU Functionality Hapatingjaky Other Graphics Cards and 3D Technologies 12 Jul 30, 2016 06:14 PM
Vulkan drivers now out Qamly AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 34 Mar 2, 2016 03:40 PM
Vulkan 1.0, It's Official t3hl33td4rg0n PC Gaming 4 Feb 17, 2016 10:25 AM
Mantle lives on as Vulkan, so, AMD should have a heads up with drivers right? Qamly AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 12 Aug 10, 2015 07:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:37 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink