Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 7, 2019, 10:01 PM   #31
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Leprechaun
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Canada Hamilton
Posts: 5,273
Leprechaun can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyLeprechaun can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

I got rid of mechanical drives a few years ago. They always slow down the desktop experience. Spinning up and what not.

Now I have an nvme for OS
nvme for installed games.
and 3x SSD for storage (1TB each)

one of the SSDs has stuff downloaded to it, extracted, etc etc. Many GBs of stuff gets overwritten so many times. Still working 5 years later.
__________________
CURRENT PC:
Seasonic X760 Gold | Corsair 600TM case | 16GB RAM | ASRock Z68 EXTREME3 GEN3 | i5 2500K |Corsair Force 3 Series 120GB SSD | ~10TB HDD space | GTX 1070 | Dell 2713HM 2560x1440
Leprechaun is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2019, 12:03 AM   #32
Gandalfthewhite
Hardware Enthusiast
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: United States Middle Earth also known as AZ
Posts: 9,262
Gandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled withGandalfthewhite is not someone to be trifled with


Subscriber
Default

500 gig nvme drive and 2 1x tb sata ssds
__________________
Main rig: look at system spec tab
Storage Server: Dual AMD Opteron 6120 CPUs, 64Gigs ECC Ram 50TB usable space across 3 zfs2 pools


HOURGLASS = most appropriate named ICON/CURSOR in the Windows world :-)

In a dank corner of ATI central, the carpet covered with corn flakes, the faint sound of clicking can be heard........Click......click, click............as the fate of the graphics world and the future of the human race hangs in the balance.

I know....I know........Keep my day job :-)- catcather
Gandalfthewhite is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 8, 2019, 07:09 AM   #33
Falck
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Posts: 320
Falck is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just one 2TB HP EX950 NVMe.
Falck is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 8, 2019, 11:31 AM   #34
SirBaron
Hallowed are the Ori
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany Niedersachsen
Posts: 24,283
SirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Plex drive is a normal drive, plus photo's and other stuff.

However I have a 500GB drive for OS, 1TB was for games but wasn't enough so I have also a 4TB SSD for games too.

a SSD is a base requirement for a PC these days imo, if you don't use a SSD even a tiny 120GB just for the OS and applications you're REALLY missing out on one of the biggest changes to PC ever.

Forget loading times, Windows just works FAR better with a SSD.
__________________
My Twitch Channel Unbiased Gaming!

PS4/PC Streaming - Streaming PS Indie Titles + Infamous, Metal Gear, and Killzone Shadow Fall

Fantards the scourge of the universe:
SirBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 9, 2019, 07:40 PM   #35
x-voodoo
Radeon R700
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 733
x-voodoo is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just added a 2TB SSD, moved Forza Horizon 4 off my mechanical hard drive to the SSD and WOW!!!!!!! What used to take almost a minute to load now only takes 10-15 seconds!!!!!!!!!!

And yes Windows 10 works way better with an SSD.

I will be phasing out mechanical hard drives on my PC's (my next build will not have any)...
x-voodoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2019, 02:06 AM   #36
KAC
That postcount though...
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 56,578
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

It seems some of you guys are barbaric to trying SSDs only in 2019.

I gots 1 NVME, 3 SSD and 4 platters. Need to nab one more NVME SSD so that can fill that putter up.
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2019, 02:05 PM   #37
0091/2
We Do It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: China Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7,396
0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Johnmcl7 View Post
My desktop uses a 2TB SSD for games and applications but hard drives for the rest of the storage (2x4TB, a 10TB, 12TB and 14TB) because at the moment SSD's are not cost effective for high density.

My laptops are all SSD only and have been for some time.
What models are your 10TB, 12TB and 14TB?
__________________
Lenovo x61t - Display : 12.1 (Multi-Touch) - CPU : Intel Lv7700 @1.8ghz - Graphics : Intel GMA X3100 graphics - Chipset : Intel 965 Express - Communication : Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
10/100/1000 Ethernet - RAM : G.skill ddr2 800 4gb - Storage : G.Skill 64 SSD(SLC) - Battery : 8cell


Current Desktop [2016]
Monitor: NEC EA244wmi | CPU: Intel 3570k @4.2ghz | Heatsink: NH-D14 | GPU: Intel HD4000 | Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-v pro | WiFi: Asus PCEAC68 | SSD: Samsung 860Pro 512GB/ 830pro 128GB | HDD: WD Black 8========D~13TB | PSU: Seasonic Plat. 660w
0091/2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 15, 2019, 02:38 AM   #38
daPhoenix
Snow White Nurse
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Finland European Union
Posts: 13,028
daPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badgesdaPhoenix doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

Does only having external USB HDDs count as having SSDs only, since it's SSD only on the inside

If so, 1x1TiB Samsung M2 970Pro, 1x512GiB 960 and x512GiB 970's.

Rest external HDD storage as USB and external NAS box for backup and storage.
__________________
:: We are all the sum of our tears.
:: Too little and the ground is not fertile and nothing can grow there.
:: Too much and best of us is washed away.
daPhoenix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2019, 11:10 AM   #39
Johnmcl7
Knowledge is Power
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Scotland Inverness
Posts: 4,127
Johnmcl7 is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0091/2 View Post
What models are your 10TB, 12TB and 14TB?
The 10TB and 12TB are Seagate Ironwolf's and the 14TB is an external Western Digital Elements drive. It's really annoying that external USB drives are so much cheaper than the internal versions although I've been toying with going for a WD Duo 24TB which you can remove the WD Reds from without voiding the warranty.
__________________
Desktop: A64 3000, 1GB DDR400, Radeon X850XT, Seagate 120GB HD + WD 80GB, Pioneer 105 & 106 DVD Burners
Laptop: Dell Inspiron XPS 2, GeForce 6800go Ultra, 1.2GB DDR2-533 ram, 60GB HD, WUXGA 1920x1200 screen, DVD/CD-RW drive, Intel pro 2200 b/g wireless


"Every person has voices in their heads, whispered doubts and ambitions, dreams and nightmares. How much reality one gives them, how much you allow yourself to be controlled...that only you can decide"
Johnmcl7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2019, 12:39 PM   #40
Munkus
Hugged your dog lately?
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: United States Big Sky Country
Posts: 25,372
Munkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of ReputationMunkus has achieved the Highest Pinnacle of Reputation


Default

I have 3 SSDs (250Gb for OS, 2 x 500Gb for games) plus 1 2TB mechanical drive for backups, pictures, and random downloads.
Munkus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 17, 2019, 08:02 PM   #41
Nagorak
Incarnation of the Nether
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Amanackia
Posts: 11,178
Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Nagorak once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

I've run with only SSDs for at least half a decade now. However, I do also have a NAS running with mirrored 8 TB drives. All my files and such go to the NAS, only applications/games are installed on my computer's SSD.

If I only had a single computer I'd probably still have a hard drive, but I have so many different machines in my house, which is also a home office, that it's easier to just have the NAS with all the files in one place, so they can be accessed from wherever.
Nagorak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 23, 2019, 08:20 PM   #42
OverclockN'
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: United States Iowa
Posts: 22,934
OverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwardsOverclockN' can recite pi backwards


Subscriber
Default

I have a single 500GB SSD that I use for Windows and all games. More than enough for me for the past 8yrs. All movies/photos/etc are stored on a 3TB mechanical drive.
__________________
In the middle of difficulty lies opportunity...Albert Einstein
-------------------------------------------------------
OverclockN' is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 24, 2019, 12:31 AM   #43
Babel-17
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Posts: 106
Babel-17 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyBabel-17 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Two 480 GB Mushkin Strikers, a 2 TB Crucial MX500, and a 480 GB MyDigitalSSD BPX NVMe SSD.
Babel-17 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 3, 2020, 09:24 PM   #44
Dengin
Rage3D Veteran
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: United States Joisey
Posts: 1,121
Dengin is still being judged by the masses


Default

I have a 256GB SSD and a 1TB hard drive in my system. I just found out yesterday that 1TB SSD drives went down in price to about $139.- and 2TB SSDs can be had for under $200. So long, HDs.
Dengin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2020, 08:30 AM   #45
Jet Black
Radeon Sea Islands
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Canada Great Plains
Posts: 3,466
Jet Black knows why the caged bird singsJet Black knows why the caged bird singsJet Black knows why the caged bird singsJet Black knows why the caged bird singsJet Black knows why the caged bird singsJet Black knows why the caged bird sings


Default

All my 'operational' drives are SSD (games, OS, etc.) but I have a 3TB HDD drive in there for Shadowplay, cloud services like Google Drive and MS OneDrive, etc.
Jet Black is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2020, 03:27 PM   #46
gamefoo21
Rage Furry X
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Canada Saskatchewan
Posts: 9,369
gamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badgesgamefoo21 doesn't need no stinkin' badges


Default

4TB of SSHD in RAID for Steam and what not, while the boot and main apps drive is NVMe.

That's my main system.

Every other system I have under my care is basically SATA SSD or NVME.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Dengin View Post
I have a 256GB SSD and a 1TB hard drive in my system. I just found out yesterday that 1TB SSD drives went down in price to about $139.- and 2TB SSDs can be had for under $200. So long, HDs.
Sadly up here we are still looking at $200 for 1TB and $400 for 2TB of TLC drives. You can get cheaper if you go QLC but that's rust slow and the reliability is ehhhh
__________________
"Curiosity is the very basis of education and if you tell me that curiosity killed the cat, I say only that the cat died nobly." - Arnold Edinborough

Heatware

Last edited by gamefoo21 : Jan 5, 2020 at 03:33 PM.
gamefoo21 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 5, 2020, 11:00 PM   #47
Crawdaddy79
Radeon 8500
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Burke, VA
Posts: 17,593
Crawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete strangerCrawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete strangerCrawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete strangerCrawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Two 500 GB SSDs. However, I have a 4 TB platter for the things that don't need to load fast.
Crawdaddy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 6, 2020, 11:53 AM   #48
SirBaron
Hallowed are the Ori
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Germany Niedersachsen
Posts: 24,283
SirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundSirBaron can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by gamefoo21 View Post
4TB of SSHD in RAID for Steam and what not, while the boot and main apps drive is NVMe.

That's my main system.

Every other system I have under my care is basically SATA SSD or NVME.



Sadly up here we are still looking at $200 for 1TB and $400 for 2TB of TLC drives. You can get cheaper if you go QLC but that's rust slow and the reliability is ehhhh
My 4TB QLC is no slower than any of my other SSD's when it comes to games. It's only when you're transferring large files in one go does it slow down, which if it's a game drive is very rare/almost never, as Downloading games doesn't download in one go unless you're downloading gigabyte's a second.
__________________
My Twitch Channel Unbiased Gaming!

PS4/PC Streaming - Streaming PS Indie Titles + Infamous, Metal Gear, and Killzone Shadow Fall

Fantards the scourge of the universe:

Last edited by SirBaron : Jan 6, 2020 at 11:59 AM.
SirBaron is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Some Cheap SSDs The Luggage General Hardware 2 Jan 6, 2017 10:43 PM
Best SSDs: Holiday bittermann Front Page News 0 Nov 19, 2015 11:07 AM
Why haven't SSDs gotten cheaper? VVanks General Hardware 22 Oct 6, 2011 02:35 PM
Are SSDs reliable? I'm not sure if should I try to get a SSD. Treeckcold57 General Hardware 45 Feb 22, 2011 08:03 AM
SSDs and Pagefiles erek General Hardware 22 Apr 16, 2010 06:03 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:17 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink