Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » Operating Systems
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Operating Systems Discussion topics on operating systems including all iterations of Windows, Linux, MacOS, BeOS, etc.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Aug 17, 2018, 12:14 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
0091/2
We Do It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: China Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7,341
0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with


Default 1803 August update broke creative sound card panel

After updating to the lastest patch I found the sound blaster control panel no longer works.
"Input file or data stream does not conform to the expected file format specification."
Anyone here with a creative sound blaster Z has this issue?
I can't switch to my headphones now.
__________________
Lenovo x61t - Display : 12.1 (Multi-Touch) - CPU : Intel Lv7700 @1.8ghz - Graphics : Intel GMA X3100 graphics - Chipset : Intel 965 Express - Communication : Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
10/100/1000 Ethernet - RAM : G.skill ddr2 800 4gb - Storage : G.Skill 64 SSD(SLC) - Battery : 8cell


Current Desktop [2016]
Monitor: NEC EA244wmi | CPU: Intel 3570k @4.2ghz | Heatsink: NH-D14 | GPU: Intel HD4000 | Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-v pro | WiFi: Asus PCEAC68 | SSD: Samsung 830pro 128GB | HDD: WD Black 8========D~13TB | PSU: Seasonic Plat. 660w

Last edited by 0091/2 : Aug 17, 2018 at 12:24 AM.
0091/2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2018, 11:56 AM   #2
Lazy8s
One day at a time
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Over here now
Posts: 27,448
Lazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Everything works for me, but windows insists on putting a preview up of whatever is on the screen at random times. This isn't me initiating anything. This is a windowed preview 50% the size of the screen that sometimes goes away by clicking in a blank area, and other times it doesn't budge for a minute or two.

Who in the heck at MS thought it a good idea to randomly show me what's already right in front of me in a separate window? Gotta figure out how to disable this crap.
__________________
Quote:
"A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives." Jackie Robinson
Lazy8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 17, 2018, 12:58 PM   #3
0091/2
We Do It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: China Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7,341
0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazy8s View Post
Everything works for me, but windows insists on putting a preview up of whatever is on the screen at random times. This isn't me initiating anything. This is a windowed preview 50% the size of the screen that sometimes goes away by clicking in a blank area, and other times it doesn't budge for a minute or two.

Who in the heck at MS thought it a good idea to randomly show me what's already right in front of me in a separate window? Gotta figure out how to disable this crap.
I haven't that happen to me. Windows 10 app window can be buggy sometimes. I've had windows resize or disappear out the border by itself.

Any how I fixed it. The font "segoeuii.ttf" got corrupt after the update.
This did the trick. I had to reboot first before doing it.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...m-file-checker
__________________
Lenovo x61t - Display : 12.1 (Multi-Touch) - CPU : Intel Lv7700 @1.8ghz - Graphics : Intel GMA X3100 graphics - Chipset : Intel 965 Express - Communication : Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
10/100/1000 Ethernet - RAM : G.skill ddr2 800 4gb - Storage : G.Skill 64 SSD(SLC) - Battery : 8cell


Current Desktop [2016]
Monitor: NEC EA244wmi | CPU: Intel 3570k @4.2ghz | Heatsink: NH-D14 | GPU: Intel HD4000 | Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-v pro | WiFi: Asus PCEAC68 | SSD: Samsung 830pro 128GB | HDD: WD Black 8========D~13TB | PSU: Seasonic Plat. 660w
0091/2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Aug 18, 2018, 01:51 PM   #4
deadite_9
random and/or senseless
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States south of everywhere else
Posts: 497
deadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultydeadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Weirdness like this is why I don't upgrade to the newer feature updates. I coast along for as long as I can (and skip at least one version entirely), and then I do a clean install of the current version when it gets to the point that I basically have no choice but to upgrade. I'm currently on 1709, and will be skipping 1803 entirely (just like I did with 1703). I hope to be able to hold out until 1903, but that's probably asking a bit much considering how aggressive MS can be.

I don't care if OS upgrades today are 1000x better than they were back in the day-- there's always a chance for extra weird stuff to happen when you install over the top. And Windows 10 is bad enough as it is just having to deal with it fresh out of the box without upgrading.
__________________
there's them that laughs and knows better.



:: HDTV
Samsung Q8FN (4K QLED, 65") :: A/V Onkyo TX-RZ830 ::
:: UHD
Sony UBP-X700 :: BD Oppo BDP-83 :: CD Onkyo DX-C390 ::
:: PHONO
Technics SL-1200MK2 :: GAME Xbox One X + PS4 Pro ::
:: FRONT
JBL SCS300SAT + FS1000 :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: CENTER
JBL EC35 (Black Ash) :: LFE HSU Research VTF-2 MK5 ::
:: SURROUND L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: SURR BACK L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-1 ::




:: CPU
Core i7 7820X (4.5GHz) :: MB ASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming ::
:: BIOS
1704 :: AIO Corsair H115i PRO + (2x) Noctua NF-A14 chromax ::
:: DDR4
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3000MHz (15-17-17-35) ::
:: GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition :: LCD Acer Predator XB241H ::
:: AUDIO
ROG SupremeFX (S1220A) :: SPEAKERS Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 ::
:: OS
Windows 10 Pro x64 (1909) :: NVME Samsung 960 PRO M.2 (512GB) ::
:: SSD
(1x) Samsung 850 PRO (512GB) + (3x) 850 EVO (1TB/1TB/1TB) ::
:: INPUT
Logitech G413 Silver + G MX518 + Xbox One Controller (wireless) ::
:: PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 + CableMod Pro series (black/white) ::
:: CASE
Corsair Carbide Air 540 (silver, DEMCiflex intake filters) ::
:: FANS
(2x) Noctua NF-P14s redux + (1x) NF-P14r redux ::
deadite_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2018, 02:18 PM   #5
0091/2
We Do It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: China Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7,341
0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by deadite_9 View Post
Weirdness like this is why I don't upgrade to the newer feature updates. I coast along for as long as I can (and skip at least one version entirely), and then I do a clean install of the current version when it gets to the point that I basically have no choice but to upgrade. I'm currently on 1709, and will be skipping 1803 entirely (just like I did with 1703). I hope to be able to hold out until 1903, but that's probably asking a bit much considering how aggressive MS can be.

I don't care if OS upgrades today are 1000x better than they were back in the day-- there's always a chance for extra weird stuff to happen when you install over the top. And Windows 10 is bad enough as it is just having to deal with it fresh out of the box without upgrading.
The new update patches a new Intel vulnerability. I only update because of security patches. I don't think anyone should leave their systems unpatched. If you don't bank on your PC then you don't really have to worry about vulnerabilities.
__________________
Lenovo x61t - Display : 12.1 (Multi-Touch) - CPU : Intel Lv7700 @1.8ghz - Graphics : Intel GMA X3100 graphics - Chipset : Intel 965 Express - Communication : Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
10/100/1000 Ethernet - RAM : G.skill ddr2 800 4gb - Storage : G.Skill 64 SSD(SLC) - Battery : 8cell


Current Desktop [2016]
Monitor: NEC EA244wmi | CPU: Intel 3570k @4.2ghz | Heatsink: NH-D14 | GPU: Intel HD4000 | Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-v pro | WiFi: Asus PCEAC68 | SSD: Samsung 830pro 128GB | HDD: WD Black 8========D~13TB | PSU: Seasonic Plat. 660w
0091/2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2018, 06:50 PM   #6
Lazy8s
One day at a time
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Over here now
Posts: 27,448
Lazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0091/2 View Post
I haven't that happen to me. Windows 10 app window can be buggy sometimes. I've had windows resize or disappear out the border by itself.

Any how I fixed it. The font "segoeuii.ttf" got corrupt after the update.
This did the trick. I had to reboot first before doing it.
https://support.microsoft.com/en-us/...m-file-checker
Thanks for this - it's still doing it lol. I guess I'm due for a clean install anyway. I guess I ought to count myself fortunate. This is really the only noticeable bug through all the upgrades.
__________________
Quote:
"A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives." Jackie Robinson
Lazy8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2018, 08:50 PM   #7
0091/2
We Do It!
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: China Brooklyn, NY
Posts: 7,341
0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with0091/2 is not someone to be trifled with


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Lazy8s View Post
Thanks for this - it's still doing it lol. I guess I'm due for a clean install anyway. I guess I ought to count myself fortunate. This is really the only noticeable bug through all the upgrades.
Instead of clean install try making a new user account. It doesn't hurt to try it.
__________________
Lenovo x61t - Display : 12.1 (Multi-Touch) - CPU : Intel Lv7700 @1.8ghz - Graphics : Intel GMA X3100 graphics - Chipset : Intel 965 Express - Communication : Intel Wireless WiFi Link 4965AGN
10/100/1000 Ethernet - RAM : G.skill ddr2 800 4gb - Storage : G.Skill 64 SSD(SLC) - Battery : 8cell


Current Desktop [2016]
Monitor: NEC EA244wmi | CPU: Intel 3570k @4.2ghz | Heatsink: NH-D14 | GPU: Intel HD4000 | Mobo: ASUS P8Z77-v pro | WiFi: Asus PCEAC68 | SSD: Samsung 830pro 128GB | HDD: WD Black 8========D~13TB | PSU: Seasonic Plat. 660w
0091/2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 18, 2018, 09:48 PM   #8
deadite_9
random and/or senseless
 
Join Date: May 2004
Location: United States south of everywhere else
Posts: 497
deadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultydeadite_9 can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0091/2 View Post
The new update patches a new Intel vulnerability. I only update because of security patches. I don't think anyone should leave their systems unpatched. If you don't bank on your PC then you don't really have to worry about vulnerabilities.
Sorry... I probably could've worded that last post a little better. I only avoid the twice-a-year "feature updates" as much as I can, not the regular monthly updates (i.e., Patch Tuesdays). Each version of Win10 (1703, 1709, 1803, etc.) is supported for at least 18 months after it's released-- even after it's been replaced by a newer version.

Actually, I did hold off on the July 2018 cumulative updates because there were reports that they were causing all sorts of havoc out of the gate, but I am currently up-to-date with v1709 as of this month (16299.611).
__________________
there's them that laughs and knows better.



:: HDTV
Samsung Q8FN (4K QLED, 65") :: A/V Onkyo TX-RZ830 ::
:: UHD
Sony UBP-X700 :: BD Oppo BDP-83 :: CD Onkyo DX-C390 ::
:: PHONO
Technics SL-1200MK2 :: GAME Xbox One X + PS4 Pro ::
:: FRONT
JBL SCS300SAT + FS1000 :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: CENTER
JBL EC35 (Black Ash) :: LFE HSU Research VTF-2 MK5 ::
:: SURROUND L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-2 ::
:: SURR BACK L/R
JBL SCS300SAT :: SW HSU Research STF-1 ::




:: CPU
Core i7 7820X (4.5GHz) :: MB ASUS ROG Strix X299-E Gaming ::
:: BIOS
1704 :: AIO Corsair H115i PRO + (2x) Noctua NF-A14 chromax ::
:: DDR4
32GB Corsair Dominator Platinum @ 3000MHz (15-17-17-35) ::
:: GPU
EVGA GTX 1080 Founders Edition :: LCD Acer Predator XB241H ::
:: AUDIO
ROG SupremeFX (S1220A) :: SPEAKERS Klipsch ProMedia 2.1 ::
:: OS
Windows 10 Pro x64 (1909) :: NVME Samsung 960 PRO M.2 (512GB) ::
:: SSD
(1x) Samsung 850 PRO (512GB) + (3x) 850 EVO (1TB/1TB/1TB) ::
:: INPUT
Logitech G413 Silver + G MX518 + Xbox One Controller (wireless) ::
:: PSU
EVGA SuperNOVA 850 P2 + CableMod Pro series (black/white) ::
:: CASE
Corsair Carbide Air 540 (silver, DEMCiflex intake filters) ::
:: FANS
(2x) Noctua NF-P14s redux + (1x) NF-P14r redux ::
deadite_9 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 19, 2018, 09:55 AM   #9
Lazy8s
One day at a time
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United States Over here now
Posts: 27,448
Lazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialLazy8s is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0091/2 View Post
Instead of clean install try making a new user account. It doesn't hurt to try it.
It would be easier than a full reinstall lol. Thanks
__________________
Quote:
"A life is not important except in the impact it has on other lives." Jackie Robinson
Lazy8s is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Aug 21, 2018, 08:22 AM   #10
koralis
Radeon 5850
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Posts: 2,577
koralis once held a door open for a complete strangerkoralis once held a door open for a complete strangerkoralis once held a door open for a complete strangerkoralis once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Microsoft's drivers always break my creative card. I'm forced to reinstall the older creative drivers again every time.
__________________
A hobbiest foundry and forge in progress, plans, suppliers, showcasing ideas

Kcrucible - Playing with Fire
koralis is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Aureal sound card shot, put in Creative Live! no sound MasterGoa General Hardware 6 Feb 23, 2009 02:40 PM
Creative Block - The future of Creative Labs and the sound card market Hanners Front Page News 3 Mar 22, 2007 11:31 PM
creative X-fi sound card 0091/2 General Hardware 2 May 21, 2005 01:41 AM
I about to buy a new sound card - CREATIVE LABS SOUND BLASTER AUDIGY ES PCI Kevon27 General Hardware 9 Jun 10, 2004 12:43 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:55 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink