Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking Discuss Radeon tweaking, modding, and overclocking practices. Want to post your benchmarks scores? This is the place!

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 18, 2011, 01:54 PM   #121
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
Yeah, thats the only way you can test the stability of DDR5 is to overclock and then see if performance drops. Though the gt580 has ddr5 rated at 5000mhz, who knows if its supplied enough voltage to run at that speed.

That's not the point anyhow....The point is that my score increased 600 points just by a driver change when everything else at the hardware level was exactly the same and running at the same clocks, that's the point..


You and Mospit were going on and on about a possible problem at the hardware level or configuration of the system a few posts ago and that my score was too low, and here i am knocking at 17k's door just from a video card driver change...
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 01:55 PM   #122
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
You and Mospit were going on and on about a possible problem at the hardware level or configuration of the system a few posts ago and that my score was too low, and here i am knocking at 17k's door just from a video card driver change...
Proving we were right, you WERE low for score. We just assumed you were already smart enough to have tested drivers before posting scores. Our mistake

Our bad was assuming you wouldn't make such an inexperienced mistake as posting scores on drivers that were sub-standard
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 01:59 PM   #123
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
That's not the point anyhow....The point is that my score increased 600 points just by a driver change when everything else at the hardware level was exactly the same and running at the same clocks, that's the point..


You and Mospit were going on and on about a possible problem at the hardware level or configuration of the system a few posts ago and that my score was too low, and here i am knocking at 17k's door just from a video card driver change...
Not really, you posted results for a low score. We said it was a hardware issue since that is the most logical guess with the info given. Then you posted a new score with your memory at a different clock speed. So I assumed you found that was the problem and didn't know how to overclock DDR5. Then you posted your final result with apples to apples with just a driver change, and your score is still low for your system...
Roadhog is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old May 18, 2011, 02:03 PM   #124
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
Proving we were right, you WERE low for score. We just assumed you were already smart enough to have tested drivers before posting scores. Our mistake
These are the latest betas released just a couple of days ago, so i used the most recent approved drivers as far as futuremark is concerned, wich were released about a month ago....


I'm sure Demowhc will also experience an increase in performance, maybe break into the 17k club once he uses these same beta drivers, does that also mean he didn't test drivers too, he used the last official ones too afterall just like i did...


The other thing that was proven is that video card memory speed doesn't matter at the performance setting in 3Dmark 11....
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:05 PM   #125
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
Not really, you posted results for a low score. We said it was a hardware issue since that is the most logical guess with the info given.
Totally agreed. We wrongly assumed you'd have already TESTED several drivers before beginning posting results for the best one, or at least stated you were on an outdated or otherwise untested driver. Our bad for thinking you knew what you were doing, Mr. Shadow

Sorry, had to call ya Mr. Shadow. Just watched 5th Element
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:09 PM   #126
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
Not really, you posted results for a low score. We said it was a hardware issue since that is the most logical guess with the info given. Then you posted a new score with your memory at a different clock speed. So I assumed you found that was the problem and didn't know how to overclock DDR5. Then you posted your final result with apples to apples with just a driver change, and your score is still low for your system...

Roadhog... You're full of ****.


You automatically assume a hardware problem right off the bat, and what info did i give to suggest that....That's right, nothing.


I showed just now that GPU memory speed makes no difference at the performance setting, and you went off on another tangent completely, stating about maximum attainable speed with DDR5...


And according to 3Dmarks database, wich has a few thousand entries already, i'm right in line with where i should be given the clocks i'm running and they have several SR-2 entries in the database, so i know this will come as a shock to you, but i believe them more than i do you...
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:14 PM   #127
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
Roadhog... You're full of ****.


You automatically assume a hardware problem right off the bat, and what info did i give to suggest that....That's right, nothing.
I assumed a hardware problem because I assumed that you had the software/driver side down. But guess not.


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
I showed just now that GPU memory speed makes no difference at the performance setting, and you went off on another tangent completely, stating about maximum attainable speed with DDR5...
That you did. But I was just giving info on overclocking DDR5 as a lot of people don't know about the ECC it has. No need to get butthurt. Was just trying to help


Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
And according to 3Dmarks database, wich has a few thousand entries already, i'm right in line with where i should be given the clocks i'm running and they have several SR-2 entries in the database, so i know this will come as a shock to you, but i believe them more than i do you...
Sure, I believe them too, but you are also getting beat by single processor systems with lower clocked gpus. If it were me I would be going wtf.
Roadhog is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:16 PM   #128
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
Totally agreed. We wrongly assumed you'd have already TESTED several drivers before beginning posting results for the best one, or at least stated you were on an outdated or otherwise untested driver. Our bad for thinking you knew what you were doing, Mr. Shadow

Sorry, had to call ya Mr. Shadow. Just watched 5th Element

They were the latest Nvidia WHQL drivers and approved by futuremark....You gotta do better than that moshpit.


And here's another kicker, once i use the same clocks as demowhc on the GPU's, i'll also be in the 17K club...
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:19 PM   #129
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
I assumed a hardware problem because I assumed that you had the software/driver side down. But guess not.

Demowhc used the same drivers and i didn't see you ragging on his ass...



Quote:
Sure, I believe them too, but you are also getting beat by single processor systems with lower clocked gpus. If it were me I would be going wtf.

And you also forget that they're all running at higher clocks than me, not lower....Show me one, please?
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:22 PM   #130
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
Demowhc used the same drivers and i didn't see you ragging on his ass...






And you also forget that they're all running at higher clocks than me, not lower....Show me one, please?
http://3dmark.com/3dm11/1222238
Roadhog is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:31 PM   #131
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
Significantly lower clocks, in fact. 850mhz.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:32 PM   #132
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post

I'm 600 points higher, and he's still using his CPU clocked 200Mhz faster?...Wich matters a lot at the performance setting

I don't know why he's clocking his memory to 2200Mhz, but his cards are clocked lower on the GPU side by 50Mhz?


What were you proving again?...
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:33 PM   #133
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
I'm 600 points higher, and he's still using his CPU clocked 200Mhz faster?

I don't know why he's clocking his memory to 2200Mhz, but his cards are clocked lower on the GPU side by 50Mhz?


What were you proving again?...
My point is that your score is coming from the PHYSICS benchmarks. But in the GRAPHICS benchmarks, yours is really slow imo.
Roadhog is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:35 PM   #134
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
I'm 600 points higher, and he's still using his CPU clocked 200Mhz faster?...Wich matters a lot at the performance setting

I don't know why he's clocking his memory to 2200Mhz, but his cards are clocked lower on the GPU side by 50Mhz?


What were you proving again?...
Just curious, what was that second socket for again?
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:37 PM   #135
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
My point is that your score is coming from the PHYSICS benchmarks. But in the GRAPHICS benchmarks, yours is really slow imo.

Horse****....I gained several hundred points just by moving my CPU from 3.8 to 4.0 Ghz in the first 4 graphic test runs....They don't use all the cores, but still very sensitive to clock speeds just the same.
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:38 PM   #136
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
Horse****....I gained several hundred points just by moving my CPU from 3.8 to 4.0 Ghz in the first 4 graphic test runs....
lets see it?
Roadhog is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:39 PM   #137
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
Just curious, what was that second socket for again?

If the benchmark used all the cores in all the tests, including the graphics tests, it would be game over for any single socket setup and you know it...
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:39 PM   #138
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

I think "really slow" is an exaggeration. He's about 1000 points off the average for graphics. That's not really slow. That's a little slow in my book, but possibly chipset driver related for as minor of a problem as it seems.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:40 PM   #139
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
If the benchmark used all the cores in all the tests, including the graphics tests, it would be game over for any single socket setup and you know it...
That's my whole point. "If" doesn't even count in horseshoes or hand grenades.

Edit: Keep in mind, horseshoes and hand grenades are very tolerant of not hitting the mark.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:40 PM   #140
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
I think "really slow" is an exaggeration. He's about 1000 points off the average for graphics. That's not really slow. That's a little slow in my book, but possibly chipset driver related for as minor of a problem as it seems.
for graphics score though. Gaining a few fps on those is a huge difference.
Roadhog is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:42 PM   #141
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
lets see it?

This one is at 3.7 Ghz but you get an idea just the same:



Last edited by shadow001 : May 18, 2011 at 02:48 PM.
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:43 PM   #142
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
for graphics score though. Gaining a few fps on those is a huge difference.
True. But I've seen a bit of play from one chipset to the next, and this isn't technically an X58 system, it's a server chipset. Intel may not have optimized the PCIe controller in the same way, more for stability then speed (another HUGE reason to avoid dual socket rigs for a home machine).
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:44 PM   #143
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
I think "really slow" is an exaggeration. He's about 1000 points off the average for graphics. That's not really slow. That's a little slow in my book, but possibly chipset driver related for as minor of a problem as it seems.

I'm matched with demowhc pretty much in that last run, and he's running 30Mhz faster on the GPU's and using a CPU clocked 600Mhz faster.....

Last edited by shadow001 : May 18, 2011 at 02:46 PM.
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:45 PM   #144
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
This one is at 3.7 Ghz but you get an idea just the same:


http://s765.photobucket.com/albums/x...37ghzpart1.png
isnt that on the broken drivers? I do lose fps from 3.7 to 4ghz, but same fps from 4ghz to 4.5ghz.
Roadhog is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:46 PM   #145
moshpit
Resident Mac Hater
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: United States PIT, PIT, PIT, in the PIT!!!
Posts: 19,819
moshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete strangermoshpit once held a door open for a complete stranger


Subscriber
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
I'm matched with demowhc pretty much in that last run
Are ya? Then seems like "a little low" was more accurate, as I thought. You're not having any problems that cannot be easily blown off as chipset driver level optimizations. Minor stuff, and obviously easy enough to offset.
__________________
If you feel like I'm hurting your wittle feelings too much, refer me to this thread : A new nicer moshpit???
"Go screw yourself Apple."
moshpit is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:52 PM   #146
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
isnt that on the broken drivers? I do lose fps from 3.7 to 4ghz, but same fps from 4ghz to 4.5ghz.

They're the official WHQL release from Nvidia....The 270.61 release.

Make another excuse please....
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:54 PM   #147
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
They're the official WHQL release from Nvidia....The 270.61 release.

Make another excuse please....
facts are not excuses.
Roadhog is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:54 PM   #148
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by moshpit View Post
Are ya? Then seems like "a little low" was more accurate, as I thought. You're not having any problems that cannot be easily blown off as chipset driver level optimizations. Minor stuff, and obviously easy enough to offset.

More like going into the 17k club simply by matching his GPU clocks ...
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:55 PM   #149
shadow001
Captain thread derail....
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Posts: 9,219
shadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete strangershadow001 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Roadhog_ View Post
facts are not excuses.

Then go bust Nvidia's balls as to why a beta driver is much faster than their latest WHQL driver set, not mine....
shadow001 is offline  
Old May 18, 2011, 02:55 PM   #150
Roadhog
Sausages
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Posts: 2,542
Roadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficultyRoadhog can beat 'Minesweeper' on any difficulty


Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by shadow001 View Post
Then go bust Nvidia's balls as to why a beta driver is much faster than their latest WHQL driver set, not mine....
i will.
Roadhog is offline  
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Official 3dmark Vantage Score thread! Jokerzwild Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 169 Jan 17, 2012 10:09 AM
low 3d mark score! huggyg71 Radeon Technical Support 12 May 5, 2003 07:03 PM
3d mark score vnet576 Radeon Technical Support 42 Jan 20, 2003 08:49 PM
3D Mark Score! lbrown Radeon Technical Support 4 Aug 24, 2002 12:34 AM
Radeon 64 DDR - Low 3D Mark 2001 score compared to 3D Mark 2000 Paul_Smith AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 2 Jun 11, 2001 09:32 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:55 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2020, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink