Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support Discussion and Technical support forum for AMD's Radeon Software.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Dec 13, 2006, 10:33 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
mcdeath
 
Posts: n/a


Default Catalyst 64Bit installs in the x86 Folder?

Guys I'm new to the x64 scene and I was hoping someone here could explian to me why the 64Bit version of the Catalyst drives installs itself in the "Program files (x86)" directory.

I've searched ATI and cannot find anything relating to this matter.
  Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 11:35 PM   #2
spyre
ATI Beta Tester
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: United Kingdom England
Posts: 18,438
spyre is still being judged by the masses


Default

Just because the drivers are 64bit doesnt mean the install routine and any none driver file is 64bit which is why they get installed in that folder by the system.
__________________
I do work for AMD
AMD/ATI Beta Tester
spyre is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 13, 2006, 11:51 PM   #3
mcdeath
 
Posts: n/a


Default

So basically what your saying is they are 64bit compatible but they do not run as 64 Bit.

Bloody pointless of ATI to do that why not simple wrap them up into one driver.
  Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Dec 14, 2006, 01:52 AM   #4
Fat Jez
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Scotland Glasgow, UK
Posts: 1,997
Fat Jez is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by mcdeath View Post
So basically what your saying is they are 64bit compatible but they do not run as 64 Bit.

That's not what Spyre is saying. The drivers are 64-bit, or they would not install. The supporting packages, like the Catalyst Control Centre, are 32 bit and therefore go into the x86 directory.

Cheers,
Jez
Fat Jez is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Dec 14, 2006, 04:18 AM   #5
mcdeath
 
Posts: n/a


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Fat Jez View Post
That's not what Spyre is saying. The drivers are 64-bit, or they would not install. The supporting packages, like the Catalyst Control Centre, are 32 bit and therefore go into the x86 directory.

Cheers,
Jez
Sorry I'm a tool, found em.....

Last edited by mcdeath : Dec 14, 2006 at 04:29 AM.
  Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
64bit Win7 installs drivers, but no compatible software? Mugsy323 Remote Wonder and Plug-In Discussion 1 May 24, 2009 01:27 PM
ATI Catalyst 7.3 Beta Vista 32bit-64bit Agustus AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 7 Mar 27, 2007 10:30 PM
Catalyst driver installs give you grief too? GTwannabe AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 0 Feb 18, 2006 10:40 AM
Software that installs in the Start up folder and splash screens bother me Briner General Software 3 Dec 11, 2004 03:02 AM
Any word on 64bit windows Catalyst Drivers? blackphoenix AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 33 Nov 20, 2003 02:09 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:12 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink