Go Back   Rage3D » Rage3D Discussion Area » Archived Discussions » Radeon Technical Support
Rage3D Subscribe Register FAQ Members List Calendar Mark Forums Read

Radeon Technical Support Radeon technical support forum for all Radeon products from the classic Radeon to the latest cutting edge family of graphics cards.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old May 3, 2002, 02:47 AM   #1
Advertisement (Guests Only)

Login or Register to remove this ad
davexnet
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
davexnet is still being judged by the masses


Angry Is there a trick for resolving "default monitor" in WinXP

Hello all,
at one time, I had it working, but for the life of me, I'm stumped
now. I am unable to install my non-dcc monitor, a Sony 15sf1,
with the Radeon 64 ddr vivo.
I recently had to do an xp "repair", and it caused much of the
settings to be when xp was first installed, so I had to reinstall
the Radeon.

When I display properties/settings/advanced/monitor, on the top left
it says Monitor Type - "default monitor" on the right, there is a
properties button. When this is selected, there are two tabs
general/driver. I select "update driver", but it's only giving me an
opportunity to update drivers for the "default monitor" - I'm unable
to change monitor type.

I've used the most recent "official" driver, and also the most recent
unofficial. No difference.
Please advise - how is this supposed to work?
davexnet is offline  
Old May 3, 2002, 06:13 AM   #2
catman25
Radeon R300
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Posts: 173
catman25 is still being judged by the masses


Default

have you tried in "safe " mode or "vga" mode...that may help ..with me it helps but it seems like ill be going down the road and bamm i get a out of range signal on my monitor...Than i alt- tab out of that and notice im back to default monitor...try to install and it states there was a problem with instalation..reboot into safe mode try again and presto it works ..but for how long???
catman25 is offline  
Old May 3, 2002, 03:13 PM   #3
davexnet
Radeon R200
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Los Angeles
Posts: 68
davexnet is still being judged by the masses


Default

Hi, I'll give safe mode a try.
Are your suggesting actually installing the drivers
in safe mode?
On the ATI site there is an incident that describes the problem,
except that it's talking about Windows 2000.
The fix in that case was to install the latest driver.

It's working OK under the default monitor, I can get the proper
refresh, screen size and colors - it's just that the image is
not as good as it would be if I could install the correct INF file!

Cheers,
Dave
davexnet is offline  
Advertisement (Guests Only)
Login or Register to remove this ad
 


Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
How do i change default WinXP "My X" folders? Razeus General Software 5 Sep 26, 2006 09:14 AM
How to set folders in WinXP home to "List" view as default? huskylord Operating Systems 3 May 5, 2006 02:43 PM
Windows only detects "Default Monitor" and cannot set refresh rates. ATsirogiannis AMD Radeon Software Discussion and Support 22 Mar 24, 2004 10:16 PM
anyone use "3deep" or "colorific" for monitor/gamma correction ? flexy AMD Radeon Discussion and Support 3 Mar 27, 2002 01:41 PM
"default monitor" wont work for dual display ::qcx: Radeon Technical Support 2 Dec 14, 2001 01:45 AM


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:51 PM.



Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.5
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
All trademarks used are properties of their respective owners. Copyright ©1998-2011 Rage3D.com
Links monetized by VigLink