Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Gaming and Computing Forums » General Software
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

General Software Anything software that is not operating system related goes here. Talk about the latest applications or discuss betas of upcoming products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Jul 4, 2011, 06:38 PM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Bigfoot
Rag Doll
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: United States Murika
Posts: 2,087
Bigfoot once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bigfoot once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bigfoot once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bigfoot once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bigfoot once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'Bigfoot once won a refrigerator on 'The Price is Right'


Default VPN, Windows 7, Firefox and MSN: How to make Firefox not use the VPN?

So I have a VPN in the states. My office has decided to block my MSN traffic so I've started using my VPN to connect to MSN.

This slows everything else down though. Is there any way I can make Firefox not use the VPN while it is active?
__________________
“Only after the last tree has been cut down. Only after the last river has been poisoned. Only after the last fish has been caught. Only then will you find that money cannot be eaten.”
― Alanis Obomsawin
Bigfoot is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 08:49 PM   #2
Pr()ZaC
Banned
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Canada Vandelay Industries
Posts: 16,729
Pr()ZaC is still being judged by the masses


Subscriber
Default

Good question! AFAIK, the whole internet traffic once on a VPN stays on the VPN, unless there's some kind of software that shapes traffic depending on which program you want to use...
Pr()ZaC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Jul 4, 2011, 11:07 PM   #3
cfsirl
Radeon Evergreen
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: United States San Diego, California
Posts: 1,602
cfsirl is still being judged by the masses


Default

Not sure how comfortable you are with messing with routing tables, but this is one way to direct traffic the way you want. Granted, you can't really make it so certain applications use one gateway and others use another, but we can make certain IP blocks go to a gateway. Particularly, we will aim to make the IP block used for MSN go through the VPN while everything else continues to go through your normal connection.

The first thing we need to do is disable a setting on the VPN connection that automatically changes the default route to go through the VPN gateway. This will save us some steps later. In your network connections list, get the properties of your VPN connection. Go to the Networking tab, then double-click on "Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4)". Afterwards, click on the Advanced button. "Use default gateway on remote network" should be unchecked. Click OK in each window until you're back at the Network Connections window again.

At this point, you will want to connect to your VPN. Once connected, you can get the connection details for your VPN connection through the Network Connections window. You will need to take note of the IPv4 default gateway. For example's sake, let's pretend that the default gateway for the VPN is 10.10.11.1.

Now, open a Command Prompt with admin privileges. Otherwise, you won't be able to make any changes to the routing table.

The next piece of information we will need is the IP block of which you connect to MSN with. This piece may be more difficult to get, but on my end, I checked my Trillian settings to see what host it uses to connect to Windows Live. The host listed was messenger.hotmail.com. If I ping that host, I get 64.4.9.190. Of course, we want to get a broader range, so we will route 64.4.9.0 (instead of a single machine) through your VPN.

In the elevated command prompt, you will want to issue the following command:

Code:
route add 64.4.9.0 10.10.11.1
If successful, the only response you should see is "OK!". At this point, you should be able to connect to MSN. However, if there are other network ranges that are involved, you will have to repeat the command for each IP block.

Hopefully this points you in the right direction.
__________________
Casey Sirl (July 30, 1981 - October 16, 2010). Rest in peace, little sister. You were taken way too soon.

James Beran (December 23, 1947 - December 22, 2011). You gave me the opportunity to grow and learn from you and if it weren't for you, I would not be where I am today. Rest in peace and at least your suffering has ended.
cfsirl is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Make Firefox so much faster! VVanks Off Topic Lounge 33 Sep 28, 2008 09:11 AM
Make Firefox even better Skynet Off Topic Lounge 10 Mar 13, 2005 01:38 PM
Make Firefox Faster Lupine General Software 13 Jan 5, 2005 08:27 PM
Firefox: why are my Firefox toolbars twice their normal size? PARANOiA General Software 3 Dec 3, 2004 05:25 PM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:50 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink