Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Graphics Technology Forums » AMD Radeon Discussion and Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

AMD Radeon Discussion and Support General discussion, tweaking, overclocking and technical support questions about discrete Radeon graphics products.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old Apr 26, 2003, 10:31 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
Crawdaddy79
Radeon 8500
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: United States Burke, VA
Posts: 17,441
Crawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete strangerCrawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete strangerCrawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete strangerCrawdaddy79 once held a door open for a complete stranger


Default I just experienced my first involuntary restart with the R9700Pro!

Ahhh... it makes me reminisce about my 8500 in it's first days of life. Growing pains those were. Happened all the time.. and as new drivers came out, it happened less and less frequently, to the point where it hadn't happened since the Catalyst 2.5 release..

Anyway, so I was playing UT2003, with 4xAA, and at 1280 x 1024, while listening to streaming media with Winamp, and downloading the Raven Shield demo, when all of a sudden, my empty CD tray ejected at the same time my screen went blank.

Next thing I notice I'm looking at my BIOS. It hung up for a second while doing it's S.M.A.R.T. test on my hard drives, and WinXP took a LONG time to get to the blue screen from the loading screen.. But it didn't ask me to send an error report like it normally did with the 8500.

Just to clarify, this is not a technical support question. I was probably just running too many things at once, and something critical got confused. My CPU temp after WinXP came up was only 121 degrees Farenheit, which means it was probably not above it's nominal load temperature of 132 (stock cooling, inefficient case).

Have any other 9700pro owners experienced this???
Crawdaddy79 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2003, 10:36 AM   #2
Doomtrooper
Radeon Arctic Islands
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: The Great White North
Posts: 5,331
Doomtrooper is still being judged by the masses


Default

Maybe borderline with power requirements or too much multitasking, BTW a tip..SMART enabled slows hardrive access
__________________
"It's time to kick A$$ and chew bubble gum....and I'm all out of gum."
Duke Nukem
November 1996
Doomtrooper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 26, 2003, 11:31 AM   #3
Rev_B
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 220
Rev_B is still being judged by the masses


Default

Have you ever ran Prime95 to check if your system is really stable? It´ll will expose any failure for sure. Don´t be too fast blaming on ATi.
Rev_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
Old Apr 28, 2003, 10:27 AM   #4
Needa916
Radeon X850Pro
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 75
Needa916 is still being judged by the masses


Default

I too had my first reboot and one other game crash, since I got my card. I have been playing for the last month with absolutely no problems.

The 1st time it rebooted was when I enabled npatches or truform in UT2003. It rebooted as soon as the map loaded. No biggie. I launched it again without changing anything, and the game played fine. Then, in MOHAA, I did a quickload, and it chashed with repeating sound - then the MS error report. Right after that, launched Rallisport Challenge, and played fine.

As mentioned above, its not the 9700Pro me thinks, since all other games play flawlessly for hours and hours
__________________
Athlon XP 2600+
Epox 8RDA+ nForce 2
Crucial 2700 512MB x2
ATI X850 Pro
Audigy 2
Needa916 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 10:32 AM   #5
Kruno
Local transsexual wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,539
Kruno is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Needa916
I too had my first reboot and one other game crash, since I got my card. I have been playing for the last month with absolutely no problems.

The 1st time it rebooted was when I enabled npatches or truform in UT2003. It rebooted as soon as the map loaded. No biggie. I launched it again without changing anything, and the game played fine. Then, in MOHAA, I did a quickload, and it chashed with repeating sound - then the MS error report. Right after that, launched Rallisport Challenge, and played fine.

As mentioned above, its not the 9700Pro me thinks, since all other games play flawlessly for hours and hours
Exactly the same happened here with Truform and UT03.
Of course it only happened at that 1 time. All the other times I enabled it and disabled it were normal. Just the first time it rebooted my PC.
__________________
Quote:
AndrewLB
I'm back... and by the looks of things around here... you could use another soldier in the war against liberalism.
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 10:52 AM   #6
Arrowslinger
Radeon Redneck
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Leesville, South Carolina
Posts: 2,589
Arrowslinger is still being judged by the masses


Default

Got one this morning while burning a CD and surfing.

No biggy when doing several things at once.
__________________
Quote:
BerryBoy: Arrowslinger you frakkin newb, I know my vid card is fast cuz I benchmarked 3DMark05 with FRAPS!
WTF!

The most realistic hunting game you will ever play!
Arrowslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 11:04 AM   #7
Rev_B
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 220
Rev_B is still being judged by the masses


Default

If you can live with unstable systems, that´s your choice. I still think something is going wrong there. And no, it´s not normal to have a system crash when doing lots of things at the same time. Not with Win2k or XP at least.
Rev_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 11:07 AM   #8
Arrowslinger
Radeon Redneck
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Leesville, South Carolina
Posts: 2,589
Arrowslinger is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rev_B
If you can live with unstable systems, that´s your choice. I still think something is going wrong there. And no, it´s not normal to have a system crash when doing lots of things at the same time. Not with Win2k or XP at least.
LOL

You will learn little grasshopper
__________________
Quote:
BerryBoy: Arrowslinger you frakkin newb, I know my vid card is fast cuz I benchmarked 3DMark05 with FRAPS!
WTF!

The most realistic hunting game you will ever play!
Arrowslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 11:23 AM   #9
Rev_B
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 220
Rev_B is still being judged by the masses


Default

Suits you, sir.
Rev_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 11:27 AM   #10
Arrowslinger
Radeon Redneck
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: United States Leesville, South Carolina
Posts: 2,589
Arrowslinger is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Rev_B
Suits you, sir.
Let me get this straight?

Your saying a once in a blue moon restart (mind you while doing a lot of things at once) should never happen?

If it does it once, this is a sign of an unstable system?

Sorry, that would be a computer that no one has.
__________________
Quote:
BerryBoy: Arrowslinger you frakkin newb, I know my vid card is fast cuz I benchmarked 3DMark05 with FRAPS!
WTF!

The most realistic hunting game you will ever play!
Arrowslinger is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 11:42 AM   #11
KAC
That postcount though...
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Location: Pakistan Lahore
Posts: 55,735
KAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dialKAC is on Chuck Norris' speed-dial


Default

a boot is no problem especially if u have a 300w psu.. also it is quite normal.. so no sweat.. also leave ur cases open for the summers.. as for using winamp while playing ut.. actually thats the worst idea.. lol.. how did u manage that.. hyperthreading or such crap!..
KAC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 11:45 AM   #12
Kruno
Local transsexual wannabe
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Australia
Posts: 2,539
Kruno is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Arrowslinger
Let me get this straight?

Your saying a once in a blue moon restart (mind you while doing a lot of things at once) should never happen?

If it does it once, this is a sign of an unstable system?

Sorry, that would be a computer that no one has.
Except for me.
__________________
Quote:
AndrewLB
I'm back... and by the looks of things around here... you could use another soldier in the war against liberalism.
Kruno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old Apr 28, 2003, 12:20 PM   #13
Rev_B
Radeon R420
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Portugal
Posts: 220
Rev_B is still being judged by the masses


Default

Quote:
Let me get this straight?

Your saying a once in a blue moon restart (mind you while doing a lot of things at once) should never happen?

If it does it once, this is a sign of an unstable system?

Sorry, that would be a computer that no one has.
Yes, let´s get this straight. I suggested to run Prime95 or another stress utility (like burncpu, memtest) and nobody listened to me. Yes people can have a system that seems very stable and they find a little crashing here and there can do no harm. I think not. Most of those systems won´t pass Prime95 torture test - and no, most of the times it won´t crash or reboot, it simply exits with an error message because the cpu calculated the result wrong, without crashing. These are little subtle errors that can give you a reboot or a blue screen.

I learned it the hard way. Some years ago, I had a celeron [email protected] (who hadn´t ) that seemed "perfectly stable" on windows. I was digging into linux and my pc couldn´t compile a kernel, it exited with an error message. WTF? Well, nothing that a 0.1v bump couldn´t solve.

More. I recently upgraded my XP1600+ to a 2400+ on my old faitful ECS K7S5A. I bumped it to 143fsb and it could run a UT2003 benchmark loop for 6 hours! Stable? No. I fired up Prime95 and it exited on 10 mins or so. Set the fsb to 138 Mhz and Prime95 ran for 12 hours until I closed it.

And no, I never had a XP blue screen, a reboot or a freeze with a system that passed 12h Prime95 torture test. So maybe I´m lucky, but I don´t consider a spontaneous reboot or a *random* blue screen that normal.

I was just trying to help.
Rev_B is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
difference between involuntary terminated and laid off? cancer7 Off Topic Lounge 7 Sep 21, 2003 07:47 PM
R9700PRO>R9700PRO w/ Tachyon Cooling $20!! Gun5 AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 6 Jan 20, 2003 10:29 PM
ATI R9700Pro or Gigabyte GV-r9700Pro? WA2 Radeon Technical Support 2 Sep 27, 2002 11:51 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:57 AM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink