Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Hardware
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Hardware Talk about PCs/Macs, motherboards, CPUs, sound cards, RAM, hard drives, networking and everything else about computer hardware!

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Sep 11, 2019, 08:05 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
warmonger180
Zionist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,953
warmonger180 once held a door open for a complete strangerwarmonger180 once held a door open for a complete strangerwarmonger180 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default prob in restarting

while playing armored warfare I had another of many shutdowns when the battle ended. I suspect it's due to overheating, however [i]this[i] time on restarting the display went blank with the power led blinking. after few restarts, including one from the BIOS and pressing the windows key+L things sorta returned to normal. the mobo had a Qcode thing and one code showed AA-reserved for ASL but didn't say what the state was. the board's a crosshair v formula z. first time this has happened. any ideas? thx
__________________
ATi, the way it's meant to be played

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. Franklin

When the government fears the people, there is liberty. When the people fear the government, there is tyranny. Thomas Jefferson
warmonger180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2019, 08:31 AM   #2
nutcrackr
OT Moderator
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Australia over the rainbow, way up high
Posts: 15,151
nutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single boundnutcrackr can leap small-ish buildings in a single bound


Default

Do you have shutdowns in other games? Do you have any other PSUs you can swap out for a while? What are your mobo and gpu temps?
nutcrackr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2019, 09:43 AM   #3
warmonger180
Zionist
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 2,953
warmonger180 once held a door open for a complete strangerwarmonger180 once held a door open for a complete strangerwarmonger180 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default

AW's the only game that does this. just had another after a few more battles straight. temp on this one was 47c in wattman on restarting. on a previous saw it was above 50. no other powerpack to use. no idea what the mobo temp is
__________________
ATi, the way it's meant to be played

They that can give up essential liberty to obtain a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety. Franklin

When the government fears the people, there is liberty. When the people fear the government, there is tyranny. Thomas Jefferson
warmonger180 is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Sep 11, 2019, 03:21 PM   #4
andino
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: United States Oklahoma
Posts: 5,656
andino once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'andino once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'andino once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'andino once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'andino once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'andino once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default

Have you looked at the event viewer yet?
andino is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2019, 06:48 PM   #5
Evileh
Keep your pimp hip strong
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: United States Springfield, Illinois
Posts: 9,109
Evileh knows why the caged bird singsEvileh knows why the caged bird singsEvileh knows why the caged bird singsEvileh knows why the caged bird singsEvileh knows why the caged bird sings


Default

wattman acts up a lot. Probably power supply if the system reboots suddenly.
__________________
Battlefield 2 Stats
Battlefield 2142 Stats
Battlefield Bad Company 2 Stats
Battlefield 3 Stats
Xfire evilgenius84
Xbox Live Gamer's Tag: Evileh

Sittal on BF2142 "
wtf. seriously. this has got to be the worst game i have EVER played. far worse than left behind."
Evileh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 11, 2019, 08:10 PM   #6
Hapatingjaky
Maximum Disappointment
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Canada New Ukraine
Posts: 9,330
Hapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling freshHapatingjaky kills 99.99% of germs and leaves hands feeling fresh


Default

Typically when the system shuts down its one of two things.

1.) Overheating.

2.) Power.

Those are the only 2 reasons a system would just shutoff. If its restarting by itself it can be many things from bad ram to a simple driver issue or Bios.

Like other's have stated, check even viewer first. After that:

1.) Update the bios, since the system is older download 2201 off of Asus' site. That's unfortunately the latest. Make sure to reset bios defaults before updating. Once updated restore bios defaults again, let the system boot and then after it boots once reset and change the bios settings. I would not try overclocking anything just yet and I would just use the system at default.

2.) Update to the latest chipset driver and GPU driver. Make sure this is done to ensure you are on the latest driver.

Download something like HWInfo an monitor temps.

Post back and let us know how it goes.
__________________
Intel Core i7 8700K @ 5.2GHz, Asus Maximus X Apex, GSkill Trident-Z 16GB DDR4 4266MHz CAS19, Asus Strix 1080Ti OC, Creative Labs Soundblaster E3, Samsung 970 Pro 1TB, Corsair AXI 1500i PSU, ThermalTake View 71, Corsair K95 Platinum RGB, Corsair Dark Core RGB SE, Acer Predator X34, Windows 10 Professional X64
Hapatingjaky is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Sep 12, 2019, 06:35 PM   #7
Bitey
Radeon Northern Islands
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Australia In a Daze
Posts: 2,070
Bitey is still being judged by the masses


Default

If you want to try a good bios that allows you to boot nvme drives.

try

https://www.win-raid.com/t2425f44-OF...-MOD-bios.html

I use this on my old crosshair formula z to boot from a cheap nvme (pcie ex 2 speeds only)
latest version is at post #240

Last edited by Bitey : Sep 12, 2019 at 06:53 PM.
Bitey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Restarting! Darkfox3889 General Hardware 8 Aug 25, 2005 03:04 AM
TV-Wonder VE Restarting? beninfl AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 2 Dec 2, 2003 02:07 PM
TV-Wonder VE Restarting? beninfl AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 1 Dec 2, 2003 12:11 AM
AIW 8500DV Help please Display prob & sound prob kenny452 AIW / Multimedia Discussion and Technical Support 10 Jul 1, 2003 12:42 AM
restarting? bounty_hunter General Hardware 8 Apr 13, 2003 03:31 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 03:58 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink