Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jan 14, 2004, 03:01 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
janus
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 50
janus is still being judged by the masses


Default 9800SE with a non-molex power connector

I'm thinking about buying a PowerColor Radeon 9800SE 128mb and driver-modding it to a 9800/Pro (it costs about half of the Pro price). The store claims it has 256bit mem bus. Here's part of the card's description on the store's site:

256-bit memory interface delivers the bandwidth for real time 3D graphics and barrier free performance This model is all the same as RADEON 9800. The only difference is: four pipelines with this model.

I think the description is straight from PowerColor, since it's in english on an icelandic site. The only thing that i'm a little unsure about is the card having a floppy power connector, instead of the molex connector that the Pro/XT card has. Will this in any way cripple the card's performance?
Also, what's the success rate of the driver-mod on the 9800SE cards (generally and/or PowerColor)? Is it higher than the rate on the 9500 cards?

Pic of the card

I have a 9500 modded into a 9500 Pro (it only has a 128bit mem bus ) with some very minor artifacts, so I am a little familiar with the driver-mod.
__________________
XP1700+ @ 133 FSB (default) | Asus A7M266 | 512 Mb DDR @ 266 Mhz | ATI Radeon 9500 128MB w/pro-mod | 19" CTX EX950F | Audigy | Technics SC-EH600 sound system | Matrox 120GB ATA133 | Seagate 10GB ATA33 | Pioneer DVD-105F | Mitsumi CR-485CTE | WinXP Pro | ADSL @ 512 Kbps | IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 & a extremely simple Mitsumi keyboard :)

GIR: Gir, reporting for duty.
ZIM: Gir? What does the G stand for?
GIR: I doon't knooow. Weeeeheeee!!
janus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2004, 05:57 PM   #2
Squeak
Moo
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: United Kingdom Leicester
Posts: 739
Squeak is still being judged by the masses


Default

The modding success on 9800SE's is quite low, about 10-20% or so I've heard.

The floppy-style power connector suggests its based on a Radeon 9700 PCB. Sapphire do this as well. AFAIK it doesnt have much impact on its performance...

...but the 4 pipelines does. At stock configuration expect 9600 Pro-ish performance out of it. In some games it does a bit better than the 9600 Pro thanks to its 256bit memory bus. Still, its way behind the 9800 non-pro.

[Edit: After looking at the pic, it is definitely a 9700 Pro PCB, its even got a 9700 Pro type heatsink too.]
__________________
Folding for Rage3D![/size]

Last edited by Squeak : Jan 14, 2004 at 05:59 PM.
Squeak is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 14, 2004, 07:08 PM   #3
janus
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Iceland
Posts: 50
janus is still being judged by the masses


Default

Thanks for the reply.
The "Radeon 9800SE softmodded to a 9800" poll on the ATI Radeon Softmod site says:
50% without artifacts
34% with artifacts
5% with artifacts but I could get rid of them
11% does not even start into Windows

...after 1931 votes. That's just ca. 10% lower than the 9500.

BTW. If I get the card, I'll probably sell my 9500. So if the mod fails, i't won't be a total waste of money.
__________________
XP1700+ @ 133 FSB (default) | Asus A7M266 | 512 Mb DDR @ 266 Mhz | ATI Radeon 9500 128MB w/pro-mod | 19" CTX EX950F | Audigy | Technics SC-EH600 sound system | Matrox 120GB ATA133 | Seagate 10GB ATA33 | Pioneer DVD-105F | Mitsumi CR-485CTE | WinXP Pro | ADSL @ 512 Kbps | IntelliMouse Explorer 3.0 & a extremely simple Mitsumi keyboard :)

GIR: Gir, reporting for duty.
ZIM: Gir? What does the G stand for?
GIR: I doon't knooow. Weeeeheeee!!
janus is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Jan 14, 2004, 08:38 PM   #4
killrose
late nite gammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nowhere to be seen
Posts: 1,106
killrose is still being judged by the masses


Default

As long as you get one like the pic. A least if it fails, you will still have the advantage of the 256bit bus. Other 9800se's are only 128bit.
__________________
[email protected], AMD Heatpipe Cooler, Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3H, 2Gig Dual Channel Lovin HP w/Micron Chips, Saphire 3850 512mb W/Zalman [email protected]/985, HDaudio, WD 80gig, TDK 16x10x40, 4x DVD, LanBoy Case, Nortel DSL Modem and a wiff of something burning.
killrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 19, 2004, 11:04 PM   #5
phobix
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Montreal
Posts: 81
phobix is still being judged by the masses


Default

I must be one lucky person , I just picked up a 9800se last friday for my second rig. The card has 2.8ns Hynix Memory with the 256-bit mem layout. BTW, beware there are 128-bit powercolors floating around too with the inline memory layout. The 9700pcb has absoutley zero bearing on the performance of the card, in fact this is by far the highest stock performing R9700-R9800 I have purchased to date.

The mod was a total success with zero artifacts, additionally the following speeds were obtained with nothing but stock cooling:

436 / 740. Unbelievable, I haven't even slapped on my MCW-50t on it yet nor even even volt modded the card. I am somewhat aprehensive to even touch this card as it is such a beatiful stock performer. I swear by Hynix memory and even prefer it over samsung. Don't believe me check my 2k1 score from almost a year ago, the card that I used during that benching run had 3.6ns Hynix and I was able to clock 700mhz DDR. Try that with Sammies or Inferion. I still own a 9700 non-pro (Flashed to Pro) with Samsung 2.8ns memory, and the new card blows it away in overclockability despite being on the same PCB. Must be the R350 hard at work.
__________________
Radeon 9800pro, Athlon XP-M @ 2.99GHZ
23802

Last edited by phobix : Jan 19, 2004 at 11:07 PM.
phobix is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2004, 12:17 AM   #6
killrose
late nite gammer
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: nowhere to be seen
Posts: 1,106
killrose is still being judged by the masses


Default

I wonder if the different PCB vers have different product/part numbers? That way we could maybe pick one with-out having to guess or open the box?
__________________
[email protected], AMD Heatpipe Cooler, Gigabyte GA-MA69G-S3H, 2Gig Dual Channel Lovin HP w/Micron Chips, Saphire 3850 512mb W/Zalman [email protected]/985, HDaudio, WD 80gig, TDK 16x10x40, 4x DVD, LanBoy Case, Nortel DSL Modem and a wiff of something burning.
killrose is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jan 20, 2004, 02:32 AM   #7
jonnycat
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 55
jonnycat is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by phobix
I must be one lucky person , I just picked up a 9800se last friday for my second rig. The card has 2.8ns Hynix Memory with the 256-bit mem layout. BTW, beware there are 128-bit powercolors floating around too with the inline memory layout. The 9700pcb has absoutley zero bearing on the performance of the card, in fact this is by far the highest stock performing R9700-R9800 I have purchased to date.

The mod was a total success with zero artifacts, additionally the following speeds were obtained with nothing but stock cooling:

436 / 740. Unbelievable, I haven't even slapped on my MCW-50t on it yet nor even even volt modded the card.
Rats, I've got one of the recent Powercolor 9700PRO's (2.8 Hynix on the 9800PRO-style board), and anything over 345 for the memory gets me the "radial spike" artifacts.

Last edited by jonnycat : Jan 20, 2004 at 02:35 AM.
jonnycat is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Molex > SATA power connector question nextbillgates General Hardware 1 Jan 31, 2006 12:23 AM
Molex connector on X800 XT PE DrvEZ Radeon Tweaking, Modding, and Overclocking 10 Jun 14, 2004 10:11 AM
5200 has a MOLEX connector? Yeuemmaimai General Hardware 9 Jun 5, 2003 04:52 PM
molex power connector on 8500DV Gator AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 6 Oct 3, 2001 09:31 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:06 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2021, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink